We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ducal Hotel

Ducal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ducal Hotel to your Saves list
Ducal Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza De La Encarnacion 19, 41003 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Trieste, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

If you are budget-minded (or just don't care for luxury and extra services but a nice place to sleep) and look for an hotel in the very center of Seville, then Hotel Ducal is your choice. It has only 2 stars but rooms are spacious, staff is nice and you are 5 min walking from monuments like the Catedral or the Barrio of Santa Cruz. And in August they have special offers.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — Lack of internet access, lack of TV, lack of particular decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Hotel OK if you not expecting much Room was large, clean and centrally heated and there was a decent sized bathroom Shower was nice and hot Clean towels every day although not very fluffy Not for couples wanting a romantic weekend away as beds are about four feet apart Staff on front desk not the friendliest I've ever met but very efficient Overall OK but I've stayed in much better for not much more money

  • Liked — Warm room and hot shower
  • Disliked — Very dark at night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada city
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

touble hotel, construction on your floor (or directly above) starts at 7:30am with no prior warning, no airconditioning though promised, shower is almost ok... the staff is poor too..

  • Disliked — noisy, trouble staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London 07
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Acceptable accomodations for a budget traveler. I stayed there on a trip while studying abroad in 2007. Coming from a very "posh" part of London, and used to typical American standards, we were a little startled but able to make it work. Ducal seems to be the standard style for Europe budget hotels.
Roomier than most, with roomy bathroom as well. Tile floors which are good for cleanliness; no "frills" - no tv, no hairdryer. Fresh towels every day, but not sheets.
"View" of a small courtyard/the fire escape :( Can be loud at night, and noises from within the building (people walking and using the elevator) never ceased.
There is a great tasting, cheap cafe across the square, so we never tried the breakfast offered. Be warned - there is a lot of construction going on all over the city as of 2/2007, which was disappointing. Location was good, and we felt safe enough walking back to the hotel around midnight - use common sense, of course. Better locations to be had nearer the Cathedral where we spent most of the days.
There was a slight issue with the desk attendant demanding that he keep our passports upon arrival - of course we refused, but he insisted on holding the copies we had with us instead. When asking for the copies before departing, it took over 15 minutes and a lot of chaotic panic to locate the passports. Don't hand anything like that over to them for "safekeeping," save yourself the trouble.
Overall, definitely visit Seville - our second favorite city in Spain!
Pleasant Travels!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

OK, it's clean (relatively, though handles etc feel 'sticky'.) Beds firm, linen clean, no cockroaches seen, decor mustard, paint peeling, doors stick, only power point (for razor?) in bathroom, overlooks a building site, road sweeper machine works between 1 and 3, 5 and 6, going round in circles. front bedrooms ok but beware of those at the back (1, 2 8, 9) which are dark (little natural light) overlooking a sort of airwell which allows all other rooms in same configuration a view of your room!, smells foetid and stale, towels well used tho' clean,as long as you get them, lift works intermittently, day staff rude and unhelpful, night staff better(!) bag of gifts left in room 'lost', breakfast brought to room consists of very sweet concentrated juice, good bread roll, lukewarm coffee and milk and a sweet pastry. I'm not quite sure how near it is to the main sights but I wouldn't go back unless I was absolutely desperate for a very (I hope) cheap deal. If you travel as a group, I beg you for the love of Spanish food, don't let them arrange meals in a 'nearby cafeteria'. Food below the worst school dinners and vino de casa hugely pricey!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2003

The Hotel Ducal was the third stop during my trip to Spain with the group I was traveling with. Altough Seville is a beautiful city with probably the friendliest people in Spain, the Ducal certainly did not fit with the rest. It is a old hotel with small rooms and the rudest hotel staff I've ever experienced. Our guide even locked 40 Euros at one of the front desk's safe in the evening and curiously, 20 Euros were missing the next morning (And be aware, only the staff can access those safes so...). I was literally taken back to the 19th century to say the least by staying at the Ducal. They are no TV's in the rooms, furniture must have been last changed in the 1920s (the even use the "castle-keys" you can see in fantasy books for instance) and when I opened my window, I was left with the handle in my hand.

I beg you to choose another hotel, you'll be glad you did

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2003

I stayed at this hotel and for starters the elevator is a disaster, it is an old hotel and the bed leave a lot to be desired. If there was a bright side it is close to a lot of activity!

Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ducal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ducal Hotel

Address: Plaza De La Encarnacion 19, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ducal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ducal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducal Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ducal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.