We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of Seville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio de Villapanes to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem of Seville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The hotel was such a pleasure to stay at, and so beautiful! The spa and the inner courtyard made you never want to leave the place. The room was comfortable and conveniently appointed and the bathroom space just wonderful. The cosmetics were of the best brand and the towels and linens superb.
Service is exceptional, friendly staff and timely response on any request.
Additionally, it is so conveniently located – within walking distance from the center and the cathedral but not in the middle of all tourist hustle and bustle. Will definitely recommend it to friends and will stay there again if in Seville.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    210
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
131
681
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Stayed here for a few days whilst in Seville. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food & room service was good. The rooms were absolutely top notch (wonderful shower, upscale TV etc). It's a beautiful building. No complaints at all. It's a bit of a walk (10-15 minutes) to the tourist centre but we enjoyed the mazey streets. Also, it's quite near to the train station for day trips elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in October at Palacio de Villapanes after getting married in Tarifa (Cadiz). They were very friendly and helpful explaining us how to get there with our car. The check-in was done smoothly and the guy taking care of the cars spent quite an amount of time explaining us how to get to the next public parking or even where to try to park the car at the street. The lobby of the hotel couldn't be more beautiful (typical andalusian inner garden) with some pieces of famous furniture like some armchairs designed by Patricia Urquiola.
Once we got to our room we were amazed. The room was big, decorated with much taste, and had a very big bathroom (toilet separated). We really enjoyed taking a shower in the huge cabin (with hydromassage).
All items in the mini bar were for free and they really surprised us when they brought to our room a bottle of Cava (spanish "Champaign") and 2 bowls of fresh fruit. This was a hospitality of the hotel to our wedding!!!
The beds were very good, we had every night a very good sleep.
The hotel is good located however you'll need to walk 10-15 minutes to the main touristic attractions. We didn't care about this issue since it was a very nice walk through the center of Seville and there were plenty of bars nearby.
I definitely recommend this hotel (if you can afford the price) since price/quality is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had two rooms -- grandparents with my 8YO and us with my 10YO. The hotel took care to put us in the two secluded (and wonderful) rooms just off the lobby. The staff was very friendly and helpful both with our stay at the hotel as well as with suggestions on what to do and where to go. While the location might not be as good as Alphonso VIII, its an easy walk to all popular destinations. We would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

The AlmaSevilla was a private home, now turned into a hotel with 40 rooms. We entered off of a nondescript street into a charming center courtyard and were greeted by hotel staff eager to please, offering iced tea or cold water. The room was large by European standards, with a quite large bathroom. Great shower and toiletries. The staff was available 24 hours a day to answer questions, make reservations and provide directions. Remember to bring a swim suit to use the sauna and steam room on the lower level - quite relaxing after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Arrived feeling slightly frazzled having driven up from Malaga following a 4.00 a.m. start!
The direction of the traffic in the road had been altered the day before our arrival so we eventually parked the car in the nearest car park and walked! The Reception staff were brilliant. All worries and concerns were immediately removed and our stay in Seville began in style and relaxation. A fabulous hotel. It did seem to us slightly out of the centre but may be that was because we continually lost our way with the map!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Beautifully restored palace with incredibly professional and helpful staff! I never write hotel reviews but our stay in this hotel exceeded any expectations! Best hotel in Seville and by far the best service we have experienced in Spain.
The architecture is amasing, very tastefully and elegantly decorated, the different patios are a delight to seat in and relax. Our room had a 6m high ceiling and has kept all the charm and luxury of the palace. Our stay there was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlmaSevilla-Hotel Palacio de Villapanés is located by the historic neighbourhood of Santa Cruz, and a short walk from the bustling city centre. It is a jewel that shines brilliantly, taking us back to the Mudejar period, uniquely important to the city’s history. It was originally built in the early years of the 18th century by Don Manuel López Pintado, the first Marquis of Torreblanca del Aljarafe. It has recently been refurbished, and today art, design and culture, as well as a decor tending towards the minimalist, enable guests to discover and enjoy a different Seville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.