We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Wi-Fi with no email access, and noise and apathy....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Inglaterra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Nueva 7, 41001 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #80 of 170 hotels in Seville
Albufeira, Portugal
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Beware the Wi-Fi with no email access, and noise and apathy....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If all you are interested in is a great location and email and comfort are not important to you, then this might be the hotel for you. I spent one night here and will never return. We usually stay at the Hotel Becquer, which is only a couple of minutes longer to walk to the centre and are very happy there but an error with our booking (our fault) found us, 3 couples, spending our last night in Seville at the Hotel Inglaterra.
My OH and I stayed in Room 111, directly across from 2 bars in the side streets, where we could hear everyone talking, laughing and walking past underneath. We could also hear every door close (slam is the only way) in our corridor, people walking above us, outside our room, water running and toilets flushing. I fell into an exhausted sleep, around 2am. The mattress was hard but is not the worst I have slept on. Our friends faced the Square and did not experience the same level of noise as we did.
The bedroom furnishings were basic and uninspiring and amenities in the bathroom were lacking – we had soap, shampoo and body wash. There was a sign saying we could ask for other items but there was no sign or mention of basics, such as cotton bud or cotton wool pads. The bedroom was very 3-star in my opinion.
When we arrived, we were given a twin bedroom and asked Reception if we could move to a double or if our beds could be made up as a double. We were told that neither options were possible. About 6 hours later, we met 2 people checking in and insisting that as they were brother and sister, they could not share a double bed. They were told that there were no twin bedrooms available!
I cannot be away at all without email access, for work and family contact. The Hotel Inglaterra advertises free Wi-Fi but neglects to add that this is only for websites and does not include apps. What this translates to, is that you cannot access your email on an Android phone or iPhone or an iPad. I tried to access it from my laptop but as our email is channelled through Google Apps, that didn’t work either. Microsoft Exchange is also a no-no. The concierge told me that we could try access our email through their computer in the reception area but added that it is really too slow to log into webmail. It was good enough to print a boarding pass.
My only option to access email was to pay €3 per hour. This is a total rip-off and the hotel is not being honest by withholding the fact that Wi-Fi access is limited. I asked to speak to the Duty Manager and was told that it was the weekend and none was available, a poor show for an 86 room hotel. I was told to write a letter but I don't see much point in that, as the management do not monitor the TA reviews, so couldn't have much interest.
Breakfast was fair – there were too many items served from tins or boxes, with cellophane and plastic wrapped items prominent displayed. Certainly not what I would expect from 4 star.
The hotel has a rooftop bar, open in the evenings, with views over the city and there is a lovely little bakery next door to the front entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    149
    65
    28
    15
See reviews for
77
152
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Access to the old city of Seville can be a problem since streets are narrow. Hotel Inglaterra benefits from a spacious location on Plaza Nueva and while there may be occasions when it is noisy our experience was that this was a quiet location well located for access to tourist sites and to restaurants and shopping. Our reception was well organised, our room was glorious, large, colourful and clean and throughout our three night stay, staff were friendly and helpful. I would very happily visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

great location.big and clean room. however, the special condition room is in the first floor, right up the nevea plaza. which made it hard to open the window without being watched. The wifi is horrible.

Room Tip: choose higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Inglaterra has a long history. There are pictures of Edward VIII departing in the 1930s. You could say that it 's still living in the past and certainly the rooms have an old-fashioned look and could do with some updating. Nevertheless, it is superbly located in Plaza Nueva, a stone's throw from the main tourist sights. Another plus is the helpful concierges, who can supply whatever information you need and even get you tickets for the bullfight. Breakfast is served in a light and airy room overlooking the square and is as extensive as you could wish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a very good central location, with well equipped bedrooms and very helpful staff. The hotel is in a pedestrianised area close to the cathedral and near to the main shopping streets. It is also just a step away from the tram terminus.

There is a nice cafe right beside the hotel which is handy if you need a quick coffee.

One negative is the hotel's wifi policy which allows only limited Internet access. However there is a laptop and printer in the lobby which is useful for printing out boarding passes etc.

Room Tip: The passageways have marble floors so it can be noisy when people pass your room. A room at the end...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed here four times and love it more with every visit. The rooms are beautifully clean and attractively decorated, with detailed woodwork and soothing colors and fabrics. Our 25-year-old son, who is not one to comment on this sort of thing, said, "This is nice!" The restaurants are all good. There's a rooftop bar with impressive views of the cathedral and Sevilla skyline. There are English speaking concierges, Fernando is a favorite. There's also a new patisserie--Collette--off the lobby, where you can purchase coffee and delicious pastries. The Trinity pub off the lobby is a great place for a drink or some ice cream. The hotel is located on Plaza Nueva, close to everything you'll want to to see in what's become my favorite city in Spain. Our last visit, we stayed in Room 504, which has a terrace with an amazing view. We hope to return again to this lovely hotel, now celebrating its 150th year.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the 1st, 2nd, and 5th floors. The 5th floor was very quiet. There are metal window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We struck lucky here. Although our room didn't overlook the square it was very spacious and provided much more than we expected. Location was within walking distance of the famous sites. Staff very helpful and breakfast the best we had on our touring holiday.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Plaza Nueva 7, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#34 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Four Star Hotel in Central Seville Hotel Inglaterra is a premier hotel with an unbeatable Seville location. Right in the heart of Plaza Nueva, guests are granted access to local monuments, famous attractions, holiday celebrations and events, and luxury shopping. Hotel Inglaterra welcomes guests to enjoy one-of-a-kind dining experiences such as award-winning cocktails at Trinity Pub or a light dinner overlooking Seville on the hotel terrace. The hotel provides spacious accommodations that are classically decorated with wooden floors, precious antiques, and some offer whirlpool baths, private terraces, and marble fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Inglaterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.