We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position, quirky hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Convento La Gloria

Save Saved
You added Convento La Gloria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Convento La Gloria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Argote de Molina, 26-28, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 169 hotels in Seville
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent position, quirky hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent position, tucked down a side alley very near the cathedral. However, the taxi driver had a little difficulty finding the entrance as it is not so well marked.
Although bearing in mind that this is a convent, I was a little disappointed by our "cell". It was stale-smelling and faced an inner courtyard. However, the beds were good, it was clean, the bathroom was good (although the bath needs re-enamelling) and it was very quiet so we slept well. And it was good value.
The paintings everywhere make it an interesting place to stay!
The breakfast was plentiful but a little unimaginative.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I was given tourist information, they booked restaurants etc for us, and ordered our taxi.
The website said there were safes in the rooms. This was not the case, although they put things in the hotel safe for you. The wifi access was very poor, and only available near the reception desk. Toothbrushes and soap was provided but no tissues. The towels were clean but rather thin.

Room Tip: An inner-facing room has no view, but is probably much quieter than one overlooking the street as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    69
    21
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed a night in this hotel, it was a good base from which to discover the attractions in Seville, it was at a nightmare to find. The staff were excellent, very warm, friendly & helpful.

The room was clean, comfy and small. It's not super luxury by any means but I got a great nights sleep despite other reviews about it being centrally located close to bars etc.. In fact there was road maintenance going on outside and I didn't hear a sound. The room for me, was a great trade-off between location and luxury. I would definitely stay again.

Finding this place is a nightmare, they don't put the "Convento La Gloria" anywhere outside the building, even when I was standing in the lobby I was not sure I was in the right place.

I found the street, by following the tram line to the cathedral along Av De La Constitucion, and taking a left to walk up along Calle Alemans past a few bars & cafes, take the second left to get on to Calle Argote. Follow this street keeping an eye out for a discreet Hotel sign about 1/2 way along it on the left in an side street / alley (beyond restaurants etc.) See pictures.. when I was here there was a small laminated A4 sheet on the wall in this alleyway, with the logo for HCLG - not immediately obvious to me.... worth finding this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonhill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Interesting hotel -paintings, ornaments in every space that would allow it. Location perfect and within walking distance of all the city sights. Rather noisy however on a Saturday night! Handy for restaurants as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinoso, Spain
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A good hotel, but not really very good; Tripadvisor please change your ratings system. The hotel is very interesting, the decor, paintings and ornaments but the rooms are tired and could do with a revamp, especially the bathrooms. We booked two rooms with a view of the Giralda, paying extra to guarantee windows facing the street and not the internal courtyards. Glad we did, the views were good, better from the third floor, but I don’t think that we would have enjoyed not having a window that you could open; some of the room’s only window have to be passed to get to other rooms, not good!
We booked two double rooms, but got one double (first floor) and one twin on the third floor but the hotel quickly had the beds pushed together and made up as a double. Beds were very firm but not rock solid as they can be in Spain. Unfortunately the bases of the beds (platforms) creaked very loudly whenever you moved, not good for your partner if you are a restless sleeper.
The rooms were not big, but not tiny as some reviews have said. The bathrooms were a good size but need new fittings, the showers are over a really tiny bath or an extremely deep shower tray, not quite sure how to describe them! OK if you want to soak aching feet after a long day out. The water temperature was constant as there was an individual water heater in the rooms.
There is free Wi-Fi but only in the lobby, there are a couple of small seating areas down there if you need to get online.
Noise was a big problem; both from other rooms, man with terrible smokers cough next door who had to get up early banging the bedroom door to go for a cigarette and from outside. Although the hotel is down a little alley, the Giralda view rooms face this and the bar across the road from it. This bar is very popular with young Spaniards as there are offers on “bulk” buy drinks. Thursday night was particularly bad as they were outside until 4.00 a.m. Not sure if the bar was still open but they were all still outside and the noise level was very high. Additionally the hotel put their bins out after midnight (the alley is cobblestones so the wheels make a lot of noise) and they kindly bring them back in around 5.00 a.m. The street cleaning machine also starts up around 5.00 and obviously the bins are emptied before this. The cathedral bells also ring on the half hour and hour throughout the day and night, although muffled during the night. Friday night we were expecting a really late night noise problem from the bar across the road, however at midnight it all went reasonably quiet, presumably they had all gone off to a nightclub; presumably this shut at 5.00 as we were woken up by a drunk, shouting and banging on doors which went on for at least half an hour.
We booked a rate which included breakfast. Apart from the coffee (machine and awful) and orange juice (concentrate, in Seville!!), breakfast was really good. There was a good selection of food, fresh bread (grill available if you wanted to toast it), butter, jams and pate, cold meats, cheese, hard boiled eggs, wonderful potato tortilla, yogurts, melon and watermelon and bananas also fruit mousses, bizarre, presumably last night's desserts. On two of the day’s there was cold rice pudding, delicious, full of cinnamon, and on the last day the waiter brought scrambled eggs with ham and peppers mixed in it (I think because they were running short of the tortilla).
The reception staff were very friendly and the breakfast waiter on the last day was wonderful; friendly, cheerful, helpful and efficient (Saturday 19th October in case the hotel reads these reviews, as I did not get his name); the breakfast waiter on the previous two days was miserable, unfriendly and did not keep the food and drink topped up, only bringing food when it had completely run out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A nice hotel in the heart of it all. Close to lots of restaurants, attractions, the river,etc.
consider, it's almost impossible to drive there with a 4
Door car-even with GPS. Parking is a 10 minute walk away, and costs $20 or more per night. ParkYour car and take a taxi to the hotel.
Give it a try...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were a group of 6 - family and friends - 4 seniors and two young adults. The most unusual hotel we have ever stayed in. Every corner of the hotel had paintings, statues, knick knacks placed everywhere with no reason other than filling every area with something. The room was very tiny and old fashioned - we had an interior room and the window opened onto an interior courtyard - there was ornate iron railings covering the window so very safe to leave the shutters open. Large washroom and everything was very clean. The location as others have indicated was in a very good location in easy walking distance to most attractions. Driving there was a nightmare as we had a large 9 passenger van and we kept turning and entering more narrower and narrower streets - at one point had to turn the mirrors in as they would hit the wall if not. Finally a kind local told us not to enter another street and directed us out of the maze. The parking was not really close - it was a 7 Euro taxi ride to the parking lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very central , lovely breakfast , nice room, the service was good! Very handy for visit the city and for the night life! We stay here for 3 nights and was great! The hotel is good value for money and we will go back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Convento La Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento La Gloria

Address: C/ Argote de Molina, 26-28, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 169 hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Convento La Gloria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Convento La Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento La Gloria Hotel Seville
Convento La Gloria Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Convento La Gloria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.