We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio de Villapanes to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dyer, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

A beautiful hotel with a superb staff. From the super clean room to the comfortable bed, we couldn't have been happier. Loved sitting in the courtyard in the evening having a cocktail before going out to dinner. I can't wait to come back here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    210
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
131
681
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stumbled upon this hotel by chance while looking for a hotel in Seville. We stayed here during our family holiday in September 2011. From the time we walked in, the experience was simply fantastic. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and warm. They were proactive and took initiatives to go out of their way to ensure one had a comfortable stay. The hotel was an old palace conversion with modern spacious bedrooms and retained the old charm of a palace. The location was 10 mins walk from the city center and yet peaceful and quiet. All amenities were of high quality and very generous in providing complementary services. It is one of my favourite property and would love to stay at Alma Seville again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in Alma hotel in August 2011.

It's located on the very quiet street, but close to the historical center.
The room was very clean, but it didn't have the best location. In fact, we had just two corner walls behind the window. There are just few rooms with not the nicest view in the hotel, as almost all of them are overlooking the inner garden- which is very nice. In august the hotel's occupancy wasn't very high, that's why I didn't appreciate the fact of giving us this room in the very corner on the second floor, when more than a half of the hotel was empty and there was a choice of the room with a view.
Nevertheles, the hotel offers a great sleep quality- the beds are very-very comfortable, you just fall into heaven...
Staff is responsive and helpful.

There is one huge minus in the hotel- Food and Beverage outlets.
Breakfast buffet is located in the basement(!), although they could have set it up in the courtyard, at least you don't feel suffocated like in the prison camera. The selection is not great and lack of any freshly cooked food. If you want to have eggs, you have to order them separately (Extra Charge!) and to wait another 20 to 30 minutes...
You have another option- not to go down to the basement buffet, but to inhale a fresh air , sit in the inner garden to watch a beautiful morning light and order a cup of cappuccino and croissants. Although- watch out- there's only one(!) person assigned to serve at the breakfast time and this person is running between basement and the court yard. So, it will take more than half an hour to get your coffee... Nevertheless, we prefered the last option.

I do not recommend dining in the hotel. We had dinner once and so-called restaurant looked very sad- we were the only ones came up to trying this place. The dishwasher, I assume, didn't work that night, as I touched the outer part of my plate and it was all dirty, like the army used this item before me and noone cared to clean it after...

Overall, Alma is a nice place to stay; takeing into consideration my comments above- eat outside- Seville is offering a lot of choices!

Room Tip: There are just very few rooms with bad view, so insist at the reception area on having the room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Very nice hotel and friendly staff.
There is a very small swimming pool on the roof.
Breakfast is expensive but very good and very big.
Location is ok, but not so close from the cathedrale, but walking in the small street of the odl town is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were in Seville for my Birthday and this hotel was perfect in everyway. The hospitality and information from the staff were excellent starting with a drink offered at reception. We loved the roof top sun deck and plunge pool as well as the Hamam and fitness center. Breakfast was very enjoyable and on par with specialty hotels of this type. Drinks were available in the library and on a terrace in the evening as well.

The location in Seville is a major highlight. All sites and restaurants we wanted to visit were easily accessed with the staff's direction. The rooms here are the central highlight. They are beautifully appointed. The stocked complementary minibar, oppulent bathroom with separate soaking tub and enormous shower and view over a courtyard along with one of the most comfortable beds provided us with accommodations that were among the highlights in terms of hotels during a couple weeks in Spain.

It's easy to recommend this hotel and join other travelers who rate is as we do as a top favorite in Spain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Good value for money. Excellent service. Wonderful rooms. Highly recommended. Very central and has car parking for 30 euros a day!.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I travel a lot and really expected more from Alma Sevilla. Staff were amazing and helped us whenever we asked them, But some things have to change if they want to be named as a 5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: last level rooms don´t have windows, but all of them are modern, impecable, like a hotel design
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlmaSevilla-Hotel Palacio de Villapanés is located by the historic neighbourhood of Santa Cruz, and a short walk from the bustling city centre. It is a jewel that shines brilliantly, taking us back to the Mudejar period, uniquely important to the city’s history. It was originally built in the early years of the 18th century by Don Manuel López Pintado, the first Marquis of Torreblanca del Aljarafe. It has recently been refurbished, and today art, design and culture, as well as a decor tending towards the minimalist, enable guests to discover and enjoy a different Seville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.