We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent option for short stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra to your Saves list
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mirador de Genil 2, 18 008 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Granada
almeria
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“excellent option for short stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

this is an excellent option for short stays , clean and efficient modern hotel , god value parking underground . Try to get a deal with breakfast included , large selection of food / coffees etc.
Be aware that you will have to take bus or taxis everywhere from here , for us not a problem , 10minutes to sights and cheap. There may be inclusive tour parties staying here as well as daily conferences .
Granada's best restaurant just a short cab ride away (Ruta del Valeta ) , but for atmosphere and fun , do your research on T.P. and seek out genuine tapas bars in the Centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    388
    101
    18
    6
See reviews for
203
452
25
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good location: easy to park car and go by bus into center (10 min). Nice modern room, nice pool.

Personnel is not customer focused at all. For example, breakfast time is until 11 AM. In any good hotel we've been, it is no problem to finish a bit later. At this hotel they start cleanig up eveything at 11:00:00 with such a noise and rush, that they basically ask you " please get out of here". Also, we forgot a bikini in the room and never heard of it. An e-mail pointing this out would have been easy and hospitable. All just little signs that the personnel in this hotel does what it needs to do, but nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I suppose we should have noticed that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere i.e. ten minutes on the bus from the centre of town. The hotel itself is o.k. But the restaurant is quite dreadful. The food is overpriced and over cooked and was the most expensive and worst meal we had in Andalusia. We did complain and were told that the matter would be taken up with the manager but nothing happened. One starter and both mains were left largely unbeaten which is usually a sign that something is wrong! Go into town and have something cheap and cheerful away from the bus parties.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as two couples. We chose the hotel as being convenient for a visit to the Alhambra and also for a run up to the Sierra Nevada.
The hotel is very easy to find off the A395 autovia circling Granada to the south and east. It is well worth while if visiting by car to reserve a space in the garage, as street parking looks to be at a premium in the vicinity.
First impressions of the hotel are misleading. It has a plain red brick exterior and a small but attractive forecourse. However, things improve dramatically once inside and approaching reception with a modern glass entrance hall showcasing a modern stylish staircase. Reception itself was a painless experience with polite, smartly turned out staff speeding us through our check-in. Our rooms were on the ground floor, each with a small adjoining terrace allowing an evening get together to share a bottle of wine and plan our following day to the Alhambra. The rooms were large, cool and comfortable, with modern efficient bathrooms and a very useful illuminated wardrobe.
We arrived quite late in the afternoon, which meant that the pool at the side of the hotel was by now in shadow, but I imagine that the location of the hotel is not one which would attract the sun worshipper, so wall to wall sun is probably not a necessity. The pool was small but very refreshing and most welcome after a hot day`s travel.
We ate both nights in the hotel restaurant for a very reasonable 22 euros per head for a three course dinner with a good choice of all courses. The filete de ternera was particularly voted a hit. Wines were served either by the bottle or the glass and again were deemed to be good value with no more than the normal mark up obvious. Facilities within the hotel were excellent and the public areas were very stylish and modern. The television area was separate from the rest of the bar area, allowing a quiet drink if required. Staff were welcoming and helpful and spoke excellent english when our spanish faltered later in the evening!
We chose to visit the Alhambra after lunch on our second day in Granada and had pre-booked tickets to the Nazarid Palace for 3pm. Make sure you leave sufficient time to get from the centre of Granada to the Alhambra, print off your tickets and get to the Palace in time to meet your entry slot. We had problems at the time we had chosen, due, we were told, by colleges emptying at the time we were making our transfer, which took a lot longer than anticipated. I would suggest one and a half hours as an absolute minimum to make the transfer.
The easiest way back to the hotel from the Alhambra is to find one of the taxi stands outside the Alhambra and take a ride back. 5 euros for four people seemed to be a very good deal to us.
Our other reason for the choice of hotel was that it was convenient for the road which leads up to the Sierra Nevada. Out of the hotel garage, turn left at the roundabout outside and that is the main road up to the top.
This hotel offers a modern, stylish base from which to easily visit both Granada and the Alhambra. We did not, in retrospect, give ourselves enough time to do justice to Granada, although this was our third visit to the Alhambra. We will be back, and we will be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I wish it had been more.I picked this hotel for the location being just outside the alhambra palace. The hotel is modern and the staff are very friendly and helpful.There is a great swimming pool and sun terrace a bar serving snacks and meals and a restaurant but with a limited menu.
There is nothing outside the hotel but only a 20min walk to either alhambra{up a very steep hill with breath taking views} or to the great town of granada where you can eat and shop till you drop!
Loved our stay here and if we were ever in the area would not hesitate to stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our trip of Andalucia. The main reason for staying in Granada was to visit The Alhambra. We arrived late in the afternoon on the day before our scheduled visit to The Alhambra. The hotel staff was very helpful and kind checking us in. We got a really nice room located on the second floor. Despite the fact that the window was right above the garage entrance that did not pose an issue. The room was modern and clean with a nice, fully equipped bathroom. It has a refrigerated mini-bar, but unfortunately no coffee making facilities.

With respect to parking your car, the hotel charges €9.50 per 24 hours for parking in their garage. You can park for free in the neighborhood directly surrounding the hotel. Just don't park the car next to a yellow line.

The hotel has a good swimming pool located on the first floor. Really nice for chilling out after a day of walking. The hotel location is perfect when visiting the Alhambra by car. It is located just a drive up the hill.

Visiting Granada center can not be done by foot since it is just too far away. Parking is expensive in downtown Granada and there are not many places available. A good alternative is to take bus number 33 which stops just left of the hotel (standing with your back to the hotel lobby) and takes you to the cathedral directly in 10 minutes for just €1.20. It drives regularly (every 10 minutes) and the service runs until 23:00 hours.

Summarizing, good hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel whilst on business for a couple of years and the location in terms of proximity to the Alhambra palace is excellent. A nice 20 min walk to it, uphill but great view. Its also a nice 20 min walk into the centre of granada, or a 6 euro taxi ride into town. Its close to the motorway for a quick getaway up to the national park sierra nevada aswell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Address: Mirador de Genil 2, 18 008 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.