We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Gondoliere - Martinez Campos

Il Gondoliere - Martinez Campos
Calle Martinez Campos, 24, 18002 Granada, Spain (Figares)
+34 958 251 834‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 792 restaurants in Granada
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Figares
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really good value restaurant for the food and ambiance.
Looks like a smart upscale restaurant but the prices are very reasonable. Cheaper than a standard pizza chain restaurant in UK. Pizza was very nice and had huge range - about 60 pizza choices. Very good option if you want a change from Tapas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    60
    49
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in elegant ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very elegant Italian restaurant not far from the town center of Granada. Though I went there with a couple of friends, I though the place to be particularly suited for a romantic evening out. The atmosphere is very sophisticated and 'loungy', the service was helpful, polite, and competent, and the gnocchi with mushroom cream sauce I ordered were simply delicious. The prices are a bit steep for Granada standards, but not out of line.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good pizza and pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nicely decorated restaurant – Italian style of course. They have a huge selection of pasta and pizza. We had some of both. The pasta was fresh and tasted good and the pizza I had was large and didn’t disappoint me at all.

The guests were a mix of locals and tourist when we had lunch there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Forget the rest, go to the best! Reasonably priced too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having had revolting tapas in one bar and walked out of a second "restaurant" we wandered around the city centre in despair. We came across Il Gondoliere and went in not even realising it was Italian cuisine. What a fabulous place, the food was the best Italian I've had including in Italy. Dear reader, do not torture yourself by traipsing around Granada, go here first. The service was attentive (we went on a Monday night so it was quiet, admittedly) and I wish I could give you a taste of the "Conchas Calabresas" - pasta shells with a vegetarian spicy tomato sauce - wonderful and not expensive at 9.5 Euros. My husband had spaghetti al forno (house speciality) and was also mightily impressed. Have a look at their web site; "gondoliere.com" to inspect the menu, a wide range of vegetarian dishes too - I'm not vegetarian by the way. The toilets were immaculate (I'd give them 6 stars if I could) and ladies, we all know if the toilets are clean the kitchens are too, don't we? These toilets had fresh rose petals scattered across the handbasin and the clean smell was lovely. Having been in a few well dodgy places I cannot extol the virtues too highly. Suitable for children if you can trust them with white linen tablecloths and are not of a nervous disposition.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Il Gondoliere Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After a few days of ploughing through a lot of bad tourist tapas my cravings for some great Italian food led us here. About 10 minutes walk from the main square of Plaza Nuevas where you will be bombarded with more overpriced and largely poor food- stay well clear of Oh La la where I got the worst mousaka in human history, straight out of a microwaved pack, disgusting, and paid 5 euro for a beer. Having struggled through the urine-soaked streets of Granada in 43 degree heat for several days ,(yes, they love their pooches!), Il Gondoliere's stunning rose-petal scented bathrooms, air-con and unique decor provided welcome relief. The candle-lit tables were romance-laden as we endeavouired to choose from a menu of 63 pizzas (I reccommend no.53!) and superb pasta dishes. The service was friendly and attentive, allowing enough privacy for total relaxation. Great food, largely enjoyed by the Spanish locals in this fantastic little enclave away from the hoards and over-priced food and beer. I thoroughly enjoyed the free cava given at the end of our meal and the house wine was delicious- we ended up going back on our last night. If you're on a budget then the bars around here can also offer drinks at around half the price you'll find closer to the Alhambra. Expect tp pay about 8 euros for a massive pizza. Brilliant find. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gondoliere - Martinez Campos also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Il Gondoliere - Martinez Campos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Gondoliere - Martinez Campos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.