We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a decent lunch for a reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodegas La Bella y La Bestia II

Bodegas La Bella y La Bestia II
Calle Carcel Baja, 14, 18010 Granada, Spain (Centro - Sagrario)
+34 958 22 51 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #437 of 948 Restaurants in Granada
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro - Sagrario
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Had a decent lunch for a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We picked this for their offer of a free tapas with every drink and were'nt disappointed. The tapas were a generous size although a bit on the greasy side and the service was fairly friendly. There was a good selection of dishes and the sandwiches were very cheap.

It wasn't particularly fancy but we came out satisfied.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    123
    59
    24
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This may not be somewhere you go for a nice evening out or even somewhere that does great food. What it is is somewhere that gives you masses of food for free. This it does very well. In fact we came here two nights in a row, deciding it would be a good place to watch the final of Euro 2012, which it was. The portions are huge, the food is average, the atmosphere is great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Generous tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

It's true that you can get better quality tapas elsewhere, but they are generous here and not at all bad, certainly no different to what you generally get in Granada's touristy areas. For a fun and cheap evening, this is a good option.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

After an averagely busy sightseeing afternoon, returning from the diection of Mirador San Nicolau, it started to rain, a cold rain, following overcast skies all that day. We were feeling hungry and wanted something a bit hearty. Having had a bad experience in a very touristy, slap dash spot the day before, we were reluctant to chose just anywhere this time but the hunger won over. I saw roast potatos on the menu and was sold. My partner less so (tired ++ of tapas). Furthermore, a restaurant with a menu this extensive, always leaves me suspicious.
We went inside, where the pleasant , English speaking waiter seated us promptly with menu´s. Only one other small group initially present. We liked the style and the atmosphere. On further scrutiny, the menu repeats a lot, in the sense of variations on a theme, so I chose the Potatoes Assados Abuela style and my partner vegitarian lasagna. A starter of a medium portion manchego cheese in virgin olive oil.
The manchego was lovely. Yes, swimming in the oil, and I know a lot of people don´t like this, but the chesse was in no way soggy and the oil as well as the cheese were good quality.
When finished my 3 potatoes and the lasagna arrived.
My potatoes were steaming hot, appropraite hardness (note, I am Irish) and had small amounts of cheese with pickled anchioves and red pepper, all very flavoursome.
My partner¨s lasagna, served in a nice earthenware dish, he informed me was average. Though lots of spinach and pipping hot; but according to him, it seems hard to get a good lasagna (follwing multiple luncheon efforts in the face of a wall of fried Andalucian tapas) in Spain ?!?!
All this, with two drinks, came to €19.
We left very pleased.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great spot for big tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

There are like 3 or 4 of them in the city, but I´ve never had a bad meal at any. The tapas are a bit more expensive, but the size is worth it. They mostly serve sandwiches and have a good pasta salad.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodegas La Bella y La Bestia II also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Bodegas La Bella y La Bestia II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodegas La Bella y La Bestia II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.