We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential small Spanish hotel in a good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Del Toro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Del Toro to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Del Toro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Elvira 25, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quintessential small Spanish hotel in a good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel has a nice feel and architecture. Reception staff friendly and supportive. An adequate breakfast given the price paid for our two nights accommodation. Spacious room and bathroom with a step out balcony. Can be noisy (from the street) so would try and get an inner room if we returned. Well located for walking the historic centre and close access to buses for historic area and for bus station..

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the internal patio rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    97
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
127
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel Posada Pilar Del Toro is an Antique hotel that has been restored beautifully. It is a great joy to walk about the hotel and take it all in. Our room was beautiful , clean, roomy overlooked the central court yard and was very quiet. The dinning room downstairs where breakfast is served is a fine example of the period architecture as is the rest of the hotel. The breakfast is very typical for a Spanish restaurant and was very good.
Del Toro is perfectly located close to everything with many restaurants and bars very close. The staff are very helpful and will give you all the information to find a great place to eat.
The Plaza Nueva , Calle Elvira, Granada Cathedral are all within a short walk. A little further is Calle Navas where the tapas bars are every where - great street.
My wife and I will stay here again the next time we visit Granada and I will make sure that our friends know of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is very well located in the best area, in my opinion, of Granada - El Albayzin - very close to Plaza Nueva and some good bodegas. I stayed there for 2 nights and my bedroom was comfortable, spacious and clean.The bathroom was decent but had the strangest shower I've ever seen. The reception staff were very friendly and kind. It is good value for your money, but the breakfast is really bad and I'd rather have it somewhere else. As there are quite a few good tea rooms and cafés nearby and the room rate is quite good, this wasn't really a problem for me. As a solo traveller I felt quite safe staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel is very well located, right on Calle Elvira, which is one of the main streets of Granada, leading right to Plaza Nueva.

Parking is a problem - The closest one is San Augustin, which is very close but costs 25 Euro per day! Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have any agreenment with this parking place.

Staff is nice and polite - although some have issues with English.

The hotel is beautifuly designed, with antique furniture all around.

I stayed in a room facing the inner courtyard - as quiet as it gets, though on the small side. Room and bathroom both are very clean.

The biggest downside of this hotel, apart from parking, is breakfast. This is probably the worst breakfast I have ever seen - no selection at all, only bread, jam & pate basically. Plus, service is horrible.


In summary, if you don't need breakfast and/or parking, you should definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, third floor or fourth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location is first class- a short stroll to plaza nueva and all the action. The rooms are huge and amazing value for €59 including breakfast. the rooms were quiet and the beds were oversize ( we had a twin room)

Room Tip: We had room 401 it was huge with two doors opening on to a small balcony overlooking a lovely indoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a great ittle hotel It is right smack in the middle of the old town right next to the cathedral. You can walk everywhere. It is a short bus or taxi ride to the Alhambra and to the Gypsy town of Sacramonte. The hotel is small but had the service of any large chain. There is wi-fi in the rooms, free breakfast. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was a sight to see. There is even a steam bath inside the bathroom.The front desk was vey helpfull. The only down side is the parking. The street are very narrow and the hotel recomends a parking about 1 block away but kind of expensive and diffcult to find. The roomsrates were very resonable. I highlyrecommend this hotel if ou plan to vsit Granada, which turned out to be my favorite city in all of Spain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is a fabulous find. I can't speak for the average room, but the upgrade to the suite is marvelous. The suite has a sitting room, large bathroom and master bedroom. It opens to a large balcony overlooking the Cathedral. The location can't be beat. Located in the heart of the area and just minutes from the Alhambra. The front desk staff is wonderful, they understand English and are readily available to serve you. The only thing lacking is the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for any room overlooking the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada Del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Toro

Address: C/ Elvira 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Elvira street in lower Albaizín and in the heart of Granada, stands majestically at the Hotel Posada del ToroBuilt in 2006, it is recognizable for its wood coffered ceilings, its spectacular stained glass windows and the paved patio as Granada style.In our restaurant La Posada, you will be able to taste delicious dishes typical from Granada, with the best traditional cuisine of the region.As a special detail with our guests, we offer free breakfast to our clients when booking a room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Pilar Del Toro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.