We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not coming back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Azotea

La Azotea
Calle Jesus del Gran Poder, 31, 41002 Seville, Spain
01134955116748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,703 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not coming back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

too much sauce to taste the meat, too muche tanin to taste the wine (bootle opened since too long, in my opinion..), too slow for the size of the place.
it's was not a pleasing moment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    215
    52
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Seville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's a busy busy restaurant filled predominantly with locals. A sure sign of a little gem and so it turned out to be. Yeah, you'll have to wait at the bar for an hour or so but, unless you're in a rush, this is what makes this place great. Grab a seat (if lucky) or simply stand at the bar, have a chat with the great husband and wife owners and sample a few great wines and tapas dishes while you wait for your table. Upon being seated at our table the service was polite and knowledgeable throughout. Food was absolutely wonderful ensuring that we just had to head back the following night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best tapas in Seville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went to the branch at Calle Zaragoza. Probably the best tapas in town, excellent in taste and presentation, and absolute vale for money. Very helpful and cheerful staff who also helped us pick an excellent bottle of white wine. Must try the salmon tartar and the foie gras. The chocolate soufflé is worth absolutely dying for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superlatives!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am not sure what I can say about this wonderful restaurant that will do it justice. We came in at around 10 pm (so late for us Americans!) after an amazing experience of Flamenco at the Casa de la Memoria Cultural Experience (HIGHLY recommended) and sat at the bar. The other customers were mostly locals. Despite speaking pretty decent Spanish, menu translations are difficult for us and we spent several minutes trying to figure things out. The owner saw us struggling and came to our rescue. He was so kind and helpful and fun to chat with! You could tell the staff genuinely cared about the happiness of the customers. He walked us through the menu and gave us recommendations- and WOW. That was some tasty food. I think my favorite was the Coquinas- baby artichokes and clams in a butter, garlic, white wine sauce. My husband's favorite was the squid and squid ink dish with iberico ham. Everything was incredible. We ended up trying a lot of their wines by the glass- all amazing. Do get dessert! I loved this restaurant because of the quality of the entire experience. When we were there, we felt like family, like locals. What an amazing night. One last note- the prices were VERY reasonable. Our meal was 50 euro and we felt like we ate (and drank) like kings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loved this place....great tapas, friendly service that cares and food to match - 5 stars from me. Try the brioche ice cream sandwich, it looked great, but I had already eaten one dessert so had to give it a miss.......next time!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Azotea also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to La Azotea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Azotea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.