We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but nothing else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montecarlo to your Saves list
Hotel Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gravina 51, 41001 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, but nothing else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I read reviews thoroughly before booking this hotel. Reviews seemed to be not so reliable. I must say this hotel was the worst of all the hotels in Spain during our trip. We paid even less for hotels in Madrid and Valencia, but they were in much better quality. There was unpleasant odor in the lobby and the hallway, which I think was from air fresher. Also, free wireless internet worked only for my sister. That's just because she logged in first. The lady at the lobby told me that was because we have the same family name. What? Then, what if they get a family with more members in? Only one person can use the internet? She did try to get me other IDs and Passwords, but it didn't work. I was very frustrated after trying several times, and called her again at night to ask for the last help. Her answer was that my machine might have a problem. Really? It worked at any other hotels and restaurants, but was not working only at your hotel. If she said sorry to me first and then talked about my iphone problem I wouldn't have gotten so mad. I love Spain for various reasons, but mostly for great people. But that lady at the hotel was not the case. I regret so much for not booking for other hotels in Sevilla. I would not go back to the hotel ever again and would not recommned the hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    64
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
60
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed at the Montecarlo for two nights (4th. and 5th. of February) Arrived on the afternoon of the 4th. and were booked in straight away by very friendly staff. The concierge took us to the hotels parking garage, it's on the parallel street behind the hotel and down a ramp behind a gated entrance and totally secure All done very quickly within 5 minutes. You pay extra for the parking but the rate is extremely good. Nice elevator to our room, which was quite large with twin beds, mini-fridge, writing desk and flat screen TV. The bathroom was roomy and very clean with loads of fresh towels. Room was cleaned and towels were changed every day. Did not eat at the restaurant or have breakfast in the hotel as we were out most of the time. The hotel location is very good, 5 minutes from the river and around 15 minutes to the cathedral. Loads of Tapas Bars and restaurants in the vicinity plus the main pedestrianised street, full of shops, is also only a 5 minute walk.
All in all, a very nice and pleasant hotel to stay in, within easy access to all the various sights of the city. Definately recommended and well worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 173 on the first floor is directly above an automatic garage door which can cause noise in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

It was a good value and in a great location. Our room was large for European standards and newly remodeled. We would return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Small 2*hotel located close to the Isabel II Bridge and within walking distance of many of the main attractions. Twin bedrooms are unsuitable if you are not a couple ie, sharing, as the beds are bang up against each other and the minimal gaps on the ‘free’ sides against the walls do not allow for any movement. Single bedrooms are VERY small. Bedding consists of blankets. Bathrooms need updating and no space to set out toiletries other than a toothbrush! Some storage (3 small drawers + a few coat hangers). Safe in the room but did not work (other rooms had similar problem). Limited heating. There are 2 guest seating areas, one in the atrium space with wicker chairs and the other close to the dining room. The atrium area was very cold and somewhat clinical. Breakfast was a basic cold buffet. Stayed here on a Ramblers Worldwide holiday so no choice on the evening catering which was somewhat repetitive though reasonable. No bar open though they said they had one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Good hotel, good location, excellent value for money so everything we wanted. Comfortable and spotlessly clean, we had very spacious twin room with extra wide, extra comfortable beds and a very large en suite with two basins. Friendly, helpful staff. A pleasant 10 minute walk to town centre, cathedral and Alcazar. We didn't try the restaurant but instead breakfasted at Canalejas 5, a bar-cafeteria just round the corner - recommended. Would happily stay at the Montecarlo again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This 2** hotel is well situated for walking around all the main sights in Seville. Rooms seem to vary in their facilities but we were lucky and had a fridge and a safe in the room. Our room was on the ground floor at the back overlooking the light well and was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. It is a no frills hotel but clean and pleasant. The breakfasts were adequate and the staff friendly, but the evening meals were not good - vegetables over cooked to extinction every night. (Our package included evening meals so we ate at the hotel every night - not to be recommended). The moorish tiles which decorate the foyer and dining room make it feel very spanish. If you are on a budget and avoid the evening meals, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marijampole, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Nice hotel , good and friendly staff , clean , 10 minutes from all tourists sites , a bit noisy night time in rooms to street side ( windows does not close properly ) , strong pressure in shower , beds ok too , tv shows Spanish only , middle size room , no free internet . Recommended , good price for location .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Address: Gravina 51, 41001 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.