We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in Santa Cruz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria del Laurel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria del Laurel to your Saves list
Hosteria del Laurel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de los Venerables 5, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place in Santa Cruz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Just a moment away from Sevillas most popular sights this is a great Hosteria offering clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff and reasonable price. You stay literally a block away from El Alcazar among other sights. Recommend this for great value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
25
64
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to most of Seville's sights. Take care where the taxi drops you off as cars can't enter the street where the hotel is based. Follow the signs for the Hospital de los Venerables which is is well worth a visit. The hotel is diagonally opposite. Taxi from railway station is about E6 but take care as the meter can be "bumbed" when you are not looking.
There is a bus C2 (I think) to Carlos V and then a 10 minute walk towards Murillo gardens and in by Plz.Cruz or take a tram to cathedral and walk round to Plz Virgin de los Reyes.

Hotel staff were very helpful, the room was clean and very comfortable. The shower was amazing after reading the instructions a couple of times and there was nice big bath towels.

The breakfast choices were reasonably varied, bread, toast cereal etc. Can't fault the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Four fine nights in mid-May. I echo those who found it hard to find. The Santa Cruz area is a great one for walking, but it takes a day or two to get oriented. If you are tired after a long trip, take a cab, they aren't expensive. Re the 'shower' discussions, we found them easy to use, and kind of fun. Re the restaurant, we ate there once and the food and service were very good. The hotel itself is on a pleasant traffic-free square that seems to attract tour groups during the day and is empty at night. Favorite restaurant -- Meson Serranito, near the bullring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well it's not 5 stars. But for a not so pricy hotel it's wonderful. It's situated in the center of old town in the maze of old street (remember to take a map to find it for the first time), 5 minutes walk to palace and cathedral. The house is very old and typically spanish - medieval I think - with small patio inside but the rooms are quite clean, not shabby, with modern bathroom and TV. There is air-conditioning unit in the room which is most important because Seville is hot at summer. At the ground floor there is a restaurant where tourist groups usually have dinner, so we ate at other places, though it might be not a bad idea to have breakfast there. We had a room with windows into a peaceful inner garden so it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a hard time finding this hotel as we had to walk from the bus (from the airport). The street names in the santa cruz area didn't really help much as it was like a maze (at first).

I would recommend asking for the santa cruz area and when you get to the area, ask for the hotel name. The location was excellent as its very close to everything. The only thing against the location, other than its hard to find at first, was that the park closes at night. The park was one of the entry points to santa cruz so we ended up walking all way to the other side.

As for the hotel itself, it was clean, roomy, the shower was excellent. We had asked for double bed but got two singles. We just ended up pushing them together. The wifi on our floor was a bit weak and had to stand near the door to get a decent signal. The staff was quite helpful and spoke some english. We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I rode the bus from Granada to Seville getting off in a what-seemed a giant bus station after a three-hour trip through sweltering, 120 degree, Spain. I got a taxi to my pension, a small establishment located in the Santa Cruz district of Seville. The driver let me off several blocks away so I had to walk down a few small lanes to get to my destination. Dazed and confused, I asked a couple of friendly shopkeepers for directions who were more than helpful to point me on my way.

It was siesta time. The streets were lazy and quiet ... and hot. I rolled and bumped my small, carry-on size Osprey bag over cobblestones to my hotel (the only way to travel solo) checking in with a man who spoke just enough English to get by. He showed me to my room on the 2nd floor with windows overlooking a narrow alleyway. No view ... but it had AC.

The room was neat and clean with simple furnishings, two twin beds, a desk and a clean bathroom. I don't remember if there was a TV but it was all I needed. It did get a little noisy at night especially the midnight hour -- so if you are a light sleeper -- bring your ear plugs!

The hotel restaurant didn't seem to serve any type of breakfast while I was there even though I remember reading somewhere that it did. Maybe it was just the season ... or somehow I missed it??? I never ate dinner there so couldn't tell you about the food.

Seville itself, at least the part, where the main tourism is, was really easy to navigate on foot -- even the small narrow streets of the Santa Cruz. I loved rambling along taking pictures -- stopping here for gelato, there for tapas and later on, sitting in a sweltering courtyard to watch an authentic, simple flamenco by Casa de la Memoia. I got lost once or twice but just as quickly found my way.

I enjoyed Seville, walking everywhere and seeing all the main tourist areas, including the majestic Alacazar but I felt lonely as a solo traveler ... maybe it was because my pension (and Seville, in general) really didn't lend itself to meeting other single (or other) travelers easily. Everyone seemed to be with someone else -- couples, families, groups of friends. Maybe it was because I didn't speak Spanish. Maybe I was in the right place at just the wrong time. I don't know but, regardless, the Hosteria Del Laurel was a simple and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: My room was noisy...may ask for one in the back of the hotel???
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have nothing very novel to add. We got a good price (booked thru an on line company), found the service good, the room clean and the shower rather challenging but that is the excitement of travel! Location very near excellent tapas bars, cathedral and we walked everywhere. The hotel is not new but has character, I would recommend it and suggest people be more aggressive in checking rooms if noise is an issue. There is no noise from inside the hotel. Breakfasts in hotels seem to be overpriced and unnecessary as bars serve standard coffee and toast/croissant for very little money

Room Tip: Rooms in small indentation above the square were noisy. We did not ask to be moved so perhaps could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria del Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria del Laurel

Address: Plaza de los Venerables 5, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hosteria del Laurel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hosteria del Laurel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Laurel Seville
Hosteria Del Laurel Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria del Laurel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.