We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Medina

Al-Medina
Calle San Roque, 13, 41001 Seville, Spain
+34 954215451
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Al-Medina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #119 of 1,498 restaurants in Seville
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurante Al Medina, Marruecos en Sevilla..Restaurante marroqui en pleno centro de Sevilla
San Gwann, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

The only food I enjoyed in Seville!!! amazing food, lovely pastellito with almonds etc, tagine of chicken with prunes, beef tagine with pumpkin and couscous with lamb and vegetables. Large portions. FOr 3 2 main dishes would be enough! bit pricey as all the above with water approx 28euros per person. I comparinf to my country though were a moroccan restuarant with same amount of food with wine is 20euros. However this restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear customer, we are glad to know that you liked our restaurant and our food. We thank you for sharing your valuable opinion, it is very important to us. We will keep working to improve and to deserve your trust. We hope to welcome you soon again at Al Medina Restaurante. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    40
    23
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Located in a quieter part of town, this Moroccan restaurant is simply wonderful. The hummus (served with warm pita bread) is hands down the best I've ever had. They also serve a Moroccan wine (pricier than wine from Rioja at 18.50/bottle), but worth every penny. It is made by French wine makers in Africa and is every bit as good!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear customer, we thank you for sharing your valuable opinion, it is very important to us. We are glad to know that you liked our restaurant. We will keep working to improve and to deserve your trust. We hope to welcome you soon again at Al Medina Restaurante. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff serving average food....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

You will definitely have a nice meal here and I would return but coming from the New York area, I have eaten at better local Middle Eastern restaurants. Some dishes were excellent (don't forget to order the homemade hummus) and some were very ordinary. But it was a slow night there and the owner offered us free dessert. They also recommended a few dishes and agreed to send them back to the kitchen if there was anything that we didn' like.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear customer, we thank you for sharing your valuable opinion, it is very important to us. We will keep working to improve and to deserve your trust. We hope to welcome you soon again at Al Medina Restaurante. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“authentic experience, fantastic flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

This was our best meal in Europe in terms of overall experience and taste. You have to try the sweet and delicious meat "pies", which I have never seen before. The lamb tagines are succulent and have great spices, as well as the kebabs (brochetas en espagnol). The only disappointing dish was the hummus, which was largely tahini. If you love wine you have to try the Moroccan syrah, it's got a great smooth body with a sweet nose. The decor is excellent, and you can't believe you're not in Morocco. All in all a great restaurant!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear customer, we are glad to know that you liked our restaurant and our food. We thank you for sharing your valuable opinion, it is very important to us. We will keep working to improve and to deserve your trust. We hope to welcome you soon again at Al Medina Restaurante. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Just go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

The real thing. Moroccan food outside morocco at it's best and without pretentions.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid E, Gerente at Al-Medina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear customer, we are glad to know that you liked our restaurant and our food. We thank you for sharing your valuable opinion, it is very important to us. We will keep working to improve and to deserve your trust. We hope to welcome you soon again at Al Medina Restaurante. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Medina also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Al-Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.