We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Almenas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Las Almenas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Almenas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Acera del Darro 82, 18005 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights at the Las Almenas. Our choice for Las Almenas was based on the high scores on Tripadvisor but we really don’t understand why it is rated so high (are all the other hotels in Granada worse?)
When we booked the hotel we asked for a quiet located room not near the elevator but at the check in we were given a room next to the elevator. As there were not many other guest (we haven’t seen one during our stay) we cant’ tell if the walls are thin but that doesn’t’ matter as the sound of the traffic overrules all other noise. I think there are no quiet located rooms in this hotel. The room was basic, small and clean and the bathroom was modern. There was an armchair in the room that almost didn’t fit in the room, it was huge and ugly and blocked the aisle.
A positive thing is that the hotel is located near all shop and across the street there is a large El Corte Ingles with a supermarket so you can buy something to drink, as there is no minibar in the room.
You can have a breakfast at the bar next to the hotel or in one of the other bars nearby but almost all of these bars do not open earlier then 9:30AM.
Overall we wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    156
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
53
242
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent there 4 nights in June - location is just great very close to the main square. the service is very attentive, with wifi inclusive. air conditioning in all the rooms and the personnel was great in assisting for a short trip to the coast. recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is located on one of the main streets in the city with El Corte Ingles (department store) being located just up the street along with many other shops, restaurants, cafes, bars, churches and the Cathedral. When you exit the hotel you get to see the snow capped Sierra Nevada mountains which look just stunning in the sunshine. The hotel itself isn't spectacular, but the lift has a glass wall which looks over a typical Arabian designed courtyard. We stayed in room 303 which was to the side of the building and had a Juliette balcony. The room was plain but clean and had free Wi-Fi access. The tv only had Spanish channels and there was no fridge in the room. The only worrying thing about the room is the large number of cracks in the walls and I am not just talking hairline. The is no carpet on the floor, just black and white tiles which make for easy cleaning. Mr Lopez in reception will do anything to make your trip enjoyable and will give you some tips if you need them. Meals are available in the café attached to the hotel and are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in May. The rooms were very comfortable. Have to commend Jose Lopez.. Upon arrival, he provided detailed directions on how to get to Alhambra and other sites to see via bus lines. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we had to stay an extra night. Mr. Lopez made a special trip back to the hotel to assist in reserving another room for a 2nd night. He then called our next destination hotel in Cordoba, explained to them that we had to cancel 1 of our 2 nights there, and somehow convinced them to charge us only for the 1 night that we stayed at their hotel in Cordoba. His level of customer service was outstanding. We would certainly stay here again, and would highly recommend Las Almenas to any traveler to Granada.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located on one of the main roads in Granada. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within a short walk. There is a large grocery store about a block away. Check in was quick and very friendly. We were upgraded to a room decorated in the style of the Alhambra with a great balcony overlooking the street. The windows were quiet and although we faced the street there was no road noise. The bed and bathroom were great, but there was no mini fridge in the room. We spent two nights here and two nights in the older part of town, and we enjoyed staying at both places. Wi-Fi was a little spotty in the room. We had to go to the lobby to get strong reception. The attached restaurant was a good place to grab a quick bite for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights while visting the Alhambra, Albacin, etc. in November. It is in a great location, and rooms, etc. while unexciting are good size, clean and comfortable.

The breakfast in the bar is the best of the three places we tried and good value too.

Room Tip: There wasn't a terrible amount of noise on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location, excellent price, and, most important of all, friendly and accommodating staff. The room and bathroom are spacious. Location is great, but Granada is a very walkable city anyway. I had requested a room on the quiet side in order to be able to work, as I came for a work meeting, and it all went fine. The only downside is that internet access is at the lobby only.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 127 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#7 of 127 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saray Hotel
#44 of 127 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 127 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#2 of 127 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Almenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Almenas

Address: Acera del Darro 82, 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Almenas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Las Almenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Almenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.