We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but average staff (apart from the rooftop bar) and terrible wifi!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Inglaterra to your Saves list
Hotel Inglaterra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Nueva 7, 41001 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #81 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Melbourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location but average staff (apart from the rooftop bar) and terrible wifi!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

There are many positives about this hotel. The location Is oerfect. Our room was lovely but next to the lift so it sounded like a sick whale was beside us all night!
The roof top garden was cool in the evening and had a great view of the cathedral. The ladies working there were friendly and efficient.
The breakfast was also very good.
The real issues for us were the reception staff who were average at best. If they are going to do paperwork sit out the back, not out front pretending they are on reception, only to then ignore you.
Also, having to pay for wifi is bad enough, but then to only use it in halls and public areas is stupid - and I couldn't then sign up anyway!
We loved Seville, but not this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    181
    76
    32
    18
See reviews for
90
188
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed there in June 2013. We were upgraded unexpectedly when we arrived and had a wonderful room, overlooking Plaza Nueva.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel. The room was clean and thecstaff was very helpful and friendly, especially Carlos. Thank you for a great time!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the plaza. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is extremely old in all ways. Furnishings in the hotel and rooms need updating.
When we walked in to check in, staff were it seemed chatting away at the reception. They did not ackowledge us at all and it was only later we found out that one was training the other. What a training lesson!!! Ignore the guests. Someone else eventually came behind reception and checked us in. It was a look to say "oh no, not another guest". The location is excellent near the town and our room overlooked the square and we had no noise at night and the room was pleasant, clean and a good size. We had our dog with us and they charged 20 euros for her (many of the Spanish hotels do not charge for dogs). The parking is also expensive as is the use of their one computer in the reception. Would we return to the Inglaterra. No.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A group of us stayed here and the location is excellent near the Tram Terminus and easy walking distance of the sights of this magnificent city. Our charming fourth floor room opened on to a veranda with a stunning view of the cathedral and city skyline. I eventually worked out how to use the taps in the bathroom. The roof bar has a fabulous vista. Watching the Spanish men gesticulate as the sounds of a bullfight in the nearby arena floated over to the bar was one of the funniest and most memorable events of our stay in Spain. Wifi connection was lousy - nil. I ended up having to queue in the lobby to use their PC there.

Room Tip: Ask for veranda room with cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If all you are interested in is a great location and email and comfort are not important to you, then this might be the hotel for you. I spent one night here and will never return. We usually stay at the Hotel Becquer, which is only a couple of minutes longer to walk to the centre and are very happy there but an error with our booking (our fault) found us, 3 couples, spending our last night in Seville at the Hotel Inglaterra.
My OH and I stayed in Room 111, directly across from 2 bars in the side streets, where we could hear everyone talking, laughing and walking past underneath. We could also hear every door close (slam is the only way) in our corridor, people walking above us, outside our room, water running and toilets flushing. I fell into an exhausted sleep, around 2am. The mattress was hard but is not the worst I have slept on. Our friends faced the Square and did not experience the same level of noise as we did.
The bedroom furnishings were basic and uninspiring and amenities in the bathroom were lacking – we had soap, shampoo and body wash. There was a sign saying we could ask for other items but there was no sign or mention of basics, such as cotton bud or cotton wool pads. The bedroom was very 3-star in my opinion.
When we arrived, we were given a twin bedroom and asked Reception if we could move to a double or if our beds could be made up as a double. We were told that neither options were possible. About 6 hours later, we met 2 people checking in and insisting that as they were brother and sister, they could not share a double bed. They were told that there were no twin bedrooms available!
I cannot be away at all without email access, for work and family contact. The Hotel Inglaterra advertises free Wi-Fi but neglects to add that this is only for websites and does not include apps. What this translates to, is that you cannot access your email on an Android phone or iPhone or an iPad. I tried to access it from my laptop but as our email is channelled through Google Apps, that didn’t work either. Microsoft Exchange is also a no-no. The concierge told me that we could try access our email through their computer in the reception area but added that it is really too slow to log into webmail. It was good enough to print a boarding pass.
My only option to access email was to pay €3 per hour. This is a total rip-off and the hotel is not being honest by withholding the fact that Wi-Fi access is limited. I asked to speak to the Duty Manager and was told that it was the weekend and none was available, a poor show for an 86 room hotel. I was told to write a letter but I don't see much point in that, as the management do not monitor the TA reviews, so couldn't have much interest.
Breakfast was fair – there were too many items served from tins or boxes, with cellophane and plastic wrapped items prominent displayed. Certainly not what I would expect from 4 star.
The hotel has a rooftop bar, open in the evenings, with views over the city and there is a lovely little bakery next door to the front entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Access to the old city of Seville can be a problem since streets are narrow. Hotel Inglaterra benefits from a spacious location on Plaza Nueva and while there may be occasions when it is noisy our experience was that this was a quiet location well located for access to tourist sites and to restaurants and shopping. Our reception was well organised, our room was glorious, large, colourful and clean and throughout our three night stay, staff were friendly and helpful. I would very happily visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

great location.big and clean room. however, the special condition room is in the first floor, right up the nevea plaza. which made it hard to open the window without being watched. The wifi is horrible.

Room Tip: choose higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Plaza Nueva 7, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#35 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Four Star Hotel in Central Seville Hotel Inglaterra is a premier hotel with an unbeatable Seville location. Right in the heart of Plaza Nueva, guests are granted access to local monuments, famous attractions, holiday celebrations and events, and luxury shopping. Hotel Inglaterra welcomes guests to enjoy one-of-a-kind dining experiences such as award-winning cocktails at Trinity Pub or a light dinner overlooking Seville on the hotel terrace. The hotel provides spacious accommodations that are classically decorated with wooden floors, precious antiques, and some offer whirlpool baths, private terraces, and marble fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Inglaterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.