We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and accommodating staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Almenas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Almenas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Las Almenas
Acera del Darro 82, 18005 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Granada
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and accommodating staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location, excellent price, and, most important of all, friendly and accommodating staff. The room and bathroom are spacious. Location is great, but Granada is a very walkable city anyway. I had requested a room on the quiet side in order to be able to work, as I came for a work meeting, and it all went fine. The only downside is that internet access is at the lobby only.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    141
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
216
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roeselare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was located near a big road and not too far from the city center. We travelled by car, so we did not feel like navigating the tiny streets in the city center. There is a public parking nearby (but not in the hotel), but it is pretty expensive (20 euros per day).
Unfortunately, choosing this hotel turned out to be a mistake, because we were given a room at the front of the hotel. Sleeping without earplugs was impossible because of the continuous noise of traffic outside. Why they dare rent out a room like that is beyond me. At least make the room sound-proof! Or define a separate class of (cheap) rooms, so you know what you're getting yourself in to!
There is a lot of rotation among the staff, we practically never saw the same person twice. And when we asked to switch rooms, we were told that we had to wait for the manager, but this meant we had to return at 14:00, which would have ruined our day in Granada. The manager was helpful, but it's really inefficient if he has to make every decision in the hotel.
We did not have breakfast in the hotel, but we think this is unnecessary as there are numerous locations nearby where you can eat a typical Spanish breakfast.
The room itself was clean with a roomy bathroom and an Alhambra-style decoration. But we did not enjoy this very much because of the noise.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at the street side of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good and well situated. Rooms are simple but comfortable. It was missed some advices from the owners about our stay in Granada, perhaps an offer about a specific room. But, this is a good option to visit Granada as it has an excellent balance between quality and price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

You have to stay here just for the experience of Jose alone. He is a true stalwart of Granada and works tirelessly to serve his guests in this very pleasant family run hotel. It's about five minutes away from the heart of the city but it's right next to a supermarket which can be really handy, and cafes, shops, banks, and restaurants.

As the great man like to say, "Anything is possible in Granada"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Las Almenas offers fair value for a reasonably central location in Granada but soundproofing is poor. We had noise disturbance from other rooms and from the internal plumbing as well as from external street traffic. The room was ok save that a bedside light (the fitting not the bulb) was broken on arrival and not repaired during our 3 night stay. A modest breakfast is available for a modest additional charge. The hotel lacks ambiance and, on another visit, we would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Almenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Almenas

Address: Acera del Darro 82, 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Las Almenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Almenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.