We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good (considering the price paid)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio de Villapanes to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good (considering the price paid)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Obviously, an expensive hotel, but generally worth it; note the following pros and cons. Despite the cons, would I stay again: Yes.

Pros:
(1) Great location; in walking distance to most old town sites.

(2) Beautiful building and stunning rooms/bathrooms (unique combination of old and new).

(3) Attentive, but not over the top, staff.

(4) Spotless and great beds and furnishings.

(5) Fabulous rooftop deck, although I was told it was closing when I arrived (wasn't even 7pm yet).

Cons:
(1) Noise issue, particularly in room on the lower floors that surround courtyard, including #41 and the one above it.

(2) Hard wood floors in unit above my room; could hear the lady come back every night at 2am--she also decided it was a good time to move furniture.

(3) Expensive breakfast--not worth 25 euros, particularly given the indifferent attitude of one breakfast room attendants (a female).

(4) In-room safe not secured to shelf or wall; someone could just remove it.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise, I would advise not choosing room 41 and the one above it. The hotel h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    210
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
131
682
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is the perfect combination of old and new. It's an old building with a lot of charm that's visible in the open air courtyard you encounter as you walk in the front doors. But the room is modern and luxurious. The bed was by far the best we had during our 2.5 weeks in Spain (we stayed at 6 different hotels), and the furnishings, bathroom and shower fixtures, and lighting were all very updated. The location of the hotel is slightly further away from the heart of the touring area than many other hotels, but it's still within walking distance. I found that even though it took a little while longer to walk back to the hotel at night (15 minutes or so), it ended up being well worth it. This hotel is in a mainly residential area, so it's nice and quiet at night. The perfect combo.

But in my opinion, everything I just mentioned above would warrant 4 of 5. So why is this a 5-rating? The service that we encountered from the front desk was fantastic and really made us feel taken care of. There were a few instances of them going above and beyond - the biggest example of this was that when the tapas tour they partner with was booked, they spent an hour looking up other tours and calling them until they found us a few options that were available that night. They got all the rate info and then let us decide what we wanted to do, then helped us set it all up. They did all this after we told them at 5pm we wanted to take a tour that night. Instead of just saying they need more notice so that they'd be able to book with their "partnered" tour guide, they took the time to make sure that we got what we were asking for. This type of service really made the difference for us, and made this, in my opinion, the best hotel we stayed at during our entire trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we stayed there for three nights (two adults and three children age 6, 8 and 10). We had two rooms : one room with a king size bed at the third floor in the corner ( a bit noisy but close to the other room) and one suite with a king size bed and a little bed. the suite's bathroom was awesome, but the room's bath was damaged. the spa is very beautiful but not very useful (nothing to hang your towel !). all the staff was really kind. breakfast is a bit expensive (20 euros and 10 for children). the food quality is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for three nights with a group of friends. We were in a room on the ground floor which was quite dark (not that we minded) but no doubt cool in summer. The bathroom was excellent, the bed very comfortable and everything very tidy. The building is very old and a wonderful place to explore with roof top balconies to look around the city roof tops.
My only very slight criticisms are the extra cost of breakfast €20 - we only made that mistake once - piped music ( a personal hate) and fitting the room key into the "key-hole" inside the room to switch on the light; quite interesting with six steps down to the floor of the room.
But overall, a lovely place to stay with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff and well worth previous good reviews

Room Tip: In winter rooms on the first or second floor have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel within walking distance of centre. All the staff were fantastic and service was excellent. We stayed for a week and will certainly stay again next time when we visit Seville. Make sure your deal includes breakfast which is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a very beautiful space--tastefully and historically remodeled. Rather jaw-dropping as you enter, actually. Check-in was friendly and staff very helpful and upbeat. Our standard room's features were quite lovely and upscale. We just had an off experience at this hotel. First, sadly, the not very private and awkward location of our room (the only room on the ground floor that sits right on the common patio area), and its long configuration left a lot to be desired. But, we were only there for one night, so we let that go. We went out for the afternoon, (it is a bit off the historical center, so in light of our short stay I probably wish we had stuck to original res. at Casa 1800) and came back exhausted hoping to relax in the lovely interior patio--unfortunately, every last seat was taken, and folks were not moving, so we had nowhere to unwind while enjoy the hotel's amenities. Later, coming back to our room after dinner, we found our air conditioning was not working. We reported this to the front desk and someone came over right away. But, only to tell us that 'it's probably broken and there's nothing we can do until tomorrow." Not a good answer on a humid, very hot evening. A floor fan was brought (only because I asked for it) and we made it through the hot night, albeit restlessly in the oveall heat of the room. The next day at checkout, no mention was made of this failure by the staff. For the price (over $300 for this standard room), a non-working AC system is a real bummer and we feel the hotel should have been very apologetic; instead it was not acknowledged at all. The customer service shown to us about this at checkout was quite lacking for a hotel of this caliber.

So, overall, for us, just not the greatest experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel and the staff are amazing. We have stayed in Spain many times and without a doubt the staff here are the friendliest and most welcoming we have come across. From the reception staff, concierge, pool staff... Everyone. We spent the last 2 nights of our honeymoon here and would love to come again.
The room we had was spacious and clean although had a slight musty smell.
The beds were amazing with delightful soft linen. We enjoyed the courtyard area for drinks, the sun terrace and felt very relaxed throughout our stay. We had an evening flight and we asked to leave our bags for the day. We were told we could use the facilities, the spa, shower as we wanted after check out... 'This is your home in Seville' we were told... now how lovely is that?! Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlmaSevilla-Hotel Palacio de Villapanés is located by the historic neighbourhood of Santa Cruz, and a short walk from the bustling city centre. It is a jewel that shines brilliantly, taking us back to the Mudejar period, uniquely important to the city’s history. It was originally built in the early years of the 18th century by Don Manuel López Pintado, the first Marquis of Torreblanca del Aljarafe. It has recently been refurbished, and today art, design and culture, as well as a decor tending towards the minimalist, enable guests to discover and enjoy a different Seville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.