We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Mediocre staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Aljibe

Al Aljibe
Alameda de Hercules 76, 41002 Seville, Spain
954 900 591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,700 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lille, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Food - Mediocre staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went there with my wife on an evening : the Tapas are really good (try the Rucola Risotto or the Codfish Black Tempura, really delicious), the prices are a little bit high compared to the other places around.
On the other hand, the staff is very bad! The guy in charge of us was not acting as if he cared, he charged us too many thing, didn't smile or helped us... Very poor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    144
    33
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fusion - contemporary - tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

So glad to have experienced great innovative tapas at this place. There are so many traditional tapas places in Seville and many are of pretty low quality. At Al Aljibe though you get stunningly innovative tapas - yes at higher prices - but still very reasonable considering the quality.
Cod in black tempura was incredibly succulent and was a sizeable chunk for a tapa. Likewise a medallion of oxtail (rabo de toro) over a confit potato was meltingly delicious and intensely flavourful. Presentation was immaculate. Dining with a pescatarian forced me to minimise my meat choices, but I could happily have stuck with a purely pescatarian/vegetarian mix. A ceviche of salmon and passionfruit was typical of the innovative tapas here. A beetroot salmorejo with a flourish of squid ink oil, and garnished with a langoustine continued the theme.
My main regret is that I discovered this place on the second evening of a three night stay in Seville, and did not go back there on the third night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrijig, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple and Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A selection of glorious Tapas. Innovative beautifully priced (Australian exchange = real value). 5 glasses of wine, 1 beer, 5 Tapas dishes (4 seafood and a house salad) 36 Euro. Value plus. 2 squid dishes, 1 sardine and one raw tuna with a garlic sauce (the highlight). We will come back for dinner on our last evening in Seville. Sat in the courtyard, will pick upstairs for dinner (probably more intimate). Smiling staff, smiling customers and we stay 2 doors up, just perfect. I love Spain , the food and the people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding fusion in Seville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

this little gem has delicious food, wonderful combinations of flavour, unpretenious, intimate street tables, interior courtyard, roof top dining, and interior tables.
the presentation has eye appeal and is matched with a sophistcated blend of flavours seasoning and more.
Service is a little scattered, but if you are assertive, you will be taken care of.
our short trip to Seville was only four days but this by far was the culinary treat of our visit, we returned for our last evening too enjoy a different selection of beautifully prepared and executed cusine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the culinary gems of Sevilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My partner and I tried this restaurant following the favourable reviews we saw on this site. It was my first visit to Seville and having previously exhausted all possible tapa combinations I longed for 'something more' and I am pleased to say this was it! We opted to go upstairs after being advised that only tapas was served downstairs and I am pleased we did. The terrace upstairs was beautiful, overlooked parts of the city and truly romantic. The waiter was attentive and the food, a truly wonderful gastronomic experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Aljibe also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Al Aljibe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Aljibe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.