We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of contenedor

contenedor
C/San Luis 50, 41003 Seville, Spain
+34 954 91 63 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,703 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Fusion, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: ConTenedor is a slow food restaurant , who cares the origin of their products, many of which come from organic farming. Many of our dishes are km0 , ie , its ingredients come from local producers and have been produced sustainably with the environment. Our menu changes every day almost entirely , keeping the concept fresh cuisine made ​​with fresh produce . Here you can find everything from salads made ​​with vegetables from the garden, until fish flakes a day , to homemade pasta, meat and Iberian or our popular crispy rice ... They enjoy !!
CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ate at Con Tenador last night, our last in Seville. Based on the Trip-advisor ratings, we expected a good meal. We didn't expect a superb meal, which is what each of us got.

Except for a few standards, the menu changes every night. So what we ordered (I had salmon tartare with some kind of delicious soup; my wife had sea bream with some kind of delicious sauce) may not be available when you visit. But the meals were each distinctive, scrumptious and gorgeously presented.

A shared salad, two entrees, two glasses of wine, and two bottles of water cost us 56 euros. Extremely fairly priced for such a memorable meal!

A homey, festive, informal atmosphere rounds out the experience. You should run, not walk to Con Tenador!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    126
    30
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good local wine, fresh food and familiar service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm a local a usually hang out with friends and visitor in this restaurant if I don't want to be dissapointed.

If you like wine, I strongly suggest you to ask for their wine menu and give it a check. It's been ellaborated by a french person that is part of the staff. You can find interesting local Andalusian red and white wines on it.

They also serve good relatively bread (probably you already noticed that the quality of bread is not outstanding in this area, it is easy to find horrible pre-cooked bread everywhere).

Regarding food, it looks fresh and excellent. I like the fact that you can watch the chef in action. The service is good and speak English more or less fluently depending on the staff. The ambience is familiar, I particularly don't like extremely too formal restaurants.

It is a really good idea to reserve in advance since it's quite busy, a couple of hour has been more than sufficient in my case.

Price is relatively high for most of locals to go eat here every week, probably fine to make it once a month, but if you are a EU visitor from northern european countries, it will look definitely affordable to you.

They are is a table that is very close to the kitchen, tell them not to be placed there if you don't like noisy ambience. Still, if you like poking around the chef activity, then it's probably a good table for you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Exquisite eating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We found this restaurant by coincidence when strolling through the barrio on New Year's day. We actually just wanted to have a coffee but the staff was so friendly, they translated the whole menu for us and it sounded so tempting that we couldn't resist having lunch here. We sat right at the window with a view of the facade of the church of St. Luis and shared arroz con setas y pato - the house dish which already was a great start, crispy, tender duck with a sweetish soy and mushroom sauce, absolutely delicious. Then we had a merluza de pintxo with clams and salsa verde - the delicate taste of the fish blended in perfectly with the garlicky green sauce (we could hardly resist licking the plate!). And for desert, we had a chocolate fondant with walnut ice cream, delicious. To round it all off, we had an oloroso sherry with a beautiful aftertaste of walnuts. The restaurant is also an art place, exhibiting artworks of local artists and offering music performances on some evenings. It has a bohemian feel to it with colourful decor and is really something unusual - at least we didn't find any comparable place in Sevila during our stay. And regarding the food - absolutely exquisite art of cooking. We would go back again any time and can recommend it without hesitation for any occasion to couples, families and groups alike.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great staff, amazing food. The staff helped us select a great bottle of wine to match our menu orders.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, Friendly & Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The contenedor was recommended to us by a couple of locals who ate there regularly. We couldn't have been more impressed with the service, atmosphere and food. The staff were great. We had a great time and it was easily our best food experience whilst in the city. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed contenedor also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to contenedor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage contenedor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.