We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Costa Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Costa Azul to your Saves list
Hostal Costa Azul
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   C/ Rosario, 5, 18001 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at the Hostal Costa Azul over 5 nights in mid-October, 2010. Actually, we weren't put up in the actual Hostal, but in another building about a block and a half away, the Arte Vida Suites. These are rental apartments, and we were put in the "El Amante", on the top floor, as I recall. It was perfectly fine, if perhaps needing a bit of updating.

The only criticism I have is that, perhaps over time, dinnerware must get broken or missing, and they don't seem to be replaced. For example, there was only one cereal bowl--actually only one bowl of any kind! Our coffee pot was missing a lid, with the result that we had to physically hold a spoon on the top of the pot for it to work properly.

Other than that, the staff at the hotel were welcoming--but they are very relieved if you try to speak Spanish with them. The Suites are on a very quiet street, and one night were were serenaded by a violinist practising in one of the dwellings nearby. Quite lovely.

I would definitely recommend this place if you plan to be in Granada for more than a night or two. It's great to enjoy an occasional home-cooked dinner in your place. I also agree with other reviewers that you should just forget about a car in Granada. I don't know where you would ever park it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
36
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lucca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

still this time we found it casually but was a nice discovery.
Room and bathroom was newly furnished, clean a pretty. Only, it was over a bar and so a bit noisy, but not untill late night. there was air conditioning which is helpfull in summer. Personnel was kind and helpful. Location is ideal to discover the city and there's a bus connection to the Alhambra and main monuments just 5 min walk from it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My family stayed at the apartment belonging to Costa Azul during our 2-night stay in Granada.

The hotel's location is perfect. Very close to the Cathedral, close to transportation that can take you to Alhambra, and nestled perfectly amidst shops and restaurants. Everything was walkable, even Alhambra, although I'm happy we took the front desk attendant's advice: Take a bus to Alhambra, since it's all uphill. Then on the way back, walk downhill.

If I'm not mistaken, the hostel has rooms in its main building, and also has an apartment located across the street where you can rent out the whole floor.

My family (5 people total) stayed at the 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor of the separate building. It was perfect for us. The small kitchen had enough of what we needed: fridge, sink, cupboards supplied with utensils, hot-plate, and washer (for clothes, not dishes). We prepared our own meals most of the time.

Also, the apartment has a roof deck which is spectacular! You have a view of Alhambra on one side, and the Cathedral to another. I slept on the roof deck one night, but it was too cold to do it a second time. The apartment had enough beds for 5 people (1 queen, 3 twins) so it was perfect for us.

The staff was phenomenal and supremely helpful. We were there during the Fiesta de la Cruz, for which the staff had prepared festivities in the hotel. They were extremely busy preparing for it all, but that didn't deter them from helping us out with everything we needed. And as busy as they were, they provided all the service needed with a smile. Kudos to them!

Also, on internet, I was told they had WiFi, but I never checked. There was wired connection in the apartment (only one) so that was enough for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Small hostal/hotel in an alley near the Cathedral. Room spacious and well-heated, a real plus point in early March. Plenty of Tapas and Restaurant options near the hotel and close by. Tiny fruit shop opposite the hotel first stop in the morning for breakfast.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel manager gave us a nice city map, and helped us make reservations to see the Alhambra the next day and print out the reservation form. To get to the hotel from the bus station you take either bus # 3 or 33 to the Puerto Real stop (1.2 euro ticket). It is a short walk along Calle Navas from Plaza del Carmen. It was helpful to have a map to find our way. To add to a previous posting, the hostal provided liquid soap in the shower. There was free wi-fi that we could access in our room. We were in room #204, and there was no way to lock the sliding glass door that went to the inner courtyard area. The hostal did not have breakfast. There were only Spanish language tv channels. There are no smoking signs throughout the hostal, including the lobby, but the staff were smoking behind the counter, and the smell made it up to the 1st floor. The room was 50 euro a night, and we were able to get a load of laundry done by the hostal for 8 euro.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I was suspicious to stay here because it was only a one star hotel and was not that familiar with the area, but this ended up to be the best place we stayed throughout our tour of Andalucia. The street was quiet and charming, full of amazing bars/restaurants, I particularly recommend Dos Diamantes for incredible tapas. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Alhambra is a must, and Granada was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed in Hostal Costa Azul twice (with a break in the middle for a trip to Las Alpujarras) and enjoyed it both times. The first room we had was a double on the second floor with a decent sized bathroom. The room wasn't huge but it was clean and definitely offered value for money (we paid €50 per night).

We came back to Granada for one night after staying in Pampaneira and were given a different room. Initally, we were put in a twin room (despite having booked a double room) but when we asked to move to a double, we were offered a stay in an apartment across the road as there were no double rooms available. The apartment was okay, although I would have preferred to stay in the room we had during our first visit. There was a double room, sitting area and bathroom. However, the aircon was in the sitting area and so didn't cool down the bedroom as much as I would have liked.

The location is great, very central but on a fairly quiet street. However, 30metres to the end of the road takes you to a strip of fantastic tapas bars (we much preferred the ones at the other end of this street though). Marisa was a great host, answering our queries and offered for us to keep our big bags at the Hostal whilst we travelled to Las Alpujarras. Before we arrived, she emailed us some maps of Granada, directions to the hostal and advised us to buy our Alhambra tickets in advance. My only (minor) complaint is that there was no soap in the bathroom. Having said that, it wouldn't stop us from staying again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Costa Azul

Address: C/ Rosario, 5, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Costa Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.