We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modernised historical property that is not quite there yet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfonso XIII Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Alfonso XIII Hotel to your Saves list
Alfonso XIII Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Fernando 2, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3000 Starwood Preferred Guest bonus points with your stay
Ranked #6 of 173 Hotels in Seville
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A modernised historical property that is not quite there yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Arrived in our car to find no concierge to take the keys or unload the luggage - so we dragged everything up the stairs to the check-in and just dumped the car there. There was a queue of three clients which took far too long to process, and there was no special line for starwood VIP/platinum members. Bad start.

The manager apologised profusely and then organised for us to be fitted in the christmas day lunch even though we hadn't booked. Then we were shown to our suite, which was a very nice, quiet corner junior suite, with lots of space a a reasonably comfortable bed. The concierges were excellent at helping us to book restaurants and organise tickets for the alhambra, which was on our itinerary over the next few days. Check-out was dealt with a bit clumsily again, as we had requested and been granted late check-out but our electronic keys suddenly stopped working at 12 midday (someone obviously forget to reprogram the departure time). The reception was a long walk from the room, especially with a grumpy 2-year-old who had a wet nappy that needed changing.......

So, it's a beautiful building, tastefully restored and with good rooms, but just needs a little bit of attention to the service aspect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    109
    36
    20
    16
See reviews for
144
350
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

What a fantastic hotel to stay in. Never mind people who just review the bar you have to be a resident. On arrival we were greeted by the bell hops who immediately offered assistance with our luggage. We arrived at about 1pm and check-in was pretty quiet. It was a hassle free experience, usual formalities were completed without any problems and we were allocated our room (105) and off we went. We stayed for two nights over Valentines. Found the room without any problem and it was large by European standards with a separate large bathroom. The room had everything you could ever want, large LCD tv, air conditioning a well stocked mini bar with snacks, bottles of water, bath robes and slippers but no tea or coffee making items! Hotel information as well as you bill can be viewed via the tv, so don't expect to see a guest directory, it's interactive. The bed was the biggest and most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, magnificent. The bathroom was very nice and clean with unusual ceramic vintage tiles in keeping with the hotel it also had a nice deep bath with a very good supply of hot water but be warned if the bath is running don't wander off, it fills very quickly. So we were very pleased with the room. The hotel is spectacular, the design features are what makes this hotel unique as well as the celebrities that have stayed here and the courtyards connection with the film Lawrence Of Arabia. The public areas are immaculate and all the staff helpful and friendly. We ate beside the courtyard the food was fantastic and although classed as a snack it was more than enough for dinner, all washed down by a Lawrence Of Arabia cocktail, superb. Nothing in this hotel is cheap but it's definitely a case of you get what you pay for and in my opinion worth every Penney or Euro....breakfast as expected was superb with everything you could ever want and I mean everything OK so it's €23 but you'll get a better deal if it's included in the room rate which for a deluxe room works out at around the €250 per night mark. The hotel is situated virtually opposite the Real Alcazar in the historical centre of the city. Everything is within walking distance. On arrival we got the airport bus for €4 a and jumped off at the Carlos V stop where you can get the tram direct to the hotel or you can walk as we did and it's probably less than ten minutes. On the way back to the airport we got a taxi for just under €25. The only criticism I have of the hotel is the charge for wifi, currently €18 for 24 hours access. This charge is throughout the chain so not this particular hotels fault but in this day and age it is totally unacceptable and unwarranted. I normally deduct a rating point for this but on this occasion just due to the fantastic time we had, the superb hotel with its unique external and internal decorations and the very friendly and helpful staff it just has to get five. If you are wavering about visiting just do it, if you can afford too. It's certainly an experience not to be missed. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

How could you possibly say anything negative about his bar...best dry martini I've ever tasted. Great service, tasty nuts, didn't like the ceiling, loved the walk through to the bar. We didn't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwestern USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Although having never stayed at the Alfonso XIII, it is a hotel you will never forget. The facade is remarkable and the reception and indoor patio exactly replicate the many pics taken of it! Just perfect! We sat for 30 minutes, just to rest our feet, in perfect elegance, with no one to disturb us or ask if we belonged, etc. It was HEAVEN! A memory not to be forgotten....

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Fantastic experience at this hotel. Very clean and VERY centrally located. It even has a parking garage, which is essential given its location in the old part of Seville. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I travel to Seville many times throughout the year, and will always return to the Alfonso XIII. An advantage to being a regular visitor to this hotel, is to be recognised and welcomed with a smile by all reception and porter staff. It is a pleasure to return to a home away from home! All staff are very professional and respectful in their attitude and service.
All the rooms are comfortable and well equiped, the beds give the best sleep, and the breakfast spread is really comprehensive with hot and cold choice. During the warmer summer months, the outside secluded poolside is to be recommended, as is the bar seating area on the side verandah (during the cooler months this area is overhead heated anyway). There is a small gym for those who wish to participate........
My last stay was during a period of heavy persistant rain and wind, which actively discouraged venturing outside. Unusualy, drain smells were blowing back into the room during this time due the weather(I prevented this by closing the plug-holes & the problem went away). The airconn is so quiet as to be indiscernible.
I look forward to returning - hopefully when the weather is somewhat less inclement!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent 5 lovely nights at the Alfonso and couldn't have been happier. It is a spectacularly gorgeous hotel in a perfect location.

My room overlooked the central courtyard and was very well-equipped. The headboard was a Moorish-design, the mattress was super comfortable, and the bed linens were crisp and white. There was a leather-covered bench at the foot of the bed, a comfy upholstered chair and a lovely inlaid wood side table. Flat screen TV on a large cabinet containing the mini-bar. Outside of the room, in the room's foyer was a walk-in closet with a safe. The large bathroom was stunning - again, the Moorish tile designs for which Seville is famous. Bathroom amenities were high quality and plentiful.

The front desk staff were fantastic. Very hospitable and knowledgeable.

I did not dine in the hotel restaurant, but ate a light supper once in the very plush chairs and sofas surrounding the central courtyard. Almost every night after returning from dinner, I sat in those chairs and listened to the live piano music while enjoying a glass of Spanish sherry. What could be better?

The location - I think it's perfect for sightseeing. There is a tram stop directly across from the hotel entrance. I think it was 1 Euro. The tram only travels a short distance, but I did use it a couple of times when I couldn't walk another step! Mostly though, I did walk…from the hotel up to Plaza Nueva and beyond. Seville Cathedral is about a 4-minute walk from the hotel, and the entrance to the Alcazar is right behind the cathedral. The hotel is also at the end of the bridge across the river to the Triana neighborhood, where you'll find wonderful ceramics workshops.

The cab ride from the train station to the hotel cost ~10EUR. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel. Instead, I'd walk out into the neighborhood.

If I go back to Seville, you can bet that I'll stay at the Alfonso again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfonso XIII Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfonso XIII Hotel

Address: Calle San Fernando 2, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
#3 Business Hotel in Seville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alfonso XIII Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the recently renovated Hotel Alfonso XIII, Seville. Since its inauguration in 1928 the Hotel Alfonso XIII has been the preferred rendezvous for residents of Seville and elite travelers from around the world.From the moment you pass through the entrance of the Hotel Alfonso XIII a world of luxury is your's to explore. Discover the 151 rooms and suites at the newly renovated Hotel Alfonso XIII, Seville, totally equipped and furnished with luxury and comfort. The hotel guestrooms have been decorated with three different elegant styles: Andaluz, Moorish and Castillian rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alfonso XIII Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfonso Xiii Seville
Hotel Alfonso Xiii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfonso XIII Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.