We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little family hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alcantara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alcantara to your Saves list
Hotel Alcantara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Ximenez de Enciso, 28 | Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Little family hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed four nights. We had a bit of trouble finding the hotel. After the first day we were better at finding our way around. We considered a trail of breadcrumbs. No cars on the street = perfect peaceful quiet. There is a flamenco show next door but we could not hear it from our room. We could hear sounds from the breakfast room in the morning, but never very early. The room was large and clean. The two single beds were made into a king for us. There was a flat screen tv (no English channels) and excellent wifi reception. The bathroom was large. (I was not crazy about the container of soap in lieu of a bar.One one hand, I can imagine how many thousands of little soap bars are discarded from hotels everyday but I would have preferred a liquid soap container with a pump rather than a rather tired one that had to be picked up.) Staff was always friendly and helpful. The location was fabulous. We could walk everywhere. There are a gazillion tourist tapas restaurants close by but we also found a few very good restaurants that did not have photos of food beside their posted menus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    228
    50
    8
    5
See reviews for
56
244
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Location was very good, on a pedestrian only street in Santa Cruz. Close to laundromat and taxi station.

Room was spacious and clean. AC (a must for us), flat screen TV.

Staff always had a smile for us when we dropped off or retrieved our room key.

Maginificent flamenco show right next door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I just stayed 2 nights at this hotel after reading the positive reviews by Rick Steves and reviewers on Tripadvisor, both of which we have found to be very reliable. This was one of 4 hotels at which we stayed during a multi-city vacation and it was by far the most lacking (but definitely not the cheapest). The positives are the location and the very friendly front-desk staff. The room itself was not bad- a good size by European standards- but the entire hotel just looks very tired. While we weren't expecting anything luxurious, we also didn't expect everything to appear to be so worn at the seams. The bathroom was a great example. There is nothing worse than gray and brown grout in a bathroom and an appearance like it just needs a real thorough scrubbing. They also need to get their priorities straight. In most cases, it is a great touch for a hotel to provide shower caps, a comb, body sponges and a shoe-shine kit in each hotel room, but not when they fail to provide bars of soap. Rather, they provide bottles of liquid soap that have been used by the previous guests (thanks to the Tripadvisor reviewer who mentioned this so that we were able to bring a bar from the previous hotel at which we had stayed!). We hope that the owners decide to invest in some updates for this hotel because the truth is that it has an enormous amount of potential. So, do your research before booking here. There are lots of other hotels that are comparably priced in this same neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard if you want to ensure it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hotel Alcantara, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear client,
Thank you for your comments. As your opinion is important for us, we just wanted to let you know that we are updating our bathrooms, and have just invested on changing all the soap dispensers in the hotel.
We would love to have you back with us, and have the opportunity to improve the opinion you have of our establishment.
Best Regards,
Andrea Ysasi. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This (April 2012) was my second stay at Hotel Alcantara; my previous stay was in 2006. The location is wonderful, on a narrow street in the Santa Cruz area -- vert short walks to the Cathedral, Alcazar, flamenco, and mny restaurants.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. I had a single room; these are small but comfortable. As I had requested, I was given a quiet room facing the courtyard on a high floor; there is n elevator.
The reception area and courtyard are very attractive and serve as the breakfast area. Breakfast is inexpensive offering meats, cheese etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Travelling solo. Room was clean, quiet, light, facing the courtyard. Hotel is close to the cathedral, the alcazar and other main attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic flamenco show right next to the hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Bad News first. The room that we were given was very small no more than 9X9 space with a full size bed with virtually no décor. We didn’t have enough room to store our 2 roller boards so we had to negotiate our movements. The bathroom came with some sponges but no shampoo. It was ok. We spent 4 nights there and we never had the linens replaced. I know because our sheet had a hole on my side. We paid premium dollars for this room because it happened to be during Holy week. We also learned that Breakfast was not included in the high price that we had already paid. The week that we were there April 6 – 9 was a little warm at night so we decided to open the window and let some cool air in. We had to close the windows because mosquito’s kept coming in. After several failed attempts to turn the AC on, at 5am i went downstairs to see if I could get some help getting the AC started and was told that the master switch for the AC was not on and it would not be turned on until the summer. Apparently, the switch turns the AC on for all units. I didn’t buy the excuse due to the fact that each room has an on/off AC control. The Hotel did not have a fan on the premises and I was told they would need to borrow one from another hotel. Now for the good news, we couldn’t have asked for better front desk personnel. Benito specifically was GREAT. He provided excellent suggestions and did all he could to accommodate all of our requests. The location of the Hotel is also fantastic as its right in the middle of all the action but yet quite at night. We enjoyed our stay in Sevilla and enjoyed the hospitality extended to us by the Hotel staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just a ten minute walk to the Cathedral and the Alcazar, in a very cute neighborhood with plenty of cafes and shops. I stayed in a single room which was perfect for my needs- a single bed, desk and chair and bathroom. Everything was very clean and I thought it was reasonably priced. My room (#22) faced the courtyard and was extremely quiet. The staff were very friendly and nice. I went to the Flamenco show, located at the hotel which was very good. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcantara

Address: C/ Ximenez de Enciso, 28 | Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Seville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alcantara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Alcántara offers comfortable and modern installations at the heart of Seville's historical center. It is located in the Santa Cruz district, next to the famous Murillo gardens, declared "of Cultural interest". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alcantara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.