We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT did I order?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar La Catedral

Bar La Catedral
Mareos Gago N 5 | Mareos Gago N 5, 41004 Seville, Spain
0034954212174
Improve this listing
Ranked #525 of 1,500 restaurants in Seville
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WHAT did I order?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Wanted to be adventurous with the food and drink in Spain, so ordered tapas. I speak Spanish, so I knew what I was ordering (at least, I thought I did.) Orderd tapas langostino and expected langostino....got sardines soaked in olive oil. Soooo salty! My husband just laughed at me (he ordered potatoes) so I sucked it up and ate them! My lips are still puckered up!And the wait staff in Spain is not like LA: Don't expect great service. But the ambiance was awesome: lots of bull's heads mounted on the wall, each with their own gold-plated placque with the name of the bull and the name of the matador that killed him...yeah, it's Spain.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    19
    36
    18
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here as we spotted a table of people eating what looked like good food. We had 2 glasses of white wine each and three dishes to share, all of which were by far the best we've eaten in the last week and presented beautifully. Service was very good and the whole lot came to just over 30euros. Definitely worth a stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Nice place, fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The restaurant was full and we decided to go in. I had grilled swordfish and my wife seafood salad – both as tapas, and both delicious. The restaurant has great interior with bull heads looking from the walls. Service was good, no problem of a kind I read in some reviews. And it was cheap: only EUR 11, for two tapas plus beer and a glass of wine. We did have good time in this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I had here some of the most delocious tapas in Seville. If you come here you'd better try the cola de toro, tender and juicy, with a slight taste of ginger. I really loved it!! The dessert was also very very good, a cake made of five different kinds of chicolate!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Eating here was a mistake!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stumbled into this restaurant and what a mistake. It is close to the Cathedral and main tourist area however on a busy street and frequently people pushed past or cars parked literally against our table. Out of seven of us we didn't get one good meal. The salad was almost entirely lettuce with asparagus from a can, it was actually swimming in an inch of water in the bowl! The paella was flavourless except for the vinegar from the tinned vegetables and almost inedible. The tapas was embarassing. That evening we ate excellent food close by for half the price. The service wasn't great either plus expensive drinks. Definately give this place a miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar La Catedral also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Bar La Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar La Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.