We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio Alcazar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio Alcazar to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza De La Alianza, 11, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel - you can't beat the location! Right by the cathedral and palacio alcazar. The staff was very helpful, was able to give us good recommendations. Confusion over a happy-hour bill from the bar was quickly and easily resolved, unlike a previous reviewer's situation. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
24
71
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The property is really beautiful and we were really pleased with the location. Before booking I had read a review about the ground floor room smelling of cleaner/chemicals. I really thought, "how bad could it be and better to smell clean than bad, right?" Wrong. Surprise, we were given the smelly room! I should have specifically requested a different room when I booked. The odor was beyond overwhelming. We tried to deal with it as we began unpacking and figured, we will only be here to sleep and explore the rest of the day. After 10 minutes, our throats were burning and we realized there was no way we would be able to sleep. We asked to be moved and were told there were no other available rooms! They did find us a room at another property but a real bummer to have to pack up and walk to the new hotel and unpack again before being able to get out and explore. The new property was also a bit of a downgrade overall but the room didn't stink! They're obviously trying to cover up a bad odor but the real solution would be to never rent this room out, they're doing a disservice to anyone they stick in this room. Do yourself a favor, request any room but the ground floor room. There's also no view from the window as it's high up on the wall and you can't reach to see out.

Room Tip: Do NOT book the ground floor room. Overwhelming cleaning product/chemical smell. Will burn your thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand G, Director General at Hotel Palacio Alcazar, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very pleased you have shared your opinion about our hotel, because our main goal is to get better day by day and do our best to make our clients feel comfortable and well served.
First of all, thank you for mentioning our privileged location- one of the points we are so proud of. The clearness is the most important aspect of any establishment and we are aware of it. We can assure to our guest the neatness of our rooms, the smell is never pungent, but soft and fresh.
The odor problem that arose in your room, took us by surprise, than it turned out to be a ventiduct damage. In spite of that, we took a complete responsibility of the situation and found you an appropriate room in another hotel. We feel upset about the inconvenience, but it’s not common for us to have this type of problem. It doesn’t mean that the rooms on the ground floor are not worth- while, they are absolutely comfortable and charming and we can see it every day on the contented faces of our guests.
Anyway, we are very thankful for your comment and we would like to see you again in our hotel and take another chance to demonstrate you that we are here for our clients.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel - but based on the way that the hotel dealt with us when we tried to stay there but had some difficulties making reservations through an on-line agency, we would not try to stay there again as we do not think that they would deal with us promptly, courteously or fairly in the event that we had issues during our stay with them. The hotel took several days to answer a simple query, charged us the full price for rooms booked late in the afternoon for that same night when the rooms were released for re-booking only a few hours later and it was not clear that they had to turn other business away, and were not interested in offering any incentive for us to re-book the rooms for another date. It sounds like a lovely hotel to stay in, but I wouldn't want to stay there and have a problem as the management doesn't seem too bothered about whether customers are happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrand G, Director General at Hotel Palacio Alcazar, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, we very much appreciate it. Following, we will try to explain the reasons of our attitude.
First of all, you have told you had problems choosing the dates of the reservation. As you made it through an on-line agency, it was responsibility of that certain agency and not the hotel’s.
In second place, is that you had never contacted the hotel itself, so we had no opportunity to explain anything to you. As all the contacts were made through the agency mentioned above, we cannot be held responsible for the time spent in solving this specific problem.
Thirdly, when we received your booking, we held these rooms until late night, loosing at the same time the opportunity to occupy them. Actually, there were a lot of clients looking for an accommodation that day and we were forced to advise them to consult other hotels in the area. It is the reason why the money cannot be returned and consequently why other dates were not able to be chosen.
We are in disagreement with you as far as the management of the hotel concerns. The client’s satisfaction is always a priority and a task of main importance for us. You can judge it by yourself reading all the reviews left here and the total evaluation of our establishment. But in any case, we are grateful for your opinion and we wish you all the best.

Best regards,
General Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the old city, 2 minutes walk from the cathedral. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a really cool style - as is the whole building - and are 100 % spotless. Our room had a small balcony facing a small square with orange trees. The staff is really friendly and helpful.

One small thing on the downside: if you arrive by car, make sure to park in the garage at Avenida Roma, get yourselves a map, and walk about 5 minutes to reach the hotel. They say that you can drive up to the entrance and let off your lugagge, but it's really hard to find the way even with a good navigator.

All in all, I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this hotel and were really happy with the location and service. The location couldn't be better, two minutes from the cathedral and even closer to the alcazar. We booked online and got the room for €65 per night. We ate breakfast out each morning as you're so close to all the cafes around Santa Cruz. The hotel itself is bright, clean and nicely decorated. It's more like a really lovely 3 star hotel than the 4 it has as it misses some extras you would expect like shampoo, body lotion etc. But these are really insignificant given the location, friendly staff and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We happily stumbled upon this hotel on booking.com and it was a great find. Location couldn't be better, overlooking the cathedral and in a really pretty, tiny square. It is close to all major attractions, beside a host of fabulous tapas restaurants and bars and felt very safe- two female friends travelling alone. The hotel rooms are bright and spotless. The staff are very friendly and helpful and although the hotel lacks certain extras- lobby area, toiletries you might expect from its four stars- these things are really insignificant given all the pluses! Thoroughly recommend this hotel- a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are an Australian group of two couples. We found the Hotel location, staff, presentation exceptional. Staff went above and beyond the call of duty. Spoke good English and were always available to assist. The Hotel is located near a beautiful little plaza in the old town, close to all major attractions.
We would recommend this Hotel to anyone and it was well worth the little extra we paid.

If you get the opportunity don't miss the Andalusian Horse show at Jerez de la Fontane.
Just ask the staff and they will help you organise the train etc. Absolutely fantastic.

Shian

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Alcazar

Address: Plaza De La Alianza, 11, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Alcazar 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palacio Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio Alcazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.