We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quaint, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla to your Saves list
Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abades 41-43, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Queens, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, quaint, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I came here on our 3rd stop of our Spanish honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful, decorated with class, staff was helpful and fluent in English and it smelled so good! Weird I know - but every time I walked in I took a deep breath. It's located on a tiny little street which when we came from the train station our cab dropped us off a block away and said we'd have to walk the rest (easy). It's so tucked away that we got lost every day we were here. Never on purpose! The streets are tiny and it's easy to be disoriented. The hotel was in a prime location and very accessible to main sights and attractions so this worked great for us.

The bathroom door was frosted glass and never really closed fully (1/2 inch open) so we gave each other privacy but if you're here with a coworker or friend this may be an issue for you. There was only a small panel of glass enclosing the shower so the floor got wet and slippery, just be careful getting out. We DID have our best nights sleep here though - the bed was incredibly comfortable. In fact... so much so that we overslept on our last night and missed our train to Madrid (not recommended - steep price)!

Our biggest complaint was space. We're from NYC so we're used to close quarters, however there was no place to put our suitcases so we had them on the floor which was really no fun and they were always in the way. We requested a luggage rack but they don't have them. But... a great night sleep far from home is the best deal. We'd come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    182
    56
    13
    9
See reviews for
51
271
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elewijt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is central located @ 100 ùeters from the Giralda. Reallu close from a lot of nice restaurants.
The rooms are quiet spacious and clean. We liked the overaal really modern look of the hotel in an old building. We think this is an really nice renovation.
We had room 313 with only view on a central patio no window to the outside, our room was therefore also reallu really quiet.
The patio in the middle is also a king of bar and teh lost of the room are directly open on the patio. so on friday and saturday espêcially really noisy.
We took a 1/2 hour Hammam that we clearly not recommand. it is only a small room in a cave style and it took too long to get it really warm and cosy. There is no chill out room for after the Hammam. we were there in december we took a swim in the outside swimming pool but this one was really really cold. Not the king of Hamman experience you expêct in such an hotel. We met guest that told us that the massage were great, but we did not tried.
We have not taken the breakfast @ the hotel because there were a lot of bars offering breakfast for 5€ or 10€.
We had a problem with our flying ticket and the girl @ the front desk did everything to help us and with a big smile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Being our first time in Seville, when the taxi dropped us off in the main street and told us the Hotel was somewhere up inside that little street and we should walk to our Hotel, I though we were big time S… I tough that, either the Hotel was not what I saw online or the taxi left us in the wrong place. More so, we started schlepping our bags uphill, and did not see the Hotel for a while!!!!

Thank G-d I was wrong. The Hotel is a jewel, and you can get with a car to the front of the Hotel if wanted or needed. We only had a carry on so it was not a big deal. The Hotel street, as many in the old town, is very narrow, which adds a lot of charm.
The Hotel has a very nice lobby; bedrooms are spacious, clean modern and well designed.
The hotel has a nice restaurant and a beautiful terrace in the upper floor that looks into the Cathedral.
The staff is very kind and helpful specially Pedro in the front desk.
Steps to Barrio Santa Cruz and close to everything I will go back to Fontecruz when back in Seville…
The only thing I can complain if any is that the lighting in the bedroom was a little bit too subtle, but that is a personal taste.
I am surprise this Hotel doesn't have a better rating???

Room Tip: Our room was looking to the back. Was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel could not be better situated for the cathedral, tower & amazing tapas bars, one of which literally yards from the hotel. Although the room was quite small (305) It was clean, with exremely comfortable beds & soft linens & a view of the cathedral which looked lovely lit up at night. A good powerful rainhead shower over the bath, shame there was no mirror near to a socket - this would have been useful for drying/straightening my hair! Roof terrace bar would have been fantastic if the hotel was busier, amazing views over Seville! Overall a trendy hotel and would stay again if returning to Seville which is a beautiful city. So glad we chose:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

looked through loads of reviews to try & book a hotel within walking distance of most things - this was our choice & a very good one. When we arrived at the airport there were lots of taxis so as long as you ask them how much beforehand there shouldnt be any problem - taxi is about 15 - 20 mins away & cost approx 22 - 25 euros. the taxi dropped us off in the main street because roads are very narrow but it was prob only 30ft to the hotel. Our room was a twin & looked out to the side to the top of the cathedral ( also someones roof terrace but it all adds to the charm). The room was a bit small but very clean & the beds were comfy - the shower was good too. The roof terrace had brilliant views over the city although as it was November not at all busy & really only open on sat night. all in all couldnt fault this hotel although they could do with a mirror next to the socket when drying your hair as you cant see what you are doing but this should be easily rectified if hotel reads all the reviews. My daughter & I had a lovely 4 day break & would recommend Seville for its beautiful buildings , friendly people & wonderful tapas.

Room Tip: we had a twin room 305 which was fine - small but adequate. Bit noisy from the street but added to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Before going to Seville I spent hours on the internet searching for a good hotel with modern and quiet rooms. It did not see easy to found. I hesitated to book the Fontecruz Hotel because I read some bad reviews about noise in the rooms. But it was no problem at all ! I really loved the hotel !
I asked for a quiet room and we really got one, our room was a few corridors away from the patio, so we only heard the doors open and closed in our own corridor, for the rest it was really quiet.
The staff was really friendly and helpfull. I needed an icepack for my footh every day and they always cooled it for me.
The rooms were big, beautifull and very clean, as also the bathroom. We had 2 windows, one with a small balcony, overlooking a small , narrow, quiet sevillian street. Very cosy. The beds were very comfortable and big.
We had no breakfast in the hotel, as you can eat in several tapas bars near the hotel for a few €'s. The location is great. One advice: try to find a good map of the city before you leave, because you will get lost in the streets anyway with the tourists maps.
I would certainly go back there and recommend this hotel to others ! We had room 215, great room.

Room Tip: 215; ask for a room away from the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When we arrived at the Fontecruz after 15 days in Morocco, it was like finding an oasis in the desert. This up to date and extremely comfortable hotel is perfectly located near ground zero in the Santa Cruz area, a few steps from the Alcazar and the Cathedral. But what chamed us the most was that it offered a calm and soothing antidote to the chaos and fumes of Marrakech. The room was generously large, as were the powder room and toilet, and we had a great view of the tile rooftops and the iconic tower of the Cathedral. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. And we thought the price was an excellent value for our stay. I would highly recommend staying here on your next trip to Seville.

Room Tip: Room 301 has a nice view of the tower and rooftops, but the best view of all is on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla

Address: Abades 41-43, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.