We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Simon Hotel to your Saves list
Simon Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia de Vinuesa 19, 41001 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked the hotel approximately 6 months in advance and we were not disappointed when we arrived. The inside courtward offers a great relaxation place and it's excellent situation enabled us to visite Seville by foot mostly. The room was very clean, although they had a little trouble with the elevator during our stay. Also, the reception staff speak French or English which is a great help for anyone who does not understand or speak Spanish. I would recommend this hotel to any visitor in Seville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsimonsevilla, Director General at Simon Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for writing about Hotel Simon.
We hope to offer you our services soon again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    153
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
49
114
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just down a side-road almost opposite the cathedral. Pretty hotel with lovely courtyard. Friendly, helpful staff who speak excellent English.

Good size room (single occupancy/double room) on the ground floor. The shower is over a very small curtained bath & I defy anyone using it to escape becoming wrapped in the shower curtain.

Incredibly noisy air con unit.

Room Tip: Don't have Room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsimonsevilla, reservas at Simon Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for your opinion. We hope to offer you our services again. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX Hill Country
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

5 minute walk to the most impressive cathedral I've ever worshiped in. In my opinion, it is more striking than St. Peter's in the Vatican City, both from an architecture and religiously quieting experience. We arrived just before 10 AM mass on Thursday, walked in the (southwest) door and enjoyed the ambiance, took pictures and then seated for mass.

We also accepted their recommendation for the http://www.tablaoelarenal.com/ and enjoyed that. Yes it is for tourists, but we enjoyed, using the drink and show option.

Our room was on the 1st floor above the lobby. There were tables and chairs there that had wi-fi. If found out, the next morning that the wi-fi worked in the bathroom and inside the room door.
I could care less about the lack of TV, since most hotels with TV offered little/nothing in English.

We are planning another Spain trip to focus on the coastal region and will have to consider this hotes for that visit,

Seems like taxi from train to hotel was about 25E.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsimonsevilla, Director General at Simon Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about Hotel Simon.
We hope to offer you our services again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had seen the hotel on a previous visit to Seville and wanted to come back and stay here. Yes as many reviews state the location is excellent. Our room was modern style, quiet and very clean. Would have preferred one of the older, traditional style rooms but that's just a personal choice. Great that we had free wifi in our room, very convenient as there is no tv etc but we didn't mind that. It would have be nice to have tea and coffee making facilities but that is the only grumble. There are many cafes very close to the hotel and spoilt for choice of bars and restaurants. Very handy to be able to leave our luggage all day too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsimonsevilla, Recepcionista at Simon Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We appreciate your good comments about our hotel.
We hope to give you our services more times.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We booked a room here last minute for a Saturday night in Sevilla (We live nearby in Gibraltar), we choose this Hotel based on the location and price which was very reasonable, plus most Hotels were completely sold out.

Hotel Simon met my expectations, it's very well located (few metres from the main street and cathedral), basic and clean, don't stay here if you are used to luxuries! Free Wi-Fi in the lobby area worked fine, the room had air conditioning and a decent shower, the bed was a very typical old style Spanish bed being fairly rock solid and too short for me (I'm 1.93m tall) but it was peaceful so we slept OK. Staff are friendly and efficient.

I would definitely stay here again, it does what it says on the tin! But with more notice and a higher budget i would stay at Casa 1800 as we did a few months back, fantastic place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location, on a charming little street barely a block from the cathedral, is truly excellent. The staff were friendly, and the building itself, with its old-world-feeling courtyard, felt like real Seville. The rooms were minimalist but large and comfortable. The wifi was advertised as being in public areas, and for us that was true, but since the courtyard was so cozy, that wasn't a problem. I also think that in some first-floor rooms, the wifi might work inside, just a guess. All in all a very good value - I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Authentic Seville style building, just next to the cathedral. And there are many nice restaurants nearby.
Recommendable !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon Hotel

Address: Garcia de Vinuesa 19, 41001 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Simon Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Simon is an impressive 18th-century mansion in central Seville, just 50 metres from the city's famous cathedral. It offers a beautiful central courtyard, 24-hour front desk and air-conditioned rooms. The rooms at the Simon feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Some rooms have traditional Andalusian decor, with ornate tiles and dark wood furniture. The hotel serves a buffet breakfast in the central courtyard. There are many restaurants and bars within 5 minutes' walk of the hotel. The hotel is less than 5 minutes' walk from the Archive of the Indies, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. You can also walk to the famous Maestranza Bullring in 3 minutes. Hotel Simon can provide a Santiago Pilgrims Passport for the Via de la Plata Route from Seville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Simon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simon Hotel Seville
Hotel Simon Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.