We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Oniria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Oniria to your Saves list
Villa Oniria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   calle San Anton 28, 18005 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #33 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
zurich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

This is one of those hotels you look back and it somehow dissappears in a fog because you just can not believe having ever been in such a great hotel. Really I have travelled to some spots on this planet, but this is an oase of piece, harmony and mental refreshing located in the heart of granada. The hotel smelled lovely (they have somekind of rose smell there all day from candles located all over the villa), the spa was great to refresh after a long day walking through the city and the best....the rooms were just perfect. If I ever was unsure how a small flat should be designed than I would simply copy this. The shower was a all stone/marmor and the bed was probably one of the best ones I have ever slept in. I don't no what more I could say other than that I should learn spanish to thank the staff of this hotel in their mother tongue for this fantastic creation....it is worth every dollar/euro.....

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    106
    33
    19
    17
See reviews for
36
195
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Our family booked four rooms over Christmas at Villa Oniria. The design of the place is stunning, as was the food at the restaurant where we had a very special Christmas Eve dinner. It's a five minute walk into the main squares, so it's close to the action. I had booked it on behalf of the family (my in-laws), and they were all bowled over - I felt pretty chuffed that I'd lucked upon such an amazing place.

And of course Granada is a perfect backdrop.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We booked a room at Villa Oniria in order to be in the same hotel as a friend who was getting married. We absolutely loved it! Our room was fantastic, and the personnel were very very kind! I was trying to use my poor Spanish and they were trying hard to understand without offending me!!! We also used the spa and were very impressed and we absolutely recommend breakfast, it was a feast! We loved the chorizo, the cheese, the fresh bread rolls, everything!!
The hotel is ideally located, 5 minutes walk from the cathedral, close to the main squares where all the tapas and cafes are, and also offers parking (I think the charge was 12 euros). In the August heat, when Granada is burning, just returning to the hotel from a day's sightseeing and having an afternoon drink in the hotel patio, felt like heaven. It is expensive but we thought it was a nice treat to ourselves on the start of our trip around Andalusia. I think our excellent impression of Granada also has to do with the fact that we were so pleased with the hotel...
In Greek the word "oniro" means dream, so the hotel has definitely lived up to its name!!!

  • Liked — the whole setting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

To begin with, Granada is beautiful, rich in history and character. We loved Granada. It is an excellent choice when deciding where to go in Spain. However, the hotel was a different story. I will say the bed was comfortable and the fixtures and common areas were very nice. Otherwise, a bad experience. I’ll just quickly list need to know details. Our confirmation sheet, which we brought with us and showed to the hotel personnel, had us listed in a room with a balcony and a sitting area. The room that we were given was tiny with no windows. When I say tiny, the only other room I remember staying in that was smaller was in NY City with a room rate of $90. We were simply told “I’m sorry” and given back our confirmation sheet. However, when looking around the hotel, we noticed that there were many larger rooms with balconies and seating areas as described on our reservation and it didn’t appear that the hotel was full during the late November off-season.

The room did have skylights in the slanted roof, which we ended up needing. The HVAC was broken or turned off and the heat was unbearable to the point that sleep was impossible, despite the fact that it was near freezing outside. We were able to crack the skylights, which helped some. However, the outside street noise was then the problem with people on the street until 5 a.m. There was no shower curtain and rod. Only a tub, which was unique in some sense, but a bit awkward when washing your hair, etc. Plus, my husband could observe all of this awkwardness because there was a glass window separating the shower from the bedroom. I guess fine for close couples, but probably uncomfortable for those less familiar. Furthermore, the bathroom had a glass door, which did not separate the bathroom smell from the room. There were no TV channels in English; although in Spain for the sites, it is nice to come back to relax at night (I was hoping for a CNN in English, which is available in most Spanish hotels). I do not recall any payperview either. Also, we phoned the front desk for a wake up call. After the line rang for about a minute, someone who was watching the big soccer match (what we assume as it was loudly playing in the background) took the info. We did received the call, but were a bit anxious through the night. The hotel does have a gym, but you must pay 8 euros to use. It has one treadmill and a handful of weight machines. Furthermore, the gym, which is completely unattended and not in a locked room, had operating hours. I was stopped by hotel personnel in the lobby and told to wait 20 minutes because the “gym” had not opened yet. Opening time was at 10:00 a.m. After waiting outside the door for 20 minutes, I walked into the gym where no one noticed I was there. When asking about spa services, the hotel told me that no appointments were available and did not offer to find any appointments elsewhere. Our reservation, as listed on the confirmation slip that we presented to the hotel, also included free breakfast. When we were checking out, the hotel, I guess noticed that we had breakfast, and tried to charge us. It was awkward as we again asked for something that we were supposed to have included. Weird again, no one came outside to move the movable railing so that we could drive our car out. In the rain, I was moving this hotel railing so that my husband could drive the car out. Finally, later on in the day after checking our receipt we noticed that we had been charged tax on our stay, despite the fact that our reservation said that tax was included in our rate.

We only stayed at the hotel 2 nights, and these are just the details I recall off the top of my head. Taking the improperly charged tax into consideration, this was the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our trip, but definitely the least enjoyable. We would like to view the experience with optimism, so we will just label the experience as weird with no bad intentions due to our lack of fluent Spanish or U.S. passports. However, that being said, we would never return, nor recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario,CANADA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Villa Oniria is located in the city centre of Granada. right downtown, walking distance to everywhere you want to see. It provides a luxurious place to escape, a refuge from city noises,in a lovingly set traditional Andalusian palatial architecture, by renowned Madrid born architect Pascua Ortega. This is in effect a true deserving deluxe World Hotels Chain establishment. There are some 31 comfortable and welcoming rooms over two floors, so attractive we caught a professional photographer taking poses of his mate in the staircase. With the color scheme and studied ambiance, it is relaxing all over.There is an small and well appointed garden, bursting with aromatic plants leading onto a beautiful inner patio.that leads to an interior gastronomic restaurant ( at least , we tried the breakfasts), a well equipped fitness centre and inviting spa, wi-fi internet and valet parking. But more than anything, SERVICE, SERVICE AND SERVICE. Well worth a 5, all around.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

we have just returned from our honeymoon and we stayed there for 3 nights on our way to almeria. hotel was nice,clean and very relaxing,room was very modern with beautiful wetroom shower and nice bathroom.room was a bit small but airy with air con as it was september and very hot 40c, bed was divine really comfortable. our room over looked the street below but was not noisy.we choose a mid floor room as the attic rooms are very enclosed with no views and only have skylights.the service was not very good for example we had to go looking for someone if we wanted a drink, when we did find the receptionist she took ages to get a barman for us,this happened many times as it was annoying because we were on honeymoon. but if you want a relaxing stay with no noise and no kids and to stay in a lovely decor room with all mod cons this the perfect place due to the fact its in a city.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

6 of us stayed for two nights recently on the way to a family wedding, it was just a wonderful start to the holiday.
We all loved the hotel from the first moment we walked into it, the reception staff are so good and the smell of vanilla in the air was lovely. The rooms we had were large enough though be warned a lot of glass is used so be careful with whom you share. The rooms were quiet and dark at night so no complaints there, the location is good also and the car gets taken away and returned for you when you need it.
The only problem with this hotel is the restaurant, the food when you get it is excellent. But the service is just about the worst I have experienced in a long long time. It started with the wrong table been allocated to us we wanted to eat in the garden and they tried to push us inside. Perhaps this upset them as the we had to wait for about 30 minutes to get a menu in English then it was one poor photo copy to share between 6 people. A further 40 minutes passed before our order was taken and a bit of bread placed on our side plates. Then a further 40 minutes before the starters arrived - so nearly 2 hours from entering the restaurant before we had something to eat - this despite complaining on two seperate occassions. The food when it came was very good to be fair.
I would strongly recommend this hotel but dont use the restaurant it is just that bad.

  • Liked — Rooms and front desk service
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Oniria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oniria

Address: calle San Anton 28, 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Granada
#11 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Oniria 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Oniria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oniria Hotel Granada
Oniria Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Oniria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.