We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star luxury in the heart of the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Colon to your Saves list
Gran Melia Colon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“5 star luxury in the heart of the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

A beautifully renovated hotel, originally built for the Ibero-American Exhibition in 1929 - 5 star all the way. You'll love the funky doors, each looking like a painting, complete with light above. Our room was very large by European standards and ultramodern. A most confounding lighting system has been commented on by everyone and it will continue to confound everyone but a NASA scientist!! Great amenities - robes, toiletries, free safe, fridge in the room, free WiFi. We had breakfast included with the room and it was fantastic, served essentially in the main foyer, but not obtrusive. Huge selection of wonderful food and the best baked goods and sweets! Amazing staff - especially Amanda at the front desk and Martina for breakfast! Tucked away on a quiet street but also right in the middle of the action, our room was above the main hotel entrance, yet still very quiet. Close to the main shopping areas as well as all the sites, it is a phenomenal place to spend your time in Seville. We were there for 4 nights. Only criticism was that it had the most expensive parking in a rather extensive, three week trip in all our journey in Southern Spain. 34 euros per night was definitely steep as the most we paid anywhere else, all 5 stars was about 20 euros.

Room Tip: If you are driving, consider parking in one of the municipal lots nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear occmed,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón Hotel and for the time you have dedicated to share your good experience with us on tripadvisor.com

We appreciate your sincere opinion and are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay in Seville. We will share your post with our team, and particularly with Amanda and Martina.

Do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Sincerely yours,

Esther Villanueva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    285
    68
    21
    8
See reviews for
150
583
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

A beautiful hotel, nice staff, nice rooms (with great stuff from Clarins!!), great breakfast. The waiter was a very friendly man.
A few things to improve: noisy airco in the hotel room, small hotel room, noisy outside doors, we could also hear them from other guests.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Essie99,

Thank you for your good comments about your experience at the Gran Meliá Colón. We greatly value your opinion and would very much appreciate if you could contact us directly to indicate the number of your room (my e-mail address is esther.villanueva@melia.com) so we can fix the noise issue.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further question.
Kind regards,
Esther Villanueva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for three nights, our family of six. We had to get three rooms. Rooms are small. Towels are like sandpaper. Beds are incredibly comfortable. Upon arrival we were greeted by some of the nicest people in the world. And they gave us cava!! The best part of this hotel is the very kind and helpful people. The oddest part are the bathrooms. No towel racks. Water spills everywhere from the shower. Location can't be beat!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Karen C,

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Seville. We highly appreciate your kind words about our staff and also take into account your comments about the bathroom. Your sincere opinion is important and helps us to improve our services.

We wish that you will continue to rely on us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Esther Villanueva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at The Gran Melia Colon during a recent trip to Sevilla to visit my sister. I wanted a hotel near where she was living and the GMC was only a 5 minute walk. It has a wonderful location. I was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go, some being further than others. The Plaza de Espana was a bit of an adventure, but the weather was beautiful and I didn't mind the long walk. Other attractions such as the bull fighting stadium, the Alcazar, the Cathedral and Metropol Parasol were all very close. Check-in was easy and the staff was very welcoming and kind. The rooms are quite large and the entire decor is very modern. The only thing I didn't like was the painted room doors. Each floor represents a different artist and has that artist's work on the door. Some are very dark and creepy looking. My room was serviced twice daily and the chocolate left on my pillow was delicious. The breakfast was very nice. Nothing was made-to-order, but the food was fresh and plentiful. It included the usual, meats, cheeses, bread, fruit, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. The fresh juice was wonderful. If this hotel had a pool it would be even better, although the rooftop deck and hot tub were wonderful after a long day of touring. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Colón. We highly appreciate your comments, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved.
We look forward to welcoming in the future.
Warm regards,
Esther Villanueva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

we stayed with a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids aged 9&6), staff is very helpful, clean and spacious rooms, excellent breakfast. Hotel is located very close to the historic centre and the shopping. We really enjoyed it and can only advice it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate your comment regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Colón. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks. We are really proud that you and your family had such a wonderful experience.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
Kind regards,
Esther Villanueva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed at the Melia Sierra Nevada and opted for The Level which was well worth the extra money. When making our reservation at the Melia in Seville, we again opted for the Red Glove Service but this time we were disappointed as it did not measure up to our expectations. The hotel is lovely, room spotlessly clean and the location is 1st rate so no complaints with the hotel itself. However, we felt the service, food and drinks at "The Level Lounge" were quiet poor, some tapas were stale and dry and the all day drinks were limited unless a member of staff was available to assist. Wi-Fi in the room was a problem but to their credit they supplied us with a laptop which worked immediately. The roof top terrace and jacuzzi were very welcome in such hot weather. All in all we would most definitely return to the hotel and recommend it without any hesitation but would save on the Red Glove Service next time!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Colón, I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay at Seville, as well as for taking time to post your comments at Tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at Gran Meliá Colón was an incredible experience. I will transmit to all the staff your comments in order to improve our service to make more enjoyable your next stay.
Our appreciation again for sharing your experience. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Warm regards,
Esther Villanueva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is in a good location on the edge of the Old town and about 10 minutes walk to the Alcazar and Cathedral. It looks very grand from the outside and is interesting inside the lobby and the hallways. We booked the family room which was spacious enough but the beds were tiny! The size was fine for children but ridiculously small for 2 adults and made for a rough night's sleep. Not the level of comfort that would expect from a 5-star hotel. To add to the frustration we didn't get the requested view and had an outlook onto other rooms. Bizarrely, there was no plug for the bath (which we only discovered as my children were about to get in) and we had to wait for at least 15 minutes until someone from maintenance arrived with one. The bedside control panel for the lights was very confusing. It looked cool but was not very functional as there were no symbols or labels on any buttons so trying to turn lights on and off was guesswork.

After exploring this wonderful city we arrived back in the room for a brief respite from the heat and housekeeping was cleaning the room but instead of returning at a later time, the housekeeper continued vacuuming and cleaning around us.

There was a good selection at breakfast but it was quite a small area and seemed a bit chaotic. We had to wait for a table.

If you are planning on visiting Seville in the summer, think about booking a hotel with a pool. We spotted a number of inviting rooftop pools from the Cathedral tower. If we return to Seville we will seek out one of these.

If you are travelling by road, it is very close to access the motorway from this hotel.

Room Tip: request a room with a view. The inside rooms look across an atrium to other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Villanueva, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you in the name of all the Gran Meliá Colón staff for your feedback. It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that our service met your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.
Thank you and we hope you come to visit us again.
Best regards,
Esther Villanueva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seville
#5 Family Hotel in Seville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.