We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and too expensive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Giralda Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Giralda Hotel to your Saves list
Catalonia Giralda Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sierra Nevada 3, 41003 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty and too expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The bathroom wasn't clean and there were ants in the hotel. The wireless password wasn't in the room and they wouldn't give it over the phone so I had to go downstairs, wait in line and go back upstairs just to use the internet. I could handle these things in a youth hostel, but this costs ten times as much... You'd think they could at least clean the hairballs out of the shower.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    50
    48
    35
    22
See reviews for
25
78
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This Hotel we had two nights in, very nice pleasant on reception which makes a change, and the bedrooms were nice and clean and comfortable beds, Very Handy for walking to the Plaza Espania and to the Bull ring, Had a lovely two days in Seville, could have stayed another two days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

Well, where does one begin? This is the worst hotel I have ever been in. The wifi is unreliable. There is no mini bar or even a fridge! No ice maker. Asking anyone for ice is like pulling teeth, if you are lucky, they may give you 4 cubes. Rooms are ugly. Bathroom tiles are mouldy and are coming off the wall. Toilet didn't work, room was not serviced until 5 pm. Breakfast bland and unappealing. Service is terrible. Seriously bad - only marginally better than sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The hotel was quite well located and was just over 50 euros for a double room, which was quite fantastic value for money. While this is a 4 star hotel it's a bit old and the shower hose broke and light started flickering, but the staff was great and fixed them immediately. Food was decent. Frankly though, for these prices and clean rooms, this is way more service than one should expect. I was very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

First room had no fridge and a flashing light that drove us mad so they switched us to a second room.

This room was bigger but still no fridge and the air conditioning sounded like ships engine. When we shut the bathroom door there as an almighty crash and we discovered that the tiles had fallen of the wall into he bath, They cleared away the debris but as numerous other tiles were still loose we declined to use the bath or shower for fear of injury. The toilet seat was also badly fitted and moved every time you sat on it, finlly there was a lack of power outlets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in a superior Room which was excellent, the hotel was spotless, the staff very polite, some spoke a little English, the public areas were clean and furnished with comfortable furnishings, the decor was very nice. Our bedroom had air conditioning which was a great asset in 47 degrees . The buffet breakfast was extensive, a selection of cereals, cava, sparkling and still water, cheese and meats, pastries and apple tart, yogurt as well as a selection of hot food bacon, eggs, sausage etc which we found was a little greasy, but the selection was there, also various teas , coffee, chocolate etc and when we were there the buffet was 8 euros per head which was exceptionally good value and the waiting staff were all polite and efficient. We would definately return when next in Seville. We tried the Snack Bar, the food was simpe basic food but hot and served by polite staff which were very attentive. Really the visit was a worthwhile experience and for the price excellent value .

Room Tip: We were in a Superior room on the third floor , very quiet, great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Giralda Hotel in April 2011 for 3 nights and had an enjoyable time. The hotel is conveniently located at the edge of the old town, so all the attractions are within walking distance. Room was spacious with a nice bathroom. What really won us over, was the great service and help we received from the hotel staff, and in particular the hotel manager. Our flight out of Seville was cancelled, and the manager was very helpful in assisting us with booking another flight. We would have been stuck without his kind assistance.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Giralda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Giralda Hotel

Address: Sierra Nevada 3, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Giralda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Giralda is located right in the historic and shopping centre of Seville. It is named after one of Seville's most famous sightseeing locations, "la Giralda", which is just a few metres walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is also very close to the Santa Justa train station, where the AVE (high speed train) terminal is located. The hotel was built in 1967 and renovated in 2004, and has 110 rooms on 5 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Giralda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Giralda
Catalonia Giralda Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Giralda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.