We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So interesting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrio Santa Cruz

Barrio Santa Cruz
Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)
607597508
Improve this listing
Visit Barrio Santa Cruz like an insider
Special Offer
$221*
and up
2-Day Seville Tour from Granada with Royal...
Ranked #5 of 366 things to do in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing, People-watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Barrio Santa Cruz used to be the Jewish quarter. The streets are narrow and form a labyrinth. It’s easy to get lost among the jasmine-scented streets… only to discover a convent or a palace or a hotel. Many of the palaces have wrought iron gates suitable for peeping into their beautiful patios. There are many small stores and some artisan shops, as well as good art galleries.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

During our 4 night stay in Seville, we did not venture much beyond Santa Cruz (although there is much to see in Sevilla). Our first impression was during the cab ride from the train station to our hotel (Dona Maria). We were blown away when the cabbie turned from the boulevard onto the tiny streets of Santa Cruz. What an experience, including the Spanish DJ on the radio! It is labyrinthine but not so big that you would get lost. We were reminded about how many operas have been set in Seville, and there are plaques to tell you about them. Of course, lots of shops and restaurants. However, don't miss shopping on Calle Sierpes, a short distance away.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,770
    773
    91
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This wasn't as interesting as I had hoped it would be, predominately shops selling the same tourist flamenco tat as the shops near by. Interesting to wander the narrow streets but be aware of traffic and scooters around you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very predictable but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

loved the little alleys and the winding often dead end streets. Most of the shops though were full of the same tourist tat. We want better stuff than polka dot aprons and t shirts.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF bay
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful neighborhood for evening strolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Street music, rows of tapas bars, relaxed life style, dessert shops open till night and the beautiful Giralda and Alcazar right in the middle of it all! Can't find a better place to spend your time in the authentic Andalusian way!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Almost fun to get lost here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Even though there are a lot of tourists here, it's easy enough to lose yourself in narrow streets and stumble upon a churruria making fresh churros in the morning! Plenty of room for everyone in this fabulous neighborhood. A couple of things to note, if you choose to eat outside, remember that many people still smoke and outside seating is where smoking is allowed. The other is that our iPhones saved us from being completely hopelessly lost in this neighborhood where there are no 90 degree corners on any of the blocks - a lot like Venice!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Santa Cruz also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Barrio Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrio Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.