We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tapas in seville.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Santa Cruz

Bodega Santa Cruz
Calle Rodrigo Caro, 1, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)
+34 954 211 694
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,609 Restaurants in Seville
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Casco Antiguo
dubai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best tapas in seville.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is for ever crowded and no secret why!!

Best tapas n atmosphere in seville ! Try the tuna, the fried calamari , the anchovies ....!!

P.s . Order at the bar .. Dont bother about getting a table ... Enjoy the atmosphere

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    289
    49
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fast and friendly service, tasty food and cheap - the trifecta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This tapas bar isn't the place to go if you are timid or if you are looking for relaxed or fine dining. But if you want to try an energetic tapas bar, this is one of the places to try.

The menu is to the right of the bar so select 2 or so per person then go for it. I keep going back there to try the different things on the menu. I found the serving generous so I would recommend starting with 2 plates and order more if you need - you won't have to wait long.

The service crew and the chefs out the back are fast and it's fun just to watch them juggle all the orders and never make a mistake in your order or the bill.

The patatas con tomato y huevos was delicious and filling for 2 euros. The berenjenas y miel sounds strange but it comes out lightly battered and it somehow works.

If you have a bad experience, pls try again or ask someone standing next to you to help.

A lot of locals come here which is always a good indication.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicilia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best place for "tapeo" I tried in Sevilla!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Absolutely unmissable, the only place I went back twice... and I had lots of tapas during my 3 days stay in Sevilla... Funny service, authentic and not a "just for tourists" place, very good food and incredibly cheap. Go for it and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuidland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must-go-see place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This bodega is a absolute must-visit! We visit Sevilla every year and come here every morning to have a great and cheap breakfast (fresh orange juice, coffee or tea and a roasted bread with anything you like on top). But don't forget to come by for a good pair of tapas during lunch and/or dinner. The place will be packed and that's just the charme of this place. There will be a lot of locals, students, businessmen, workers, and offcourse a few tourist like ourselves ;-).
The waiters are one of a kind: they see, hear and remember everything and use the bartop to write down the bill. They might sometime come accross as a little grumpy, but we've known them now for a few years and the longer you know them, the nicer they become.
Conclusive: GO THERE (and say hi from Rosina from Holland ;-)))))

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good place to take a drink and some tapas - Very cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This bodega is near the Giralda and the Barrio Santa Cruz, the prices are extremely low compared to the location and the quality of the food.
It is a great place to take a drink and some tapas. The staff is friendly, helpful and very efficient!
I'll recommend the "Berenjenas con miel" (Eggplant with honey), really delicious!
We also had a very good tapa with Zucchini and Shrimps but i don't recall the spanish name.
The place is also very animated at night due to its location!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Santa Cruz also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Bodega Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.