We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great service , excellent value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maestranza

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Maestranza
Save
You added Hotel Maestranza to your Saves list
Gamazo, 12, 41001 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Omer Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great location, great service , excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

A cute hotel, nice rooms and excellent service . GREAT VALUE! The hotel has a covered parking (extra charge), easy to find and the location is fantastic. In Sevilla, if you are looking for a good deal - this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
50
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel Maestranza is a nice property in a fantastic location in a beautiful city. The owner, Antonio, was quite helpful with our reservations and other bits about life in Seville. But the hotel has so many little drawbacks it's hard to give it more than an "average" rating. For starters, the windows are really thin, and street noise is really bad. I really thought the noise wouldn't bug me, but it did. Truthfully, I think that most of the hotels in Sevilla suffer from street noise, so it's probably an unavoidable nuisance. The bathroom towels are sand paper, there's only one teensy trashcan in the apartment, no English language news on TV. These other two points really are just piddly little stuff that adds up to a property that is really only average. The good points: the room was really, really clean. The hotel foyer sparkles with the gold tile. And the desk managers speak great English in a city where English is hard to come by. The property comes rated by Rick Steves, which in our world is like a "good housekeeping" seal, and I think we expected a bit more oomph and didn't really get it. There's nothing really WRONG with this property . . . I just didn't think it was all that fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were in Seville for three nights during Semana Santa and found that this little hotel was in a perfect location. Close to key sites and good restaurants - especially the tapas bar next door. Staff very helpful. Any drawbakcs? Slightly noisy but then we were still on UK timne and needed to adjust to the Spanish way of life.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, perhaps ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Location is central in this very walkable city. Close to cathedral, alcazar, bull ring, shopping areas, flamenco shows, dining. Rooms were clean, but basic and on the small side. Beds firm. No breakfast. Parking was a challenge. Helpful and friendly staff. We were there mostly for sleeping only, otherwise out on the town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is a no frills sort of hotel experience. We were able to walk here from the train station in about fifteen minutes. It is a very walkable city in our opinion- we did laundry about 10 minutes away, we toured the bull ring and the riverfront area, and we walked to pubs, restaurants and a flamenco show with no problem from this hotel!

There was no breakfast and the room was very simple. We found it very easy to sleep here. I would highly recommend this hotel to others as it was easy to book through an online/email reservation and was very cheap compared to other Seville hotels in my research.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Tom5671 said it. Perfect hotel in an ideal location. Excellent staff. Lovely rooms. Large, modern bathroom. And terrific prices. All in an extraordinary city. It was truly very difficult to leave. Only downside was the street noise (it's Spain). You can solve that by getting an interior room (but then you lose the lovely, traditional Spanish balconies).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Small hotel in downtown of Seville. You can walk to any attraction that Seville can offer. The staff is very friendly. If you are driving in the car please call this hotel for the most recent directions. They will let you know how to get to the hotel . The garage is 50 meters from the hotel.Room is small , well air conditioned with wireless internet. We felt very secure in this hotel.Tamara arranged for us tickets for flamenco show. I will recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maestranza

Address: Gamazo, 12, 41001 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Seville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#38 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maestranza is housed in a Sevillian style mansion from the nineteenth century. Completely renewed, including elevator, the hotel provides all of the modern conveniences in a beautifully designed, classical setting to satisfy the most demanding tastes. No smoking allowed within the hotel building. No pets are allowed. The seventeen clean and comfortably spacious guest rooms are well appointed, featuring: full and private ensuite bathroom, telephone, free in-room safe, air conditioning, heating, individual climate remote control, remote control satellite flat screen TV (with English and French channels), professional hair dryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maestranza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.