We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it if the (seasonal) price is right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patio de las Cruces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Patio de las Cruces to your Saves list
Hotel Patio de las Cruces
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cruces 10, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Seville B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go for it if the (seasonal) price is right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Patio de las Cruces is brilliantly located: in the beautiful Santa Cruz neighbourhood; close to restaurants, bars, gardens, newsagents, supermarkets, even a taxi stand; 5-min walk from the Cathedral, the Alcazar and other places of interest as well as the shopping centre of the city; 20-min walk from Guadalquivir River and Triana (the neighbourhood that offers more authentic Flamenco dance than the centre); the building is beautiful, a traditional Andalucian house with interior patio and baskets of hanging flowers and the staff are friendly and helpful. On the negative side, the rooms are small and the ground floor rooms are very dark. The matresses are way past their best and the bathroom is tiny (no hairdryer but available at reception). However, the worst was the lack of central heating. There is air conditioning but no remote control for it! It´s regulated by the hotel and works by slotting in your key-card. This means that when you enter at night the room is frozen (we visited in February) and you have to leave the air on all night - or get up sweating at 5 in the morning to turn it off... It´s a real spoiler especially if you don´t like waking up with a dry throat. We paid 40euro per night, which was about right for what it offered, though the price list indicated that the same room could cost up to 120euro depending on the season.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms have more natural light and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    146
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
22
180
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roeselare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in Sevilla for 3 nights. We picked the hotel because it was close to a main road, but also close to the historical center. The hotel is located in the Judéria, the old Jewish Quarter, which is mainly a pedestrian-only zone, so no noisy scooters and cars passing by at night! The hotel manager is very friendly, although his English is not very good (just like most Spaniards). The hotel building is styled in the typical old Moorish way, with a patio at the center. The room was quite small, and the shower was not very practical, but otherwise we had no complaints (except for the fact that we had two separate beds). The hotel does not serve breakfast, but in the neighbourhood there are a lot of places where you can have breakfast like the locals do (ask for "tostada con mantequilla y marmelade" and a "caffe con lecche").

Parking tip! We went by car, but this is not recommended as Seville is very car-unfriendly (and the traffic is crazy): parking is almost impossible, and if you do find a spot, it is really expensive. Fortunately, we asked some locals where we could park, and they pointed us to a huge open-air parking outside of the city center. The price was only 0,80 euros per day! (As compared to more than 20 euros per day in the city center.) This location is appareantly unknown to even the hotel owners in Seville, because the manager did not tell us about it. So this is a big parking tip for everybody who wishes to go to Seville by car: go to Glorieta de Carlos Cano (near Parque De Los Principes) for cheap long-term parking! From there, you can take the subway to the city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

So - this place is in the middle of it all. Seville is not a driving city - or a bus city, or a train city - you are stuck on your feet if you want a great experience. If you stay here, you are in the middle of everything. By day - this place is not impressive - by night - your are in the middle of night life paradise. Everything comes alive around 7pm. It has a great staff. It is secure (although it may not seem so at first). The rooms are small, the beds are old, the blankets are rough - BUT - again - it is in the middle of everything and a clean and secure place. Good budget place for sure.

Location - 5
Room - 2

We give it a 3.5

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

From the minute you walk up the small cobble street into a lovely little square you know you've found a little treasure, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are smallish, but has everything you need. It's basic but done well!!! It's so quant, you really are in the middle of the old Seville, it's lovely. They clean the rooms daily, and your located right in the heart of some fantastic restaurants and bars, I would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I arrived here in the midst of an extended trip to Spain, and although I have found almost the whole country friendly and accommodating, that was not the case here. Usually in a two star hotel something minor is wrong, but I can live with it; in this case, many minor problems added up to an unpleasant stay. This hotel apparently was an actual outdoor patio at some point, and the door to each room leads to this central patio area. The roof is positioned independently above the central patio, rather than attaching to/extending all the way to the edges of the outer walls. Because of this gap, I could not unlock the door to my room without walking up slippery steps and getting rained on. The room was extremely small- there was nowhere to move once I got my suitcase up the steps outside my door and into the room. There was no light bulb in the reading light. The television, or maybe it was the remote, did not work. The wifi didn’t work either, and “shrug, sometimes it doesn’t work, use our one desktop computer for everyone” isn’t good enough if you’ve advertised wifi. The sheets were clean, but they were so thin I poked a hole in them with my finger by accident. Two large cleaning carts were left in the middle of the hallway for more than 24 hours. A bright spot was that there was an elevator, but overall I was happy when my stay here was over.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Advisable to take a cab from train station (around 9€). Good location, minutes from alcazar, cathedral etc by foot. Plenty of food choices nearby.

Room- we had the room on the 2nd floor away from the street. Hence, not as noisy and shower was good with hot water. Lift is available as well. Wifi worked well. Good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was the worst hotel out of 6 I stayed in during a 10-day trip. Which doesn't mean it was bad, but in a similar price range others were somehow better. My room was tiny, which is fine for a one night sleep, no TV, which is fine again, not that it was needed. A/C worked well, which is a plus. I was looking for bath towels for ages only to find them on a high shelf above the toilet, but then I regretted finding them as after wiping myself was coverd in fluff like a spring chicken. But the worst were ants, which got into everything, including sealed goodies from Italy ((((
No other complaints, good sleepover.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Patio de las Cruces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio de las Cruces

Address: Cruces 10, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Patio de las Cruces 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Patio de las Cruces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patio de las Cruces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.