We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de La Palmera s/n. Esquina C/ Parana, 41012 Seville, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #61 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Ballyclare
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here on my second trip to this hotel. booked two rooms on the galahotels website for five nights at a great rate. the rooms are on a par with Crowne Plaza/Hilton standard. Since my booking was for room only I tried to gain a concession from the hotel for complimentary breakfast given that this was my second visit and I also explained that I had recommended two other parties to stay there. However the only thing they offered was breakfast for 10 euro per person per day, hardly a bargain when you can buy a good breakfast at a nearby cafe for approx 4 euros.
Don't eat and drink in this hotel as it is much too expensive, bars nearby sell food and drink for around a third of the hotel prices. A real gem of a tapas bar a short walk away is the Avelino, try their food and the excellent Tinto Verano to drink. All at a fraction of the Hotel price. The Hotel is a comfortable place to say though the wifi was very slow. The other major problem they have (and I highlighted this in the review I wrote last year) is the fact that not enough sun loungers are available round the lovely pool. Most afternoons when we arrived the loungers were all taken and lying on your towel made you feel like a second class citizen and added some level of stress because you were continually watching to see when a bed would be free, and worrying that someone else would beat you to it. The hotel is in a good location just over a mile from the city and there are plenty of buses. I drove to Seville from Faro and found it an easy and convenient way to do a two centre break. I would return to this hotel but hope they address these outstanding issues.

Room Tip: try a club room and get access to the Elite lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    823
    339
    89
    54
See reviews for
307
839
46
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cville, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything was good here, but as mentioned in other reviews, the location is less than ideal. We got the hotel through a discount website, so it was inexpensive. We started taking buses to keep those savings in our pocket.

A taxi from the train station was 9 euro, and an in-town taxi was about 8 euro (from Armas bus station to Santa Justa train station). Buses are cheaper, about 1.40 each ride, unless you take the airport bus, the EA line is 4. From the hotel, you can walk past the stadium and catch Line 6 to go to Armas, and Line 34 runs even closer, but the bus line you want depends on where you are trying to go. The front desk was helpful.

The best restaurant we found in walking distance is on a nearby corner, a pizza place called something like "Come Le Gusto," or "eat what you like." The mushroom and fried brie tapas were our favorites!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel to attend a conference held there. Conference-wise everything was OK, except the fact that the internet connection (even when you pay for "high speed") is disappointingly slow. It has to be mentioned though, that the staff was very helpful when I had a problem with my connection. The meals are absolutely great. An elaborate selection to choose from and great quality, top notch. The room was very comfortable, though with a slightly reluctant airconditioning every now and then. The only real downside of this hotel for me is its location. The city centre is at least a 45 minute walk from the hotel, and although there is a bus stop nearby, that option can take you up to half an hour as well.

Room Tip: Try to steer clear from the rooms that look out on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked this last minute for city break to Seville and was more impressed than expected. It is bit out of the city but only about five euros for taxi, and there is a taxi rank outside. Suggest you ask for ground floor room with patio especially during hot weather. Four star hotel rating justified

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we came to the hotel last summer and enjoyed our stay in Seville so much(and the hotel),we decided to come back this year,and it was exactly how we remembered it.decent size room with a comfortable bed,great breakfast spread and lovely pool and gardens.The fact that the hotel is about a 5 minute drive out of the city was ok for us as we had a car.plenty of parking on the street so no need to pay for parking.The staff were the same friendly as ever and willing to help.We absolutely love Seville and when we come back in the future we will def stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

By North American standards, the hotel rooms are pretty small. By European standards they are nice. The rooms very decently clean even if the maids never cleaned the windows or the draped needed to be washed but that is a normal problem in all hotels of the world. The maids kept forgetting to put hair conditioner in our rooms every day and we had to go out and take it from their carts.
The morning buffet was pretty good, eggs (sunny side up, hard boiled or scrambled), meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurt, many different breads and on and on and on. If you decide to stay at night for the buffet, the atmosphere is dead (you feel that you're eating in a funeral home, there was no music playing and no one was speaking) but Seville has so many nice restaurants to eat in at night that you should skip dinner at the hotel. During our stay, we only had the option of eating at the buffet, cafe or the pool side bar (service is ok, food is pool side food not restaurant ). The Italian spot was closed and their other restaurant too (but was advertised everywhere) they seem to open them during conventions and not during summer)
They charge 9€ for parking a night. The ride to Seville center is around 6€ in the day and 10€ late at night. We spent about 25€ a day going back and forth to the city. With the temperature reaching 46C around 3pm we would run back to the pool and then go back for dinner about 8-9 pm. So if you calculate about 35€ for parking and transport compared to city center hotels that charge more than 20€ for parking and don't have large pools, I think it's a good trade off.

Room Tip: We took two joining standard rooms instead of the family suite. They charged us 32€ more but you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel Silken Al Andalus Palace.

We booked a Junior Dream Elite Room. The room was clean and all comfort is available.
It is a very spacious room with bad and separate shower. Airco was powerful enough even with 38°C outside temp. We had the feeling that not a lot of the guests go for the Elite service.
Although it is nice to get access to the Elite lounch with all extras. We like the extra service of the Elite club. The breakfast was more then OK. All you can think of was available.
Reception/staff was very friendly and helped us out on all our requests. We were guided to some very nice restaurants and tapa bars in the neighborhood. Restaurant Clara and tapa bar next to it are very nice with nice local athmospheer. The neighborhood is very nice. Very relaxing area, in the middle of nice apartments and villa's. It was very save to walk around.
Many bus-lines bring you to the city center in 15 min.

To spend the summer in a city like Sevilla, this hotel is ideally. This hotel combines a good location with fast connection towards the center and has a big and beautifull garden in where you can relax and enjoy the swimming-pool.

So the expectations that are set and created on your website are 100% correct.
For us, this is very important that you can trust what a company is proposing for a certain price.

Room Tip: Pay some extra to get the Elite service. It's really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida de La Palmera s/n. Esquina C/ Parana, 41012 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Seville
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#28 Business Hotel in Seville
#44 Family Hotel in Seville
#53 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 623
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the orange blossom capital This modern, light hotel, fully refurbished in 2005, emerges like an oasis in the orange blossom capital, amongst the gardens of the Heliopolis quarter and close to Parque de Maria Luisa and Plaza de Espana. With 623 rooms, the Silken Al-Andalus Palace hotel stands out for its spacious facilities, irradiating light and freshness, inviting the guests to enjoy its more than 15,000 m2 of gardened areas, have a relaxing dip in its exclusive pool, rest in its spacious rooms with free Internet connection or enjoy a glass of wine in its piano bar with live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Al Andalus Palace Hotel
Silken Al Andalus Palace Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.