We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buenisimo!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol to your Saves list
Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol
Aire Alta, 12, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Orcas Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Buenisimo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We enjoyed every minute of our 2-night stay at this charming B&B. It was very comfortable, squeaky clean, just a few minutes’ walk from the gates of the Alhambra, and the views from most balconies overlooked Granada. Each evening we enjoyed the sunset and was entertained while watching a hawk dive for dinner (bats) unsuccessfully. Manuel is the perfect host and very helpful. There is a wonderful restaurant within very easy walking distance for dinner with the same gorgeous view. We were so happy with this accommodation choice…….but, this location is not recommended for folks with mobility issues. Taxis are readily available though.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs verandah room --nice patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    44
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
185
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in this excellent guesthouse type hotel. All the rooms and shared space + garden are decorated and presented as sophisticated and unpretentious. As others have said, Manuel is a perfect host - he pays great attention to detail, is very informative and charming (and he insisted on taking our luggage down the steep hill to the entrance). His advice was extremely helpful to our visit. The breakfasts were brilliant. But the jewel was sitting on a terrace overlooking Granada as the sun went down with the snow capped Sierra Nevada in the background. Quite the best hotel in Andalucia that we have stayed in - thank you very much Manuel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed for a too-brief two nights at this very charming guest house in Granada in October 2011. Located 100 m. from the Alhambra Palace Hotel and a few minutes' walk to the Alhambra itself, it is a beautifully maintained private home with seven rooms, a comfortable lounge for relaxing, a breakfast room, and exterior patios for enjoying the fantastic view of Granada and the Sierra Nevada mountains.

My room overlooked Granada and had two Juliet balconies. The "El Campo" room was large, basically but prettily appointed, and even the shower area had a lovely view. Breakfast was good at E8 and the honour bar was a great touch.

Our host, Manuel, was delightful and was a great source of information about the Alhambra and Granada itself.

If you are looking for luxury accommodation, this is not for you. But for me this was by far my favourite accommodation of my trip and I'm very glad I cancelled my Alhambra Palace reservation for this guest house.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here. This is a hotel which is originally a house, so it has the lovely feel of a house - spacious sitting room and entry, garden etc. The bedrooms are very pleasantly decorated and furnished with plenty of room and nice outlooks. The bathroom also was modern and very clean. Everything was just as represented in photos and websites. The location is just a few minutes walk from the Justice Gate entrance of the Alhambra and although it is located on an extremely narrow "street" it was easy to find by following the owner's instructions exactly which was basically to follow all signs to the "Alhambra" and as all approaches to Granada have signs pointing you to the Alhambra, that wasn't a problem. The owner parked our car for us and took great pains explaining to us and to another couple arriving at the same time about getting tickets for the Alhambra and the timing of our visit so that we wouldn't miss out on anything. He recommended restaurants and places to see and walk - he was very helpful indeed. It was the kind of one on one attention which you wouldn't normally get in a large hotel. The breakfast was fine (perhaps a touch expensive) and the location suited us fine - one way up to the hotel from the city is up a "street" which is exactly 98 steps - it didn't worry us at all but you can catch the local mini bus to the Alhambra Hotel which is just a couple of minutes walk away. It was just the sort of small hotel which we enjoy and we would recommend it to others who like this sort of accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is the best hotel in which we stayed in Spain. Manuel is just the perfect host. The house is well positioned, the rooms private, we had our own terrace and the run of the house. It was just terrific.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This boutique hotel was wonderful, special, next door to the Alhambra, and a short, peaceful walk to Plaza Nueva. Splurge for the breakfast and a room with a balcony as they will be a memorable part of your stay in Granada. Manuel provided us with incredibly helpful tips for the Alhambra, arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport (highly recommend this too as the hotel is located on the hill next to the Alhambra on a twisty, narrow, one-way street), and he provided excellent advice on visiting Las Alpujarras. The mountain drive to Capileira was an adventure and the scenery was stunning. Thank you Manuel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I cannot add much to the other recent and very positive reviews on this site. The Carmen is a very welcoming place and great base for exploring Granada and La Alhambra. Manuel is a fine host, and is very helpful and attentive.

The only slight downside is that the breakfast is not especially exciting, nor great value, but the terrace is in a lovely location overlooking the town and it is a convenient way to start the day.

Highly recommended.

PS As someone else noted, if you have a GPS then ignore most of Manuel's instructions and set it for the Alhambra Palace Hotel when you get to the end of the ring road, then take the road through the hotel carpark that leads to the restaurant, and call him from there.

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms with a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Address: Aire Alta, 12, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen De La Alcubilla Del Caracol Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.