We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base to explore Seville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de La Palmera s/n. Esquina C/ Parana, 43012 Seville, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #59 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great base to explore Seville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I've just spent a thoroughly enjoyable week at the Al Andalus in Seville and would recommend it as a relaxing base from which to explore the city. As many of the other reviews state its outside of the centre, but there is a regular bus service, which only costs 1,30 euros and takes about 15mins. Taxis cost about 8 euros. The area around the hotel is mainly residential, but the upside is that its quiet and the pool and gardens are lovely for relaxing - something you don't get in the city centre hotels. I guess it depends how long your staying for - if its a couple of days for sight seeing then this hotel is a bit far out. For a mixture of sight seeing, great nights out and relaxing by a pool, then its perfect.
As most other reviews, we found the breakfast very good with a wide range of foods. We ate one evening in the Italian restaurant in the hotel (not the standard buffet) and it was lovely.

The hotel and room decor is a little dated and the website images must be a few years old, but its basically good, clean and functional - its not luxury but great for the price. One thing to mention if you have long hair - the hair dryer in the bathroom is hopeless, so I'd take your own if you don't want to spend an hour drying your hair!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    747
    294
    83
    48
See reviews for
279
768
41
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The good thing about this hotel is the excellent swimming pool and sun bathing area. Service is good in reception but the restaurants are more like canteens and the quality one was not open even though the hotel was full. If you are sightseeing Seville stay somewhere more central; good as a business base.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011 via mobile

This is not a four star hotel. The room was tired, and dark giving a cross-channel ferry cabin feeling.
Breakfast was varied but the quality was poor.
Staff varied from friendly and attentive to down-right rude.
On the plus side only 6 euros to town by taxi
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Erin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Beware, On most of the map searches this hotel comes up to be a lot closer to the centre of town that it actually is. It is one hell of a long way out of the centre by the football stadium Manuel Ruiz de Lopera. The reception staff speak english so check in is not a problem but the room we were given on the ground floor was dark and dreary - we asked for another an got one on the 4th floor which was lighter but still small - windows are simply too high and too small. The room was sufferring from age with a small refrigerator and even smaller TV (not that we watch TV) at least they had wireless internet though you need to get the daily password from reception. The hotel looks impressive when you enter with a spacious lobby. The grounds are nice - it is quiet - and the outside bars by the pool relaxing. We spent most of the days out in Seville itself doing all the cultural stuff - fantatstic - but got back one night hungry and decided to try the restaurant at the hotel as there was little in the way of nearby offerings. Mistake - the food was not that good - rather plain in fact. We decided the next day to head out into the country and the reception staff quickly arranged for a car for us - a small diesel engined vehicle that was excellent - dealing with the spanish speaking rental co was interesting but it all worked out at 67eu for the day inc insurance and we had a blast going out in the Andalusin countryside and down to the mediterranean. If going to stay here get a cab to/from the railway station and into town. There is a large supermarket round the corner if you need a couple of bottle of wine - olives and bread!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. As the other reviews said it is about 10-15 minutes from Center of Seville by bus. It is in a nice residential neighborhood. We never had the need to take a taxi to go anywhere since the #34 bus stop is around the corner and Bus #6 is a few blocks away. From Madrid we took Renfe train to Sta. Lucia station in Seville. We took the bus Circular 1 that drops you off by Plaza de Espana. The same side of the street you pick up bus #34. It was so convenient for us since we left our big luggage in Madrid and my husband and I have one carryon suitcase. The hotel is very nice. Very modern. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room overlooks the outdoor pool and garden which was very nice view, since the weather was perfect. WIFI was available in the rooms as well as all over the hotel. That was a plus since I had my Iphone and I used the WIFI for my internet.We did not have breaksfast at the hotel since by the time we wake up they stopped serving. Nonetheless there is a bakery nearby and we get our sandwiches, croissant and pastry which is very much affordable. There are restaurants and bars on the way to the main street as well. The tapas and Sangria were good and cheap. The bar was called Felix something.and bus 34 stops right in front of it. It is a local hangout of students and office workers. One of the waiter Ricardo is from mexico but had lived in Houston for a long time so he was so happy to converse with us in English. You can take a day trip to Granada by bus or by train which we did by train.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom England London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011 via mobile

Me and my husband both went to Seville for Easter! Our stay was very pleasant, the room was nice and it was clean, tidy! Staff were friendly, my only thing that i would of changed would be that we would of gone with H/B or BB, as we had breakfast or and dinner at the hotel and it all worked out very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

From the outside this hotel looks like some sort of factory , a cigarette factory,perhaps?(ha ha) It is in a bit of a run-down area.Once inside,however, it is generally very nice.We had a two night stay here and booked a 'club' room.The room was a little tired, but was spacious,the view from our balcony did,however, leave a lot to be desired.The room overlooked a hideously decaying and stagnant 'water feature' from off of which the tiles had fallen, and was overgrown with algae(?) .
Having said that ,the booking entitled us to access to the 'club' lounge which provided us with free internet access,tapas and soft drinks,excellent!And yes,it is true-the breakfast is excellent( the best I have had outside of the Green Park Hilton in London or my house!)The majority of staff were charming,although one or two would,let's say ,benefit from a stay at charm school.
Public transport in to Seville is easy,frequent,and cheap.
There are a few bars and places to eat within walking distance of the hotel, but I would ,personally, avoid them, as the food there was mediocre and the staff were,in my opinion, rude ,and almost hostile.

Room Tip: Get Club room but dont look at water feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida de La Palmera s/n. Esquina C/ Parana, 43012 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Seville
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#29 Business Hotel in Seville
#39 Family Hotel in Seville
#47 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 623
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel is a modern, well-lit establishment with 623 rooms and renewed in 2006. It has good access from the centre of Seville, located among the gardens of Heliopolis district and near Maria Luis Park and its main square (Plaza de España). This Sevillian hotel makes it good for the guest to walk around its more than 15,000 m² garden surface, take a relaxing bath in its unique swimming-pool, rest in its spacious rooms with free connection to the Internet or taste a glass of wine in its snack bar.It is the only hotel in Spain that has a whole floor furnished and decorated by prestigious Victorio & Lucchino: 9 luxurious, exclusive suites to enjoy oneself, works of art, oriental furniture, plasma screen TVs, wood and glass baths, sound equipment and private check-in service which help create a deluxe, sophisticated atmosphere. This is a hotel which radiates light, is visitor sensitive, and offers all types of comforts, sophistication and exclusivity. It only takes 10 minutes to get to the hotel from the historical centre of Seville and there is easy access from the AVE (High Speed Train) station and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Al Andalus Palace Hotel
Silken Al Andalus Palace Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.