We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“again a nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Costa Azul to your Saves list
Hostal Costa Azul
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   C/ Rosario, 5, 18001 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lucca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“again a nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

still this time we found it casually but was a nice discovery.
Room and bathroom was newly furnished, clean a pretty. Only, it was over a bar and so a bit noisy, but not untill late night. there was air conditioning which is helpfull in summer. Personnel was kind and helpful. Location is ideal to discover the city and there's a bus connection to the Alhambra and main monuments just 5 min walk from it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
39
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My family stayed at the apartment belonging to Costa Azul during our 2-night stay in Granada.

The hotel's location is perfect. Very close to the Cathedral, close to transportation that can take you to Alhambra, and nestled perfectly amidst shops and restaurants. Everything was walkable, even Alhambra, although I'm happy we took the front desk attendant's advice: Take a bus to Alhambra, since it's all uphill. Then on the way back, walk downhill.

If I'm not mistaken, the hostel has rooms in its main building, and also has an apartment located across the street where you can rent out the whole floor.

My family (5 people total) stayed at the 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor of the separate building. It was perfect for us. The small kitchen had enough of what we needed: fridge, sink, cupboards supplied with utensils, hot-plate, and washer (for clothes, not dishes). We prepared our own meals most of the time.

Also, the apartment has a roof deck which is spectacular! You have a view of Alhambra on one side, and the Cathedral to another. I slept on the roof deck one night, but it was too cold to do it a second time. The apartment had enough beds for 5 people (1 queen, 3 twins) so it was perfect for us.

The staff was phenomenal and supremely helpful. We were there during the Fiesta de la Cruz, for which the staff had prepared festivities in the hotel. They were extremely busy preparing for it all, but that didn't deter them from helping us out with everything we needed. And as busy as they were, they provided all the service needed with a smile. Kudos to them!

Also, on internet, I was told they had WiFi, but I never checked. There was wired connection in the apartment (only one) so that was enough for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Small hostal/hotel in an alley near the Cathedral. Room spacious and well-heated, a real plus point in early March. Plenty of Tapas and Restaurant options near the hotel and close by. Tiny fruit shop opposite the hotel first stop in the morning for breakfast.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel manager gave us a nice city map, and helped us make reservations to see the Alhambra the next day and print out the reservation form. To get to the hotel from the bus station you take either bus # 3 or 33 to the Puerto Real stop (1.2 euro ticket). It is a short walk along Calle Navas from Plaza del Carmen. It was helpful to have a map to find our way. To add to a previous posting, the hostal provided liquid soap in the shower. There was free wi-fi that we could access in our room. We were in room #204, and there was no way to lock the sliding glass door that went to the inner courtyard area. The hostal did not have breakfast. There were only Spanish language tv channels. There are no smoking signs throughout the hostal, including the lobby, but the staff were smoking behind the counter, and the smell made it up to the 1st floor. The room was 50 euro a night, and we were able to get a load of laundry done by the hostal for 8 euro.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I was suspicious to stay here because it was only a one star hotel and was not that familiar with the area, but this ended up to be the best place we stayed throughout our tour of Andalucia. The street was quiet and charming, full of amazing bars/restaurants, I particularly recommend Dos Diamantes for incredible tapas. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Alhambra is a must, and Granada was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed in Hostal Costa Azul twice (with a break in the middle for a trip to Las Alpujarras) and enjoyed it both times. The first room we had was a double on the second floor with a decent sized bathroom. The room wasn't huge but it was clean and definitely offered value for money (we paid €50 per night).

We came back to Granada for one night after staying in Pampaneira and were given a different room. Initally, we were put in a twin room (despite having booked a double room) but when we asked to move to a double, we were offered a stay in an apartment across the road as there were no double rooms available. The apartment was okay, although I would have preferred to stay in the room we had during our first visit. There was a double room, sitting area and bathroom. However, the aircon was in the sitting area and so didn't cool down the bedroom as much as I would have liked.

The location is great, very central but on a fairly quiet street. However, 30metres to the end of the road takes you to a strip of fantastic tapas bars (we much preferred the ones at the other end of this street though). Marisa was a great host, answering our queries and offered for us to keep our big bags at the Hostal whilst we travelled to Las Alpujarras. Before we arrived, she emailed us some maps of Granada, directions to the hostal and advised us to buy our Alhambra tickets in advance. My only (minor) complaint is that there was no soap in the bathroom. Having said that, it wouldn't stop us from staying again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

I spent a few days in Granada and really loved being in Hostal Costa Azul. We felt very welcome especially by all the attention we got from also English speaking Marisa, and greatly liked
the central position of the hostal. The rooms may be a bit old fashioned but offer enough space and the showerroom is modern and really excellent. Really good value for only a bit of money. We will certainly stay there again next time in Granada!

Christiaan van der Eijk
Amsterdam (NL)

  • Liked — The location and the very helpful staff
  • Disliked — ---
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hostal Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Costa Azul

Address: C/ Rosario, 5, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Costa Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Budget Places, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.