We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good impression.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Taberna la Sal

Restaurante Taberna la Sal
C/ Doncellas, 8 | Santa Cruz, Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)
954535846
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Taberna la Sal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 1,703 Restaurants in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Casco Antiguo
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good impression.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were looking for a lunch, avoiding the touristic scene around the Cathedral and found Taberna La Sal. The restaurant was reasonable full of Spanish guests and we got a warm welcome. Nice restaurant.
We only took a small beefburger with frites, a wine and a coffee and the quality was perfect.
There was nothing wrong. We think it is a good restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    53
    13
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Check your bill!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have lived in neighbourhood for years and thought it would be nice to try it as I walk past all the time and it looks attractive. Also the street - Doncellas: the Maidens - is pleasant. The food is quite good - not very special - and most of the things we asked for were not actually available. The service was adequate, but the sting, literally, came with the bill. 17.50 euros for one small portion of vegetable risotto strikes me as excessive. They claimed we had had two portions of a more expensive dish, which was not the case. They also tried to charge for drinks we had not had. Not a word of apology, or even an attempt at "sorting out". A shrug and "Pay!" The owner hostile and the waiter surly. Very un-Sevillian - in fact in 25 years I have never met this sort of problem eating out here. This was not a language problem, by the way. My Spanish is fluent and I was with a local. Obviously not somewhere I would dream of going again, but it is a pity: it could have been a pleasant local option since we often dine out with friends. If you really want to eat there, my advice would be check that you are actually getting what you ordered and don't just hand over your credit card to pay without taking a good look at the bill. But remember there are any number of other places (I don't mean tourist traps) with better food and where you won't risk this sort of hassle.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spotted this place down an alleyway when we first arrived and said 'that looks lovely' - I'm glad we made sure to go back one evening as the food was amazing and the service charming. The black pudding empanadas were one of the best things I have ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, stumbled upon....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stumbled upon la Sal taberna for lunch one day after struggling among the many tourist traps in the area around the Cathedral for lunch. The specialize in tuna dishes which my daughter loves so we decided to try it. We sat outside in the narrow winding street which has a lovely character and had a delicious lunch of crabmeat lasagna, tuna tartar and a spanish omelet with some wine. It was a wonderful surprise and very high quality after some very medicre meals in the area. We would absolutely go back there again for tapas or to try a dinner meal. Contrary to one of the other reviewers it was moderately to fairly priced and certainly a better deal that the tourist traps surrounding it. It is a lovely family owned restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best fish in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Many of the negative reviews so far come from people who were looking for a tapas bar, but this isn’t a tapas bar which are easy enough to find in Seville if that is what you want. La Sal is instead a restaurant for people who are looking for good fish. We originally planned to eat at Engaña Oriza, but, it turned out they were closed that one day in the year. The owner answered the phone and recommended La Sal to us. My wife comes from a family of Spanish gastronomers and so spoke with the owner for a long time after our meal, mostly about different types of fish and the cuts of fish and where to get the best fish. The owner explained that her family had a popular restaurant in Cadiz before starting this one in Seville, so the produce still comes mostly from Cadiz. She also worked in a restaurant in Madrid where she learned techniques for Japanese cooking and started experimenting with combining Spanish and Japanese cuisine, but the Japanese influence is subtle. The food can be salty (in keeping with the tastes of authentic southern Spanish food), but if that is not to your taste you can ask for less. There is an excellent risotto made with cardillo (thistles!) for vegetarians, and a good wine selection. But mostly this is the place to go for fresh, quality fish cooked by a chef who knows fish. While others have complained about the service, our service was prompt and the prices were reasonable. But the main attraction isn’t service, price or location; it’s the fish. This is a restaurant that shows just how good Spanish fish can be.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Taberna la Sal also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Restaurante Taberna la Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Taberna la Sal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.