We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class people and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cycling Country Day Rides

Cycling Country Day Rides
Calle Salmerones 18 | Alhama de Granada, 18120 Granada, Spain
34 958 360 655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 56 activities in Granada
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Cullman, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First class people and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful experience on the self-guided "Quiet Paths" tour with Cycling Country recently. From my initial email contact, frequent first-timer email questions, until our final cycling day in Alhama de Granada, we were treated to first class service and warm and cheerful interaction with the Cycling Country staff. Even though it was just the 2 of us on a self-guided tour, we were treated like we were the only clients they had and went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. Our hotels were wonderful, and meeting Paco & his family at La Seguiriya and Dominique & Richard at Cortijo La Fe in Montefrio were fantastic experiences. We had a mechanical problem during one day's ride that couldn't be fixed easily , and Geoff promptly sent out another bike via Dean to get us back on the road. The tour was highly organized and instructions very detailed and complete. Highly recommend. Thanks Geoff, Maggi, Dean & Warren for one of our best vacation experiences ever!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding cycling introduction to scenic Andalucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We completed the 10 day Enchanted Andalucía tour with an extra night in Granada.

It was a fantastic way of experiencing the region and we saw so much, that even after a week it’s hard to remember all that we did!

The cycling was very well organised with excellent guides – Dean and Javi. They made sure that everyone in the group felt comfortable with the route and challenge’s that we had to face. With their enthusiasm, encouragement and advice the whole group achieved far more than they would have expected. No one was made to do anything but most of the times the whole group choose to do every part of the ride! There was flexibility built in and our last day was changed to avoid high winds. There were some great days but the ride to El Chorro and the gorge was the most stunning. Sometimes there were frustrations – definitely when picking up an additional five cyclists in Cordoba it would have been good to set their bikes up on the “rest day” so the next day we could get going straight away! It was also unseasonably hot for early May and earlier starts would have helped avoid some of the hottest rides (hit 40 degrees and was generally mid 30’s). Some cycling preparation before the holiday is necessary if you are planning to make the most of the hilly days!

Bikes were maintained to a high standard and there was a good choice of types available.

The city visits had great local guides and allowed us to experience the best of Seville, Cordoba and Granada in the limited time available.

The accommodation was very good. The city hotels were as expected, clean and efficient. Best was the Hisperia in Cordoba with the outstanding location, the Los Angeles in Granada was most disappointing (Outdated décor and a stressful, chaotic, poor breakfast).

The on route hotels were fantastic! We loved the monastery at Palma del Rio – so authentic. The Hacienda Minerva – perfect location and beautiful buildings. The Convent – breath-taking restoration with great facilities and one of the best breakfasts ever! Food was at least good but we had some outstanding meals – we will never forget the Paella in Zuheros!

Overall a great holiday and even with a few niggles highly deserving an excellent rating.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The staff at Cycle Country was cheerful, informative, helpful and extremely professional in every way.

My group of 31 people got a tailor made bike ride with excellent guidance about the beautiful countryside surrounding Alhama followed by a guide they provided to walk us through the town. They provided a car as a follow up in during the bike ride in case of exhaustion or injury and took photos for us wich the whole group could watch later.

Helmets and bikes were good and water bottles were provided as well.

All in all excellent service and I would most definitely recommend this company.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Way to See Andalucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We just finished the fantastic 10-day "Enchanted Andalucia" Cycling Country Tour. The trip was well planned, the guides were very knowledgeable and engaging. The scenery was quite a variety of olive groves to beautiful mountains. Most places we stayed for 2 nights, so we didn't have to pack up every day. We visited the three most important cities in Andalucia (Seville, Cordoba, and Granada), as well as many little intriguing "white villages". There were a few challenging climbs, but the van was always there if you preferred. We found Andalucia to be the most interesting and endearing part of Spain, and biking is a great way to see it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great day out in Granada region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We turned up at Cycling Country on spec - it appeared shut, but we could see lights on, so we knocked on the window. The guys agreed to let us hire 2 bikes for the day, but asked for an hour to get them ready. We mentioned about not knowing the area well, and asked for recommendations of where to ride.

When we returned to collect our bikes, they were ready and waiting, along with a comprehensive map of the area, and suggested rides of various lengths and difficulties. Dean was excellent at explaining the options, and a lovely, friendly guy. The bikes come with helmets, water bottles and tools, plus spare inner tubes etc. so you feel well prepared.

We had a fabulous bike ride around a local lake: about 45km in total. The local scenery is beautiful, and the roads are quiet for cycling. It was a great day out, and good value for 35 euros.

Thank you for a great day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cycling Country Day Rides also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Cycling Country Day Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cycling Country Day Rides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cycling Country Day Rides to your Saves list