We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Exterior,Impressive Room Interiors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Sevilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Sevilla to your Saves list
Melia Sevilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr Pedro de Castro 1, 41004 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Ujjain, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Exterior,Impressive Room Interiors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a large hotel,we had to literally stand in a long queue ,for 25min at the time of check in even at 12.noon.The exteriors needs immediate paint and the upholstery of the lobby is in tatters at many sofas,Scared,we insisted on seeing the room before checking in.However were pleasantly surprised on seeing the room ,Rooms are newly renovated and very nice,spacious and cozy,we had taken room with view,toilet was uber cool and contemporarily done.We took hydrotherapy treatment at their spa ,which turned out to be extremely relaxing experience.Location although is not ideal,but room rate was value for money,and a taxi to city cenre costed just 4 euro.tram stop is around 700metres away as well,and it costs 1.20euro per person .staff is overbusy ,but still good,particulary EDUATLDO LABOTLDA was very helpful. there is a supermarket down the street,and very useful.enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: rooms with view are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    502
    138
    43
    14
See reviews for
163
521
34
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a 2 night break in October 2011, in a "gran premium room the level". It was a large suite, with an entrance hall with large wardrobes on one side, and a large modern bathroom on the other. You then go through another sliding door to access the large bedroom, which has a huge bed, large desk, large television, and big red shiny L-shaped sofa! The hallway arrangement means that the room is very quiet.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The bed was comfortable and the view from our room was lovely, looking across the hotel swimming pool to the beautiful buildings in the Maria Luisa Park. The location of the hotel is fantastic, within a very short walking distance to all the sights. The concierge service which you get with "the level" rooms is fantastic, they really can't help you enough, and we made use of the complimentary drinks and snacks in the dedicated lounge. Unfortunately this was very quiet so there wasn't much atmosphere in here during our stay.
My only criticism would be that some of the breakfast items were stale; the hotel should make smaller batches of eggs, bacon etc and refresh it regularly. In every other respect I thought this hotel was good value, clean, had very helpful staff, and a great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

One of the previous reviewers hit the nail on the head when they said it was nicer on the inside that on the outside. As we approached along an adjoining street I thought the hotel was a dilapidated apartment or office block until I saw the hotel sign. It did not bode well. However, the interior was, as the previous reviewer said, clean and modern.

The reception area was not busy when we arrived with two other couples checking in. However the reception procedure seemed to take an average of 20 - 25 minutes per couple, with a lot of huffing and puffing from the staff. Both couples in front of us appeared to be having difficulties with the rooms they were allocated and so it was for us. When we eventually checked in, it was again accompanied by a lot of staring at the computer screen, more huffing and puffing and no explanation as to what was happening. We were eventually informed that we had a choice of room; we could either have the room with a view we had booked and paid extra for, however that was was a smoking room, or we could have a larger room with a view of a side street that was a no smoking room. The only thing that appeared to be missing was the 'take it or leave it'.

As both my wife and I are non-smokers we reluctantly opted for the larger room without a view. Bad start.

We were then kept waiting for another 5 minutes until we were informed that the room was not yet ready (this was around 2:30 pm) and we would have to wait. We duly took a seat in the foyer, which by now had seen a coachload of new arrivals descend onto the reception desk with the resultant long queues.

Eventually after nearly an hour I managed to catch the eye of the receptionist who had checked us in and asked if our room was ready yet. This was obviously interpreted as some sort of insult to his professionalism, the lineage of his family and his masculinity all rolled into one and was responded to with an aggressive "I will see". A further 5 minutes elapsed and I was called over by another member of staff who passed me a keycard and said "Your room is now ready". No apology or explanation for the delay.

The room was clean and modern and the hotel in general was satisfactory. However on our second day my wife's keycard stopped working and when she politely asked the reception staff if they could re-programme or replace it, it was taken from her and another card placed on the desk in front of her without any form of communication.

In conclusion, a good hotel in a good location that could do with a lick of paint on the outside and a kick in the pants on the inside. There is absolutely no excuse for this type of shoddy, unprofessional and frankly ignorant behaviour from staff. This hotel management needs to realise that first impressions count.

Room Tip: It would appear that it may not matter what room you choose (and pay for). Whilst I was offered a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to explore Sevilla at the end of our 2 week trip to Spain. PROS: 1) Good price for what you get, 2) Not too far from the main sights and can take a taxi easily for day sightseeing and for dinner, 3) Supermarket down the street to purchase wine, snacks, etc, 4) Decent sized room for a European Hotel, 5) Rooms newly renovated. CONS: 1) Business Hotel, 2) the air conditioning in the room is not that great and the hallways/elevators do not have any A/C, 3) there were ants in on the floor in our room, 4) the front desk/concierge is not helpful or pleasant, 5) the customer assistance in the hotel is subpar as we went downstairs to tell them that the phones in our room did not work and no one ever came to fix them, 6) the gym in the hotel is a joke, has no A/C, and does not open until 10am. Other than that, this is a fine place to stay for a short visit to Sevilla.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

i stayed here for 3 nights last week.this hotel has it all for a city hotel.lovely outdoor pool overlooking the city.anything you can think of for breakfast.rooms spacious with lovely bathroom.also there is a spa which unfortunely i didnt have time to use.people in hotel very frendily.wolud recomened to stay here if visiting seville

Room Tip: were on on the top floor which overlooked the pool and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed for three nights on business. Contrasting experience on arrival: from the outside the hotel looks shabby and run down, but once inside you find a pretty neat, stylish place. Unfortunately the receptionist made his best to make that positive impression last as - obviously feeling the strains of a long day - was sighing and swearing while checking me in (!). I'd say the staff's attitude was generally poor, don't expect your smile or "hola" to be reciprocated in any shape or form - they must hate their jobs at the Melia Sevilla.

I've noticed a fair few have complained about the size of the rooms on Tripadvisor, I did indeed stay in one of the dreaded standard rooms but in all honesty I thought it was fine. There's not masses of space, but the room is newly renovated and the bathroom was lovely (spa style with a walk-in shower). The room was very quiet too, bed VERY comfortable.

Unfortunately there was no wi-fi signal in the room, but that was solved by grabbing a seat in the lobby area.

I didn't bother with breakfast as having glanced through the doors of the restaurant I decided to give it a miss. 300 people scrapping along the buffet while grumpy overworked staff are trying to make some kind of order, is not my ideal start of the day. I headed for town and grabbed a sandwich instead...

The location is fine, a 15 minute walk to the centre of town (Cathedral) and very handy for the airport bus that stops just around the corner (5 min). Would stay again if offered a great rate, if not I'd try something else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moraira
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Whoever put the large TV on the wall, but not flat and protruding over the edge of the bed should be shot! There was also a large glass table with a sharp edge at the far end of the bed so if you managed to shimmy around the bed without hitting your head on the TV you probably bruised your thighs on the table.
The rooms were adequate in size, but exceedingly poorly designed.
Money had been spent on tiling in the bathroom and various gizmos, but everywhere seemed not quite right and tired.
The external facade of the hotel looked as though it hadn't been painted for 5 years.
We made a poor choice with this hotel for our first visit to Sevilla where there was so much to see that we only really needed a clean bed and a bathroom because we were out for very long days and didn't need the spa facilities etc - which is how, I assume, the hotel earns its 4 stars

Room Tip: Try the suites, which we didn't, they may be better. Rooms in various parts of the hotel all ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sevilla

Address: Dr Pedro de Castro 1, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#17 Business Hotel in Seville
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#22 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Melia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sevilla Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Sevilla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Sevilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.