We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious although expensive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Aljibe

Al Aljibe
Alameda de Hercules 76, 41002 Seville, Spain
954 900 591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,609 Restaurants in Seville
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Genève
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious although expensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious dinner in the romantic garden. It's probably one of the best restaurants in Sevilla but it's quite expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    122
    29
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tocane Saint-Apre, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“We found the Al-Aljibe very pleasant but quite pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant was not too easy to find, even by taxi, and there is a fearsome one-way system. I think the long, oval piazza (now full of restaurants) may have been where chariot races used to take place. The Al-Aljibe has a charming forecourt but this was full, so we were sent up to the roof. Unfortunately there is no lift – a bit challenging for my husband – and then the tables overlooking the square were booked, so we might as well have stayed downstairs and inside. We had booked, but perhaps not soon enough. Not many of the tables on the roof were occupied, the atmosphere was calm and the service friendly. I tried the foie gras to see how it differed from ours in the Périgord: it was over-generous but not of such good quality. R enjoyed the cod fried in breadcrumbs followed by roast tenderloin of beef. My main was a very tasty traditional roast pork described as a “secret cut”. Our pud and wine were OK but unmemorable. If we went again, we would go for smaller portions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“For Tapas or for Platos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went a little early (8.30pm) so the crowd was mostly touristy - locals arrive from 10pm. Downstairs is a courtyard and indoor area primarily for tapas and there are seats outside the courtyard beside the (quiet) road. The rooftop is almost exclusively for bookings and is only meals, not tapas. There are only 8 tables so quite pleasant. Either option is good value and the food was much better than we were expecting. It has a well thought out and varied menu compared to many restaurants in Seville. We loved the solomillo and the risotto.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“excellent tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

enjoyed lunch here, amazing food, best of my trip. I loved the courtyard where you could order tapas (some places you can't order tapas outside). Nice service. Would definitely have returned if I had more time in Seville.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine Food, Romantic Rooftop, Central Location - Perfect !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to Al-Jibe in October 2013. Originally we wanted to eat at Contenedor but it was full, so the waitress suggested we tried Al Ajibe as she knew a friend who worked there. It was totally worth it.

Location:
In the centre of Alameda de Hercules. It is one hot spot of Seville at night. There are numerous places to eat and drink - all very different in styles. Al Jibe is probably one of the most sophisticated. It consists of an outdoor terrace, an inside restaurant on two levels and an "exclusive" rooftop with no more than 8 tables. Tables are large even for a couple which is perfect as you often share your plates. Decoration is a mix of parisian terrace and andalus art. It is very refreshing especially after a day of visit.

Food:
Food was delicious. They serve either tapas or raciones (dishes). Be careful as tapas are only served on the terrace. The rooftop only serve dishes/raciones. That said, we had 3 dishes that we shared : grilled vegetables, tuna japanese style and traditional spanish merluza. Beer was fresh and the white wine was fruity and cold as required. Prices are average for a spanish restaurant but very moderate compared to a traditional French brasserie - espeically with fish on the menu.

Service
This is the only thing that could be improved. Service was fair but not very friendly

A very good address to discover

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Aljibe also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Al Aljibe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Aljibe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.