We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Colon to your Saves list
Gran Melia Colon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Modern styled hotel very well located and within walking distance of the Cathedral and Barrio de Santa Cruz, the staff very attentive and corteous. Candido and Jacopo in Concierge's desk and Reception will go through hoops to help you in any way possible. Rooms are spacious and "aseos" (bathrooms) are well sized. If you want high end tapas try El Burladero: the house Restaurant. My only comment would be to keep it down on the perfume in common areas although I understand it is a Meliá thing. Great option in Seville.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor (El Greco floor is nice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Tovarich1975
I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Colon and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Colon.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future
Best Regards,

Celia Martín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    320
    72
    21
    8
See reviews for
171
674
34
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came early morning from long bus trip, and room was immediately available. The hotel is beautifully designed. Hotel room is clean and has mood lightings, with french toiletries, the location is excellent, and walkable to major must-see in Seville, you're almost there in Sierpes road- the shopping place of Seville. The staff are friendly, especially in the restaurant. Best choice to stay when in Seville...will definitely be back when in Seville.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Kitpoblete


First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Seville, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Colon and that you felt so comfortable.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Colon.

Best Regards,

Tino Galán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were attracted by the location and spa facilities because we knew there would be a few rainy days during the week. Booking directly on their website gives you 20 euros to spend a day at the hotel on a limited list of items. We never used these vouchers as the bar and breakfast are excluded from the deal (the 2 things we would have wanted to spend on!).
As part of the online booking i joined the loyalty programme. On check in we were advised that it qualified us for a 2 for 1 breakfast (ie roughly 20 euros rather than 40E for two).
We took up the offer on the second morning, the bill was for 2 breakfasts and were told the offer had expired the previous day. On making a fuss they said they would give a concession this one time. I signed a voucher charging for one breakfast. On check out the bill showed a charge for 2 breakfasts. A commission of 30 euros was also on our bill (i had booked online direct!). More difficult conversations ensued. This is not a fun way to spend precious holiday time. Recession-hit Seville and its good hotels must do better if it wants to attract tourists.
There are plus points:
The support staff were always very friendly. Beds were very comfortable. The hot tub and deck are lovely. Location great if you want to shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr. MasumeLondon,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Sevilla.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best Regards,

Tino Galán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a top flight hotel with great service and location. The staff was top notch and friendly and the restaurant was very nice also. The roof deck spa, w/steam and sauna, had a wonderful view of the city from the hot tub.
The rooms are large and modern with a full line up of bath products. There is no need for a car as the hotel is walking distance to all areas of the old city. There are also plenty of cool little bars and tapas places in the area. Seville is a great place to visit and this hotel is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Visit Seville from November-March for nice weather and cheap prices. it's still warm enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Teeceethree
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Colon. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Colon.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future
Best Regards,

Tino Galán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Worked remotely with Gran Melia Colon to schedule spa sessions, and the service was superb. I worked with Carmen through their Concierge desk and she was prompt, effecient and very friendly. I look forward to my visit and will thank her personally.

Kyung

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Justanoun

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment and we would like to thank you again for our comments.

Best Regards,

Tino Galán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights in March in a "panoramic view" room over looking the church next door and had a clear sight line to the Cathedral and the Giralda. The rooms are modern and quite spacious with nice bathrooms. Room had actual king sized bed. Each floor has a particular artist as a theme with each room's door covered with a section of a painting, a nice touch. WiFi is free and pretty fast as far as hotel internet goes. Staff were very friendly and served us cava as we checked in. It's got a decent location being less than 10 mins walk to the cathedral area. We did not eat in the restaurant. Room rate is a bit pricey but overall we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Czesc,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Colon. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff, do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.


Best Regards,

Tino Galán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

In the city centre, less than twenty euros taxi ride form the airport, this very elegant hotel maintains its promises. Personnel is very professional and welcoming flawless. Rooms, a mixture of classical features and design atmosphere are just spotless. And potentially very romantic. exceptional silence for a centre-city solution. Corridors are way more warm than typical town hotels of this category
Breakfast levelled to the rest and fully ok. Very Good quality to price (medium-high) ratio.
I will certainly go there again, next time in Sevilla.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Colón, especially on such a unique occasion.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Kind Regards,

Tino Galán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#7 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Melia, EasyToBook, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.