We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price/quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murillo to your Saves list
Hotel Murillo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and price/quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here in November with 6 people in 3 rooms for 3 nights. The personnel was friendly and the location of the hotel was great! Also the breakfast was very satisfying if you consider the price. The standard rooms were certainly big enough. Our room was quite cold and the walls were quite thin, so there is some noise, but still we slept well. You also must check the roof terrace, which has a great view of the cathedral + giralda. I lived in Sevilla for half a year and have already seen and heard about a lot of hotels, so I can certainly recommend you this one!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear client, thank you for your time and comments, we appreciate it. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Murillo. During this 2014 we will be making some changes regarding some of the details and subjects mentioned above in order to improve our service and attention to our clients. Thank you again and hopefully see you soon, regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    557
    164
    52
    18
See reviews for
147
594
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spa, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Chose this hotel for a family trip, booking 2 rooms next to each other. The main drivers of our choice were the excellent location for a reasonable cost. Both these targets were met.
In the additional pros, I can mention the friendly staff and a satisfactory level of cleanliness. on the cons, the sound insulation is poor (sleep with your neighbours...), the breakfast even though plentyful, has some products of poor quality (Croissants and pastries, fruit juice), and the bathroom device would require a little more attention (bathtub water drain half blocked, traces of moisture)

Room Tip: bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear client, we are glad to hear your stay was to your liking at Hotel Murillo. Regarding some of the subjects mentioned, we are looking into them and planning on making some changes during this 2014. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Disappointed the roof terrace was closed in mid-October; it was 25 degrees; no mention of this anywhere and this was the key attraction for us. Excellent location; otherwise average in every respect; room a bit dingy; breakfast ok.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear client, thank you for your time and comments. This helps us improve our service to our clients. I'm sorry to hear the terrace was closed during your stay here and there was no notice. Now our opening hours are from early in the morning until late at night. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

On checking in & seeing the beautiful reception/lounge area with its traditional coffered wooden ceiling & antiques, we wondered why this hotel was only classified as **. That was until we went up to floor 3 & saw the narrow corridors, very basic bedroom (no drawers for storage, no lights in half the room, minimalist cheap furniture) and then the bathroom!! Very badly in need of a re-furb, with the tiniest shower cubicle ever - 24" / 63cms square, with the tatty doors folding inwards. I nearly impaled myself on the tap every time I tried to take a shower! And I wouldn't advise anyone staying in room 314 to look too closely at the dirt & mould under the rim of the loo!! The walls between rooms are paper-thin & you can easily hear next door's conversation or TV.
Plus points about the hotel: the buffet breakfasts in the lovely dining room were good, although exactly the same choices every day,& the roof terrace has great views of the Cathedral & the Giralda. Although there's a roof-top bar, it was never staffed, so we (& other guests) took our own drinks up there to watch the sunset.
The hotel is very well situated for the main sights, & there are plenty of tapas bars & restaurants within easy walking distance, whether you turn left or right out of the hotel. The entrance to the Murillo Park is very close & if you turn right at its gates & walk under the wall of the Alcazar, for a couple of hundred yards then turn right up Calle de Vida, you'll come to a delightful square in the former Jewish quarter with several restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street aren't noisy - it's too narrow for cars and we were never distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest. Thank you for your time and detailed comment. We are taking on some adjustments during this year so hopefully there will be positive changes and the Hotel Murillo will be more to your liking. Thank you for staying with us, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This should be classfied as a motel and not hotel. Room was small and barely any decor. I feel like running away when I stepped into my room if not for the fact that the room had alread paid for in advance.

Location was good and that is the only positive thing about this hotel. We wanted to book Hotel Casa but it was already fully booked and we saw Hotel Casa the location was better and the hotel looks nice too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metepec, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Right in the heart of Barrio de Santa Cruz, just a few minutes from the Catedral de Sevilla and the Reales Alcazares. Nearby a bunch of little and nice places to eat. Very clean, comfortable bed, room very well sized for two people. Try and take time to wander around the hotel: it's a complex of old buildings, full of history, very well decorated, even had a library. Need to walk to get to the hotel, because it's on a pedestrian street. Take note if carrying a lot of suitcases or bulks.

Staff very friendly. Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear cient, thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear you liked the charming location, which is a mere maze. We hope to see you again shortly, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is located right in the Barrio Santa Cruz, so the moment you step out of the hotel, you find yourself in the labyrinth of charming little alleyways. That also meant we had some trouble actually finding the hotel in the first place, but then again, everything is hard to find in the Barrio Santa Cruz. As other reviewers mentioned, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants and tapa bars and close to many sites. It was also relatively close from the Saint Bernardo train station - about 6 euro taxi ride or 1 stop if you take the tram.

The rooms themselves could use a bit updating, but overall, it was good. The room was a decent size, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The only complaint is that the walls are quite thin and for some reason, every time you come back into the room and turn on the TV, the volume is on at MAX level. So often, you'd hear your neighbour's TV blast on and doors banging.

Wifi is limited inside the actual room - sometimes you can get access and sometimes you can't - they do, however, specify that it's limited to the lobby.

The breakfast was excellent and definitely worth getting - we paid a few euros more for a package that included breakfast. The breakfast had hot food (eggs, bacon) and a huge assortment of bread/pastries and fruits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear client, thank you for your kind words and comment, as this helps us improve our service a little more each time. We are looking into making some changes regarding some of the subjects mentioned above. We hope to see you again in the future, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Murillo 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.