We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best creative cuisine in Seville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Casa de Comidas

Catalina Casa de Comidas
Plaza Padre Jeronimo de Cordoba 12 | Centro de Sevilla. Zona Santa Catalina, 41003 Seville, Spain
954563687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,597 Restaurants in Seville
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Café, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Best creative cuisine in Seville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This restaurant has a terrace facing the street opposite the hotel Don Paco. From the very entrance it appears to be a pastry shop. Once at the entrance, one can realize there are tables set inside and behind the scene. All interior is bright and doesn't scare off being overly fancy. However, it is a fancy restaurant with very affordable prices. Why fancy? At first to start with, because of extremely kind, polite and professional staff, as well as the owner who is there to meet and greet with smile. Every dish that I tried was creative, and done according to my desires. I had smoked bacon and cheese rolled in a crunchy light butter with sweet chili sauce, as one of delicacies. It then continued with loveliest of the salads. One can have tapas or small dishes, vegetarian dishes or meet dishes. The following day I have tried crunchy rolls with mashed potatoes and ox tail meet, covered by tasty wine sauce. Third day I had lovely goat cheese salad, mushroom risotto and most delicious deserts. Absolutely five star restaurant that one can enjoy. Many congratulations to the owner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    89
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Wow what a great find. Fantastic food served by great staff, the oxtail stew was to die for and all at a very reasonable price. Be sure to seek out this wonderful eatery. It looks quite clinical from the outside but once inside you realise it just has very modern sleek lines

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tocane Saint-Apre, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“This is not a cheap place but it is so pleasant and the food is so tasty, I would go again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Restaurant Catalina, opposite the Don Paco Hotel has superb tapas meals. There are tables outside as well as within, and the aspect is of an old-fashioned grocer – except that it all looks sparkling and new. We chose the Tapas Menu which is 18.50 euros, and only available when two people order it. It was full of treats but I was greedy enough to try an item off the main menu as well. Most tapas that I have come across are largely bread, but not here! The puddings are inventive and delicious, too. Wine and coffee were excellent, as one would expect. The service was both attentive and cheerful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of the croquettas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was a great little find, across the street from our hotel, and so good we ate there 3 times- twice for dinner and once for breakfast. Its full of locals and the tapas is amazing, we tried everything on the menu and it was innovative and fresh and tasty. The wine was also extremely good and a t 3 euro a pop we happily sat and whiled away our evenings eating and chatting, The staff were pleasant and inviting and made recommendations, all adding to a lovely ambience. Dare I say it, it was better than some of the overpriced tourist traps in the centre of town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were recommended Catalina by our tour guide whilst staying for three nights at the Don Paco Hotel in Seville. We ate here on two of the three nights and the food was excellent. It was fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. The staff were also excellent. Even if you are not staying nearby, it is worth the cab fare to eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Casa de Comidas also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Catalina Casa de Comidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Casa de Comidas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.