We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murillo to your Saves list
Hotel Murillo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is right in the old town with its small winding streets. Our room was on the front of the hotel and looked over the cafe opposite and unfortunately the cooking smells filled our room. The reception moved us to an other room with out any trouble. The rooms are basic but very clean, there is very little sound proofing so ear plugs will help. The breakfast was good lots to choose from and very nice hot chocolate. I would stay here again if visiting Seville.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    511
    155
    48
    18
See reviews for
131
545
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I stayed here in September. The hotel is in a great location in the old town and is quite easy to find (though the narrow streets in Seville can get confusing). Breakfast was great as there was lots of variety and the room was a reasonable size. The hotel had lots of useful information about tourist attractions and we were even able to get discount on the sightseeing bus by purchasing the tickets in the lobby. The staff were helpful and able to give us directions and advise on where to eat. The only downfall was the fact that the wifi didn't reach our hotel room so if we wanted to use the wifi we had to go to the lobby. I'm not sure if this is the case in all the rooms but between the 6 of us we had 2 rooms and neither room had a wifi connection. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Hotel situated right in he middle of the "old town" an excellent location for exploring this area
Very friendly bar oposite,just right of that end of the day vino
Room could have had better sound proofing and the shower cubical was on the small side,but these observations never interfered with a very enjoyable stay,in a very nice hotel

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel in an ideal position for exploring the old town of Seville.

The hotel itself is located on one of Seville's narrow winding streets that are wide enough for two or three people but no more. It has small but adequate rooms with good bathrooms. The breakfast was sufficient to fill up on before heading out to see Seville's major sights. These are within walking distance. The reception staff were multi-lingual and very helpful. There is a bar opposite where it is also possible to get a reasonably priced meal.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My friend and I made very last minute booking over Christmas/New Years time to whom they managed to accomodate us. We had a twin share room on ground floor with ensuite, nice hot showers & bath, heating in rooms. Surprisingly quiet most of the times, not that we were in our room too much as out exploring or over at fabulous restaurant across the way. The breakfast was very filling and delicious! Located in narrow laneway Barrio de Santa Cruz in Seville Old Town, I found it all very romantic & harking back to days of old, not caring if we got lost in the maze of laneways. Make sure you ask about the Flamenco bar which is tucked away from everything somewhere in that area too, we only found out as local told us about it on our last night. It was a fantastic experience! Seville is a fantastic city, the hotel is well located - walking distance to everything, friendly staff, with all the amenities needed, would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I would definitely recommend it. The superior twin room was basic, but very clean, the beds were comfortable and the shower was very good, always plenty of hot water. It was nice to be able to sit out on the balcony. Breakfast was included - scrambled eggs and bacon, cold meats and cheese, fresh coffee and orange juice, toast, pastries, fruit and yoghurt. The hotel is ideally situated in the Barrio de Santa Cruz, so really convenient and walking distance to the tourist attractions, with good food and bars nearby.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in a narrow lane in Barrio de Santa Cruz in Seville Old Town. Most of the sites of interest to tourists are within walking distance.

Prado de San Sebastian bus station (if you are coming by bus from other places in Andalucia) is only a short walk from the hotel. If you are arriving at Plaza de Armas bus station from other regions of Spain or Portugal, you may want to take a taxi to the hotel. If you are taking a taxi from the airport or the railway station, ask to be driven to Plaza Santa Cruz which is very near to the hotel.

We stayed here from Monday to Friday, arriving at 9 pm. We were welcomed by a friendly and helpful receptionist and were checked in within a few minutes. Our room was on the third floor, facing an inner courtyard. The double room was small with space for little more than the bed, two small bedside tables and a little desk with a very uncomfortable wrought iron chair. The bed was comfortable; however, the pillows were hard and lumpy. The bathroom was spacious and well fitted out.

We prefer to sleep with the window open and not use the ventilation/air conditioning. Had our room been facing the street, it could have been quite noisy with the bars and restaurant opposite.

The Wi-Fi connection was good, being reasonably fast. There were plenty of power sockets in the room which was also fitted with a TV the size of a small laptop.

Breakfast was served from 07.30 to 11 am and the buffet had a reasonable selection of hot and cold food. The reception has a pleasant lounge area and has both safe deposit service and baggage storage.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Seville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Murillo 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.