We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granada gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Costa Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Costa Azul to your Saves list
Hostal Costa Azul
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   C/ Rosario, 5, 18001 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Granada gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

In the middle of November 2012, two friends and I travelled down to Granada for a brief weekend away from Madrid, where we are all currently studying. The Hostal is fantastically located, just off Plaza del Carmen and on a street which boasts a string of traditional tapas bars.

My friends and I only stayed one night at the Hostal, as ours was a brief two-day trip, but our stay there was delightful. We were given a triple room with private bathroom, a separate TV room and a private terrace which overlooks the inner courtyard, beautifully tiled and surrounded by trees. Considering we were each paying 22 Euros a night, we couldn't quite believe the quality of the room provided. It was plainly decorated and the bedside tables did not have lamps, but there were plenty of towels in the bathroom, the shower pressure and temperature was perfect, the room was spotless and modern, and the beds comfortable.

The owner was a very pleasant woman who obviously takes pride in her business. The reception walls are adorned with plaques and framed certificates awarded to her from various Spanish organisations and as gifts from grateful institutions that used her hotel/hostel as a base for several weeks.

The room was safely lockable and the reception manned 24 hours a day. Considering the price you pay at this Hostal, you could almost consider it luxury accommodation!

Room Tip: As we stayed here in November, when the streets are not as busy at night as they are in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
36
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great location and price. The room was clean, with A/C (very important in Granada). That was nice!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I emailed back and forth with the Hostal and they were so nice. I actually ended up cancelling my booking.com reservation because you can geta cheaper rate directly through the hostal. They go out of their way to be helpful and are very nice at the hostal. They can book tickets for Al Hambra, which I highly recommend!! Why stand in line when you dont have to???

The location is great but it could be a con for some, it is right by the tapas area of town so there are tons of bustling cafes on both streets (the apartment is in between). We didn't mind because we are used to living in the city but I could see that for some people with small kids this may not be ideal. Otherwise the location is perfect for getting to both Al Hambra and the city center. It is very central which makes driving kind of a pain in the butt (which we knew going in). What we did is parked illegally while one waited in the car and the other ran to get the key for the parking garage (it is closeby but trick to get to), it costs 15 Euro.

Also the internet available is not wifi, so if you want to use it bring a cable.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly it is cheaper than 3rds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at the Hostal Costa Azul over 5 nights in mid-October, 2010. Actually, we weren't put up in the actual Hostal, but in another building about a block and a half away, the Arte Vida Suites. These are rental apartments, and we were put in the "El Amante", on the top floor, as I recall. It was perfectly fine, if perhaps needing a bit of updating.

The only criticism I have is that, perhaps over time, dinnerware must get broken or missing, and they don't seem to be replaced. For example, there was only one cereal bowl--actually only one bowl of any kind! Our coffee pot was missing a lid, with the result that we had to physically hold a spoon on the top of the pot for it to work properly.

Other than that, the staff at the hotel were welcoming--but they are very relieved if you try to speak Spanish with them. The Suites are on a very quiet street, and one night were were serenaded by a violinist practising in one of the dwellings nearby. Quite lovely.

I would definitely recommend this place if you plan to be in Granada for more than a night or two. It's great to enjoy an occasional home-cooked dinner in your place. I also agree with other reviewers that you should just forget about a car in Granada. I don't know where you would ever park it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

still this time we found it casually but was a nice discovery.
Room and bathroom was newly furnished, clean a pretty. Only, it was over a bar and so a bit noisy, but not untill late night. there was air conditioning which is helpfull in summer. Personnel was kind and helpful. Location is ideal to discover the city and there's a bus connection to the Alhambra and main monuments just 5 min walk from it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My family stayed at the apartment belonging to Costa Azul during our 2-night stay in Granada.

The hotel's location is perfect. Very close to the Cathedral, close to transportation that can take you to Alhambra, and nestled perfectly amidst shops and restaurants. Everything was walkable, even Alhambra, although I'm happy we took the front desk attendant's advice: Take a bus to Alhambra, since it's all uphill. Then on the way back, walk downhill.

If I'm not mistaken, the hostel has rooms in its main building, and also has an apartment located across the street where you can rent out the whole floor.

My family (5 people total) stayed at the 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor of the separate building. It was perfect for us. The small kitchen had enough of what we needed: fridge, sink, cupboards supplied with utensils, hot-plate, and washer (for clothes, not dishes). We prepared our own meals most of the time.

Also, the apartment has a roof deck which is spectacular! You have a view of Alhambra on one side, and the Cathedral to another. I slept on the roof deck one night, but it was too cold to do it a second time. The apartment had enough beds for 5 people (1 queen, 3 twins) so it was perfect for us.

The staff was phenomenal and supremely helpful. We were there during the Fiesta de la Cruz, for which the staff had prepared festivities in the hotel. They were extremely busy preparing for it all, but that didn't deter them from helping us out with everything we needed. And as busy as they were, they provided all the service needed with a smile. Kudos to them!

Also, on internet, I was told they had WiFi, but I never checked. There was wired connection in the apartment (only one) so that was enough for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Small hostal/hotel in an alley near the Cathedral. Room spacious and well-heated, a real plus point in early March. Plenty of Tapas and Restaurant options near the hotel and close by. Tiny fruit shop opposite the hotel first stop in the morning for breakfast.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Costa Azul

Address: C/ Rosario, 5, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Costa Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.