We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly situated!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alcantara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alcantara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alcantara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Ximenez de Enciso, 28 | Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 169 hotels in Seville
Corona, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was perfect for me and my husband. Economical and perfectly situated for walking around Seville. The room was basic, all white, but clean. The location was perfect. We could easily walk out our door and down a quaint alley and be right out where there were plenty of little cafes and shops. We enjoyed many late night desserts and coffees on the way back to our hotel after a full day of sightseeing. As an added bonus, there is a fabulous Flamenco place right outside the door of the hotel. From the sound of the church bells ringing through your open window in the mornings, to the soft clapping of the flamenco dancers and singers floating through at night...this place was romantically Spanish.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    225
    49
    6
    5
See reviews for
54
228
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is in the pretty Barrio de Santa Cruz, perfectly placed for the bus station, the sights and Centro. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are big enough, the breakfast is good and we'd definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I found this hotel great for price, ideal central location five minutes from Cathedral and the Alcazar and adjacent to great flamenco spot. The staff was extremely helpful and sweet and went out of their way to help out

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Alcantara for 4 nights just this past week. We paid 80 euros per night. Overall, it was a very good experience. The front desk staff were friendly and knowledgeable - since it's such a small hotel, they remember you by sight. Kind of nice. Our room was small, but quiet and clean. The bathroom was massive and extremely clean as well. Downside- noise carries in the hallways. There was a couple with a child staying next door and the child's chatter echoed quite a bit. Breakfast was 6 euros per day and was simple - coffee, juice, bread, meat, cheese, cereal. It was fine for us, but if you want something more substantial, there are other cafes in the area.

Location - awesome. Right in the middle of Santa Cruz, less than 5 minutes from the cathedral, the alcazar and numerous shops and tapas bars. About 10 minutes to Maria Luisa park and the Plaza d'Espana, and to the gold tower. There's also a flamenco show right next door. For the price, you can't do better. Oh, they don't have shampoo, etc. just a liquid soap/body wash dispensers. If you're particular about your toiletries, bring your own.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived in Seville at 5:30 am after taking the overnight bus from Lisbon. It was dark, and dead quiet as we considered how to get to our hotel in the notoriously maze-like area around the cathedral. Happily, a passing taxi (the only one we saw) stopped and gave us a lift to Hotel Alcantara. I don't recommend trying to find this place for the first time on your own in the dark.

Arriving before 6 am, we were worried that we would have to sit around with all of our bags waiting to get into a room. It turns up that we shouldn't have worried. We were warmly welcomed, and immediately checked into a room - without additional charge.

The hotel is clean, up to date, and our room provided everything we needed for a comfortable stay, including pretty decent wifi in our room. Staff at the hotel continued to be very accommodating and helpful, from the smallest details (getting another pillow) to arranging a private tapas tour for us when we couldn't arrange one with a well-known and widely advertised tour company (see our review of the great tour we got with Not Just a Tourist).

This was a great place from which to base our exportation of Seville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for several nights on our trip to spain. Great location, easy distance to the main sights (in heart of Santa Cruz, many restaurants within a 5 minutes walk, about 10 minutes to Cathedral and Alcazar, 15-20 minutes to Plaza Espana, next door to a flamenco show). It was a little difficult getting to the hotel by taxi because the roads near the hotel were one way (cost about 10 euros from the train station). We shared a triple room, which had three twin beds. Our room was quiet as it faced the inner courtyard of the hotel. Room decor was no frills but very clean and spacious. Bathroom had an awkward setup and was a little cramped but manageable. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't have the breakfast here but went to one of the restaurants nearby. Hotel was a great value overall!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very clean reasonably small quiet double room, excellent value, superb location, WiFi worked well, staff were very helpful from the phone booking to the checkout they could not have done more. The suggestions made for restaurants on the notice board save time searching and money and are all great spots to eat and observe Seville life. Locked deposit boxes at front desk. We wanted for nothing here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcantara

Address: C/ Ximenez de Enciso, 28 | Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Seville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alcantara 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Alcántara offers comfortable and modern installations at the heart of Seville's historical center. It is located in the Santa Cruz district, next to the famous Murillo gardens, declared "of Cultural interest". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alcantara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.