We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Palace converted into a 5-star Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio de Villapanes to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming Palace converted into a 5-star Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We got to stay in this luxurious hotel for a great price (135 eur per night, off-peak, advanced payment). My husband had the best sleep here out of all the hotels we stayed in across Europe because of their heavenly beds (best to ask for the rooms without the skylight though, you might wake up earlier than you'd want to), and appreciated that there were English channels he could watch while resting. Some of the perks include a gym, a sauna, free drinks in the minibar, and Bulgari toiletries.

The only drawback was the location of the hotel - there didn't seem to be any good restaurants nearby and it was a bit far from the sights. You could easily get lost in the small, narrow roads even with a map, whether on your way out or back home. Just stick to the main roads though and you'll be just fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    210
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
131
681
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

The hotel is on the outer boundary of the Santa Cruz historical district -- a bit of a walk, and not in the heart of the tourist district -- but a pleasant walk, and a quiet alternative to tourist-clogged streets. The setting is gorgeous, with courtyards, indoor lounging areas, even a small library -- which makes the hotel a destination in its own right. Service was wonderful, and the dining room and room service were not only delicious, but reasonably priced. My only complaint is about the absence of a desk in our room for those of us who had to do a little work while on holiday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Difficult hotel to find without GPS - Seville's streets have a one way system - hotel recommended to find a taxi which we could follow which saved a lot of time. Beautiful hotel with very welcoming, attentive staff. We were up-graded which is always nice and as they noticed it was my birthday, a bottle of bubbly and fresh fruit were sent to our suite. Loved the room, though a bit dark - very comfortable beds and lovely big bath. There was however a very bad smell when you opened the shower cubicle door. We should have told the staff but everyone was so nice and we were so enjoying our one night in Seville, I'm afraid that everything else made us forget about it. We didn't find it a problem walking around to see various sights, and would recommend Bar Europa if you can find it in your wanderings, as the tapas was great, and seemed to be one of the only places we could find that sold Gloriosa Rioja wine. We did eat in the hotel restaurant, and while the portions are on the small side, to be honest, we had eaten so much tapas that it was lovely not to be faced with a mountain of tasteless food that is served in some countries. Would we return to the hotel, plumbing problems included? Yes we would - as hopefully by that time that problem, in such an old building which has been beautifully restored, would be rectified.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Ill. USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I would unequivocally recommend this hotel. The building is permeated with the aristocratic charm of Seville. The renovation of this beautiful historic building has been done to the highest standards of modern design and comfort. The staff was extraordinarily helpful and professional. This would be one of the very top hotels in any city in the world. My stay there was top-rate in every way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We made the reservation at the suggestion of the TripAdvisor.com readers. It was a good choice. The building is beautiful. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard, reading, drinking and eating. The rooms are nicely appointed. Almost all lighting is spot lighting. Plenty of light where you need it, but if you want a “bright” room, this is not your hotel. We went to the restaurant without a reservation but had to wait 10-15 minutes for someone to show up so we could eat. I asked the hotel staff to find us a quiet restaurant. The hotel staff was very helpful in making a reservation at a local restaurant where we ate in a room for just two people (us).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

As soon as I arrived the staff came out to greet me. They welcomed me as if I were family. Since I was travelling alone, they went out of their way to insure my safety and to recommend restaurants and activities that they thought I would enjoy.
The rooms were modern and comfortable. Nice touch that beverages in the mini bar were included. I enjoyed being able to unwind on the patio after a day of touring. There is free internet access and just lots of comfort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Fantastic renovation work in this hotel, we stayed in the tower room, which was an experience in itself with huge ceiling and 4 large windows inundating the room with daylight, as well as a huge terrace with views over the roofs of Sevilla.
All the staff was efficient and smiling whenever we were asking for something, from reception, porters to breakfast room staff.
Breakfast choice was limited but of high quality on the buffet, and hot items are available on order .
The manager was there when we had a minor problem with housekeeping and it was immediately solved, she was also there to greet us at checkout, very efficient manager .
We had 2 dream days and will certainly return, we arevery curious to see the next Alma openings.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlmaSevilla-Hotel Palacio de Villapanés is located by the historic neighbourhood of Santa Cruz, and a short walk from the bustling city centre. It is a jewel that shines brilliantly, taking us back to the Mudejar period, uniquely important to the city’s history. It was originally built in the early years of the 18th century by Don Manuel López Pintado, the first Marquis of Torreblanca del Aljarafe. It has recently been refurbished, and today art, design and culture, as well as a decor tending towards the minimalist, enable guests to discover and enjoy a different Seville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.