We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Cordoba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Cordoba
Save
You added Pension Cordoba to your Saves list
Calle Farnesio 12, 41004 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 67 Seville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Basic, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This family-owned pension is excellently located in the Jewish Quarter, less than a 5 minute walk from the Alcazar and the Cathedral. It's a great choice for people who are looking for comfortable accommodation at an affordable price in a prime location.

My group of 3 stayed in a double and single room and shared a bathroom. The toilet and tub were very clean, and the restroom was thoroughly cleaned every day. The rooms were basic. The blankets and sheets were worn but clean. The bed was comfortable.

Each room had a sink with small bar soap provided. Each room had a window or door that let in fresh air. Clean towels were provided every day. WiFi was available in the common room and on the first floor.

The family gets up to clean in the morning, so if you are wanting to sleep in til noon, you might wake up if you don't have ear plugs. They also close the pension at 3 a.m. so if you are not back before then, you will get locked out. Before arriving we did not realize this would be a problem, but after getting used to the Spanish schedule, we did find ourselves wanting to stay out at the flamenco bars past 3 a.m. When we were in Sevilla again we decided to stay at a place with 24 hour reception.

La Carboneria is a small flamenco bar located around the corner to the pension, less than a 5 minute walk. Great music and flamenco! There are several cafes right on the main street, Puerta de la Carne. Also, try the Freiduria Puerta de la Carne - excellent fried fish and tomato salad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
60
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Pension Cordoba for one week, partially during Semana Santa. We could not have asked for a better value for our money. Our room was small, but not particularly so. In fact, I have paid far more for far smaller rooms in many European cities. The room was very clean, and, while basic, served our needs perfectly. The hotel staff (a family) was very friendly. The hotel was extremely well located in a charming historical neighborhood. It was about 10 minutes to the cathedral and 2 minutes to a lovely variety of restaurants and bars. All things considered, I doubt that you can find a better value for your money in Cordoba.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location, reasonable price and impeccably clean but the rooms are very, very basic. There are no toiletries except for a bar of soap in the bathroom and you have to ask to borrow a hair dryer. Run by a nice family.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights as part of an Andalucian roadtrip in Nov 2012. Nice, cozy, clean good-sized room, friendly family-owned establishment, right on the doorstep of the old historic centre, cathedral and lovely bars / restaurants.

Potential downsides (although this did not bother us): we were on the top floor, which is the 2nd floor and there is no lift. There is no breakfast available but there are PLENTY of lovely bars and bakers (pastelerias) in the area within a 2 min walk. The hotel is on a no-through road (a passageway), but there is a safe / secure 24h underground carpark just 5 min walk away which charged around 20 euros per 24h period and they charge you to the nearest minute / hour / day. Seems pretty fair value. It's in the same Santa Cruz area, it's called Parking CANO Y CUETO. The entrance is on Avenida Menendez Pelayo. Easy peasy.

Overall: we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio room, i think it may be quieter...having said that, the hotel is on a passageway, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose Pension Cordoba due to the location and price, and I am very happy to say that we would not hesitate to return ourselves or to recommend to friends.
We had a double room with private bathroom. It is very basic, but it is comfy except for the pillows, but otherwise has everything you need. The towels were a bit thin but happily they were changed daily. There is free wifi, but not in the room, but it is easily accessed in the central foyer or small lounge. Our room was air conditioned and stayed cool due to the shutters. It was nice & relatively quiet given the proximity to bars etc on the main square. We stayed for two nights and found the owners to be friendly and polite. It was a little annoying having to rind the bell every time you want to come back in, but the security is good because of this.
They do only accept cash, but this was explained in our confirmation email so was not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a great stay here, location is fantastic being in the old Jewish quarter and just behind the Cathedral and Alcazar. Maria and family are very friendly and helpfull. The room was basic but functional and cleaned daily.

Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Bathroom for rooms without en-suite was kept very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I moved to this hotel after being disappointed with the Hotel Amadaeus next door. Anna was lovely and so helpful in helping me book the Flamenco show I wanted to see and also she suggested a wondful spot around the corner to catch a fun free show later that evening. The room was spotless. I had a quiet nights sleep and have zero complaints. Definitely no frills but I didn't care as I was spending my day sightseeing and not hanging out in my room.

Room Tip: I was in room 205 facing the courtyard. It was great for keeping the noise out but the view was noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Cordoba

Address: Calle Farnesio 12, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Seville
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pension Cordoba Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Cordoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.