We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very, very special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Save Saved
You added Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol
Aire Alta, 12, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 127 hotels in Granada
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A very, very special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I knew from reviews before booking that this would be a nice hotel, but I was unprepared for just how fabulous it is. Carmens are more like private villas than hotels, which gives them an intimate and friendly feel, and this one must be one of the best. Beautifully situated in the foothills of the Alhambra, overlooking the city, and immaculately decorated. We stayed in La Glicinia (Wisteria) which had a lovely terrace which was perfect for an aperitif. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped. No aircon though, which might be a little uncomfortable at the height of summer. Breakfast is served on the terrace and is a perfect place to charge up for a day of sightseeing.

It is tricky to find, and Manuel (bless him) doesn't give perfect directions. Basically, as you approach the city, follow signs for the Alhambra which eventually turn into signs for Parking Alhambra. Go past that, and stop at the Hotel Alhambra Palace (a huge landmark on a sharp bend). This has a little car park which turns into a tiny lane - take that down the hill to the Carmen San Miguel and then phone Manuel, who comes to get you. His carmen is a 5 minute walk from there and if he can't fit your car onsite, there is a discounted rate at the Parking Alhambra. Be prepared - Manuel gives a 30 minute orientation of the carmen and the city, which is extremely useful but tiring after a long drive when you want to get to your room! But pay attention, his tips for navigating around the city are worth their weight in gold. Tickets for the Alhambra (which you need to book a few weeks in advance) can be picked up from a La Caixa bank branch at the yellow ATMs, easier than getting them at the Alhambra itself, or from a central bookshop that Manuel will direct you to. He recommended the Carmen San Miguel for dinner, and this was entirely justified - a 5 course taster menu for less than 40 euros plus wine.

It is rare to find hotels with this level of care and attention where you feel like a friend rather than a paying guest. I'm sure you could find something cheaper if you wanted to, but you would be missing out on something very special.

Room Tip: Rooms with terraces rather than juliet balconies seemed to us a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    40
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
174
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Manuel was so helpful - he called an organized car rental returns for us, gave great restaurant recommendations, and truly cared about his guests. Rooms were great, we stayed in the boganvilla (sp?) which had a good view of the mtns and city below. Don't worry about the hike bake up to the Carmen from the city, there are govt run vans that will drop you off just above the Carmen, for E1.50 per person. Overall I recommend it, even though this was the most pricey of all hotels we stayed in, in 3 cities.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just footsteps from the Alhambra, this small gem gives you a preview of all the best qualities of life in this part of Spain, light, views, trees, a simple graciousness of life, aided in no small part by Manuel, the owner of the Carmen. We stayed in El Torre, the tower, with a private veranda overlooking the Sierra Nevada range and the city below. The decor was inspiring, traditional and clean with real antiques throughout. A nice library of books on the ground floor was at your disposal. If you are ever anywhere near Granada, make it a point to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on advice from Trip Advisor, so glad we did. Firstly, Manuel (the owner) couldnt do enough for us. What an amazingly hospitable, generous and helpful man. I cant say enough good things about him. Our room was very spaceous (bougainvillea room) with views to die for. Walking distance to the Alhambra and old town Granada. Breakfast was freshly prepared for us by Manuel each morning out on the terrace, with fresh fruit available all day. Plase take my advice and stay here when in Granada, you wont regret it

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We drove from Málaga to Granada. Manuel provided excellent directions and warned us about driving. Finding the hotel was a bit confusing even with his excellent directions. Manuel had even saved a parking spot at a nearby restaurant for us!

Once we walked to the property we found a little bit of heaven. What an amazing place! Breathtaking views and obviously well cared for facility. We stayed in La Torre at the top of the hotel. Looking out over Granada in the morning was simply wonderful. Truly one of my favorite stays anywhere.

The room was large, comfortable and well furnished. After walking around the Alhambra and the steep streets of Granada, we were happy to come "home".

Bathroom was pretty standard for any B&B type setup with a shower and not a tub. No complaints.

Great wireless internet at no extra charge. Breakfast was simple and adequate. Fresh fruit was available all day.

If you have an opportunity to visit Granada and don't stay here, you will miss a real gem. Easily one of my top 5 B&B's that I've ever visited and a big part of our Granada experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed several nights in this inn and had a great time. It's right next to the #1 attraction, the Alhambra Palace, and you can also walk to the cathedral and other main sights with ease. The inn has nice clean rooms but best of all it has stunning views of Granada and the distant mountains, so you will want to just sit on the balcony and look at the view and relax! Manuel was very helpful as well, giving us advice on all sorts of travel-related topics, plus setting up 5am cab rides for us and he even went the extra mile and woke up early himself to make sure the cab arrived on time! Now that is A+ service!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Do not get discouraged by the tiny road which leads to this hotel. Manuel, the owner, is so very helpful. He will guide you without fail. You will feel as if you are a friend, warmly welcomed into this charming house. So comfortable and beautiful, surrounded by flowers and gorgeous views. Many interesting books in the library. Breakfast is delightful and the hotel is situated right into the Alhambra. Great WiFi connection. Free.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Address: Aire Alta, 12, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#30 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen De La Alcubilla Del Caracol Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.